We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sigh....only one night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
palo alto, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sigh....only one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This may be the best B&B we've stayed at in years, thanks to Llewellyn and Laurel, the wonderful innkeepers. The inn is terrific -- our room was huge, with a nicely redone bathroom and very comfortable bed. (We were in the Mackintosh room). But what made this visit special was (1) the map with dinner recommendations put together by Llewellyn, (2) the fabulous breakfast cooked by Laurel and (3) the conversation around the breakfast table with Llewellyn, Laurel and the guests. At other B&B's it can be a bit of 'get up, eat, get out.' But not here, where we had a great discussion about fracking, New York City, defunct tech companies and much more. Thoroughly enjoyable and we'd happily come back for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank online101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
169
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Absolutely adorable and comfortable B&B! This was the first of three places that we stayed over an impromptu five day holiday in the Finger Lakes and it was by far the best. The breakfast was literally one of the best I've ever had, with the most delicious cantaloupe followed by lemon ricotta pancakes, sausages, and scrambled eggs with sharp local cheddar and spinach. I ate until I felt like napping again!

The room we had was meticulously decorated with beautiful period pieces (as was the whole house) and the bathroom and amenities were really of top notch quality. The bed was comfortable and we even had a private balcony for lounging away the afternoon with a glass of wine.

With such amiable hosts, we couldn't really ask for more and wished we could have stayed longer. This will be a go-to spot for us when we're back in the Finger Lakes again.

Room Tip: If you can get the Ridley room with the balcony, it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend for our first weekend away from our little boys and could not have chosen a nicer place. Our hosts were pleasant and easy to talk with, breakfasts were delicious and our room was lovely. We will definitely return and have already recommended La Belle Vie to friends and family. Thank you again for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlgnpmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a wonderful B&B in the heart of the finger lakes in a quaint upstate town. La Belle Vie met all of our expectations and then some. The room was spacious and immaculate with a very nice private bathroom. It was located in a quiet setting very reasonably priced considering the wonderful breakfasts we were served every morning, freshly made and nicely presented. Part of the fun of staying in a B&B is meeting new people and getting to know them over breakfast and we certainly did that in the spacious eating area of the B&B. Laurel and Llewellyn were very gracious and attentive hosts and really made you feel welcome in their home. If you like antiques, you will absolutely love the decor in this B&B, including an antique camera that was approximately 3 feet high by 2 1/2 feet wide. if you are planning to vacation in the finger lakes area, I highly recommend La Belle Vie.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Woodland Room, which we would request again next time we stay. It was at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvelez2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Where to start? I'm not sure any other B&B can measure up to this one! The house is lovingly restored (look at their web site to see the pictures) and is filled with art, photography, and beautiful antiques. It was immaculate and elegant without being fussy. The hosts --Laurel and Lewellyn --were thoroughly knowledgeable about the area. While we were there he was acting in a community opera and we enjoyed a slice of local culture. They were familiar with the best restaurants, local wineries, and other points of interest. They also had a gift for putting their guests at ease with each other by offering a big breakfast table or small table. The homemade ginger scones were to die for and everything was beautifully prepared and presented. When we wanted coffee for the road, Laurel went the extra mile and loaned us little thermoses. We can't wait to go back....!

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C. Ridley has a bath and a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This B&B offers a great hideaway near the shores of Keuka. The common areas are beautiful and our in suite room (Woodland) was very comfortable and accomodating. Laurel and Llewellyn are great hosts with ambitious plans for the future. This is a great place to base out of for a Finger Lakes trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irenebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moncks corner, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I flew from Charleston SC to Albany for business, and my wife came up a couple of days later; we a planned a trip from Albany to Niagra Falls over a 5 day span. Part of our time was to be spent in the Finger Lakes, our first time visiting the region. Having no idea of where to stay, I was fortunate enough to stumble across the web site for La Bell Vie. We made a two night reservation, and wish we would have stayed longer. The inn was so clean, the rooms so nice, the bed so comfortable, the food so good and the hosts so gracious... make sure to ask about the TR6, the Citroen, and the Karmin Ghia dream car. Lauren and Llewellyn are the best, and we will visit La Bell Vie again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
2.9 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
19.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Address: 208 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1714
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Vie B&B. Vintage 1865 Victorian in Historic District of village. All rooms feature period decor, antiques, queen bed, desk, and comfortable chairs. Also A/C, cable TV/DVD/CD player and Wi-Fi in every room. En suite bathrooms newly renovated. Beautiful private grounds with croquet and badminton available. Plenty of off-street parking and free Tesla charging stations! Five-minute walk along Main Street to village center including museums, shops, bookstores, restaurants, churches, and the Keuka Outlet Trail. Many wineries, antique shops, farms and lakes within a short, pleasant drive from this heart of the Finger Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing