We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at La Belle Vie for two nights over the 4th of July in the Macintosh room. I'm usually afraid of staying at B&B's because there's a fine line between "charming and cozy" and "old and shabby". But, La Belle Vie went beyond my highest expectations. This B&B is in a beautifully restored Victorian home with elegant details and spacious rooms. The place is immaculate! Laurel and Llewellyn obviously have spent a lot of time carefully decorating the house from the gorgeous wallpapers to the restored furniture. Everything is well thought out and there isn't too much of anything. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are clean. As far as the hosts, Laurel and Llewellyn are sweet, fun, knowledgeable and accommodating. The breakfast Laurel makes is fantastic! FRESH, HOMEMADE MUFFINS & SCONES! A beautiful dining room and fancy spread. Great service from Llewellyn who is very attentive and will never let your coffee cup or juice glass go empty. We loved every part of our stay.

We are going to have to go back to Penn Yan just to stay at La Belle Vie again!

Room Tip: the Macintosh room is affordable and spacious with a comfy bed and a clean, new bathroom. Great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carre c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
179
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed at La Belle Vie on a quick Finger Lakes getaway. The inn is perfectly located to access the lakes and nearby wineries. The house itself is charming, well-decorated, and imminently comfortable. We stayed in the Ridley Room and enjoyed lounging on the balcony late in the evening and early in the morning. There is lots to see (and do) within walking distance, and we enjoyed strolling through the historic village of Penn Yan. Breakfast was outstanding. Truly delicious and beautifully presented. As other commenters have stated, it is really Laurel and Llewellen themselves who make the B&B experience at La Belle Vie so delightful. Five stars and sincere kudos to La Belle Vie!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at La Belle Vie for 3 nights in early June as part of our tour of New England and New York State and how we wished it had been longer! As soon as we walked through the door and were greeted by Llewellyn and Laurel we knew that we had made a great choice. The Ridley Room was large, furnished with beautiful antiques and the bed was really comfortable. It also had an immaculate ensuite bathroom and a walk-in closet which was a bonus for us as we don't travel light! Having realised this, Laurel left us some extra hangers without us having to ask. That is attention to detail! There was also a balcony, like a porch, which we fully intended to sit out on but unfortunately the weather was not quite warm and dry enough (we had missed the heatwave by a week). Our hosts were so friendly and helpful and on checking in (and every day after) provided us with lots of information and tips on the area and winery visits which was our main reason for visiting Finger Lakes. They also gave us restaurant suggestions for dinner and we were not disappointed with any of the places we tried.. On our first morning, we descended the stairs to be met by the wonderful smell of baking. Laurel rises early each day to provide freshly baked muffins, scones etc as part of her delicious gourmet breakfasts. My husband is lactose intolerant and everything provided was dairy free, even down to the pancakes! Every day Laurel packed us up some muffins or scones to eat on our travels, not that we ever really needed anything with so much breakfast but the temptation was just too great! Tea, coffee and soft drinks are provided in the dining room for guests to help themselves all day, which we did after our first day's wine tasting. On the second day, we came back, went to our room and before we could go back downstairs Llewellyn knocked on the door with a tray of tea and coffee. So thoughtful. Apart from being wonderful hosts Llewellyn and Laurel are such an interesting, amusing and genuinely warm couple. We could have talked to them for hours. Penn Yan is a great base for exploring the Finger Lakes region, La Belle Vie is a beautiful house with and amazing interior steeped in history but Llewellyn and Laurel are what made the whole experience extra special for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj, usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a wonderful "reunion" with friends at La Belle Vie. The house is beautiful and conveniently located, but its hosts, Llewellyn and Laurel, are what make this place incredibly special. Their attention to detail - including the great coffee and delicious gourmet breakfasts - is exquisite and their kindness and willingness to accommodate special requests is greatly appreciated. All of the guest rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are newly renovated. Our particular choice, the Mackintosh Room, featured gorgeous antique furniture, a plush, comfortable pillow-top bed, and a great shower. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fernette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Llewellyn and Laurel were a wonderful surprise that was part of our Finger Lakes experience. Although the La Belle Vie is a beautiful place to stay, it we be the genuine kindness of this couple that will entice us to return to the lakes for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holbackhoneybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The home is beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms comfortable and immaculate. The breakfasts delicious, elegant and gourmet. The hosts very gracious and friendly. We hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing weekend at La Belle Vie in early June 2012. We very much enjoyed staying in the beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious Ridley Room. In particular, we enjoyed relaxing on our private balcony in the early mornings and evenings, as well as the overall splendor of the Victorian decor and historical artifacts all throughout the house. Laurel and Llewellyn were the perfect welcoming hosts, attentive and extremely "down-to-earth". Every morning we enjoyed the scrumptious and elaborate breakfasts that Laurel made from scratch. We also enjoyed late evening chats and laughs with Laurel, Llewellyn and other guests while devouring warm chocolate brownies or other homemade treats. Previously, we stayed at hotels and B&Bs at both Seneca & Cayuga Lakes. However, we preferred the entire experience of Keuka Lake. Being a smaller lake, the wineries were closer and not as crowded as Seneca Lake. There was also a better view of the Lake from the wineries compared to Cayuga Lake. There was a nice pub within walking distance, Llyods, with a cool atmosphere and very good food. There was also several other enjoyable, average-priced restaurants in town. Overall, we highly recommend La Belle Vie and are positive you will enjoy your stay as much as we did. Without a doubt, we will be back and bringing others with us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#3 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
19.7 mi away
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Address: 208 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1714
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Vie B&B. Vintage 1865 Victorian in Historic District of village. All rooms feature period decor, antiques, queen bed, desk, and comfortable chairs. Also A/C, cable TV/DVD/CD player and Wi-Fi in every room. En suite bathrooms newly renovated. Beautiful private grounds with croquet and badminton available. Plenty of off-street parking and free Tesla charging stations! Five-minute walk along Main Street to village center including museums, shops, bookstores, restaurants, churches, and the Keuka Outlet Trail. Many wineries, antique shops, farms and lakes within a short, pleasant drive from this heart of the Finger Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing