We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of compassion they demonstrated after attending a funeral”
Review of Inn on the Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Peekskill
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked a 1 day stay at, Inn on the Hudson to attend a funeral in the morning. I checked in Thursday evening, 2/7/14. Accommodations were clean and had ample space for my dog. I had no complaints with this pet-friendly lodging. I attended the funeral the next morning and expected to return prior to the 1pm check-out, however, due to unforeseen circumstances I did not make it back to the Inn till 1:23PM. By that time the magnetic key card had already been disabled and I was unable to gain entry back into the room to retrieve my bag and my dog. I attempted to explain the circumstances to the lady at the desk but, she brushed me off and just replied , “ that’s the business.” I asked her if the cleaning person could allow me entry and she replied that they were gone. For the 23minutes that I was late I had to pay an additional $65.00! To top it all off, as I was pulling out of the hotel lot I saw the cleaning lady pushing her cart going to the next room. Apparently, she was not gone! I give this location a bad review on customer service due to the lack of compassion they demonstrated after attending a funeral.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Juana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innonthehudson, General Manager at Inn on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

All our team members at the Inn are sorry for your loss and we are always very compassionate and sensitive in these type of circumstances. So much so, we granted your request to have a 1pm late check out at no additional charge. The normal check out time is 11am. Unfortunately, you did not return until after 1:30pm to check out. Usually, we charge an additional full night stay for check outs this late, because our housekeepers are not available at that late time to clean rooms. Furthermore, there were other guest attending the same funeral that were also granted late check outs at no additional charge. However, under the circumstances you were only charged an additional 1/2 nights stay.
The housekeeping lady you saw was our Housekeeping Supervisor who is responsible for thoroughly inspecting rooms, before releasing them back to the front desk for sale, not cleaning rooms.
Again, we are all very sorry for your loss and thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 222 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed one night. We were in town for a party. Magnificent view of the Hudson River. Old fashioned motel with a great bed, old bathroom but very, very clean. Breakfast in the lobby in the morning. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeirdreN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A great view, and the price is OK. The refurb of the rooms seem like it was a bit slap-dash in some areas, but they were clean. The train whistle adds an interesting touch. I was there for business and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

a four night stay - the choice was mainly determined by ease of access and location close to downtown Peekskill. The room was properly furnished with rather institutional motel furnishings, desk, chest of drawers, fridge and microwave tucked into a closet not big enough for the equipment. Nice bathroom, good fittings, good towels, mats etc. The provided rubber shower mat most welcome. Since the purpose of the stay was to visit with family the time actually passed in the room was minimal - did not visit the dining room or sample the breakfast hence no comment. My room fronted on the parking lot - hey, this is a motel! - but a stroll to the edge of the property facing the Hudson gave a fine river view.

Room Tip: To make the best use of the location, talk with the desk about rooms in the main building or second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudseleyshovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed only one night as a quick Manhattan getaway to check out the Peekskill art scene. And I would definitely return to the Inn on the Hudson. It was convenient to Metro North -- we didn't want to rent a car -- and was just one hour from Manhattan. Yes, it did require a 15-20 minute walk, part of it up a very steep hill that wasn't pedestrian friendly, but we didn't consider that a big deal. (Even better, we passed a bakery and munched on a scrumptious cannoli as we trekked to the inn.) However, the weather didn't cooperate -- that morning the east coast was hit with a massive snowstorm. But with snow blanketing the Hudson Valley, it made our stay even more scenic. We had reserved a room -- which was great value for the money -- in a renovated room, on the floor above ground level, and overlooking the Hudson. The view of the river and the far shore from the bed couldn't be beat. The bed was comfortable with an ultra soft duvet and a bathroom that came with its own heating control. (A real plus because I like a toasty bathroom.) The staff was very helpful, even though we couldn't check-in until the required 3pm time. (We arrived at 10am and they did allow us to drop our bags in their back room, which was fine. We simply walked 5-10 minutes into town and spent the day exploring the outdoor sculptures, cafes and shops.) Also, the grounds crew was very attentive to shoveling and de-icing the property, key given the steep slope you have to drive or walk down to get to the main road. For dinner, we walked 5 minutes to a fine restaurant, Birdsall House, which is an atmospheric tavern that's all about the slow food movement. What a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel staff was nice enough to give us a view of the Hudson even tho we did not pay for the best rooms.
The rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was adequate. Not bad for the price in West Chester county.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAMACITA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Positives: Views, quick weekend out of the city, price. 5 - 7 minute walk to Division St. evening life. Beds are extremely comfortable.
Note: Rooms are average, nothing luxurious or out of this world. Continental breakfast. 15 min walk from train station, uphill. People seem to stay here while attending weddings nearby.

We liked this place to get out NYC for a quick weekend, no car.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 4 have unobstructed views of the river and mountains. Outside, the 4 rooms share a common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sancho1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peekskill
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
6.3 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,007 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Hudson

Address: 634 Main St, Peekskill, NY 10566-2013 (Formerly The Peekskill Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Peekskill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Peekskill
Price Range: $109 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Hudson 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Inn on the Hudson has 53 comfortable rooms overlooking the majestic Hudson River. A continental breakfast is offered every morning and lunch and dinner is served in our own Henry's on the Hudson Restaurant. The Inn is located only 1 hour away from Manhattan and just 15 minutes from West Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Hudson Hotel Peekskill
The Peekskill Hotel
The Hotel Peekskill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing