We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is great, the food is ok”
Review of The WaterStone Grille - CLOSED

The WaterStone Grille
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: American Restaurant with fantastic views of the Hudson River and sesonal Al Fresco dining
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
421 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“The view is great, the food is ok”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The view is the highlight of any meal at Henry's. It's perfect for a late dinner (or appetizers and drinks) outside with a view of the Hudson River, especially at sunset. The food is just ok. There is clearly no executive chef here. Most of it seems prepackaged. but, if you understand that going in, then you won't be disappointed. The calamari was right out of a frozen package. Even the salad was bland. The burger is about as high on the menu as you need to get.

I will also mention that they offer a July 4th fireworks package and a Celebration of Peekskill package, that includes dinner (I think one was buffet style) and the most important part, a seat by the pool after dinner to watch the fireworks on the Hudson. You are up so high on the side of the mountain that you can actually see fireworks from neighboring towns. It's a bit pricey considering the quality of the food, but you know you are paying for the view, not the food. And you avoid the crush of people and a parking nightmare for the fireworks.

If the food was better, this would have been rated excellent. The food is a 2 and the view is a 5, which gives them a 3 (average).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMetroNYCarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innonthehudson, Owner at The WaterStone Grille, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Attn:Trip Advisor. Please change name to The WaterStone Grille. The restaurant sold last year. There is a new owner. It is impossible to make changes in the property info section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best in Cold Spring”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Henry's is known as a top restaurant in the area. It is a nice place to go for a 'top level' atmosphere. But it is somewhat average. It is definitely a step up from just going to a nice diner or steak house, but you may not be as satisfied and you may spend a bit more money. Cold Spring is a great place to visit, so if you want to spend some time in this town (and you should) and you want a nice dinner in town, you should definitely give Henry's a try.

Helpful?
Thank dlawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Relaxing Birthday Luncheon”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nine of us enjoyed a relaxing birthday luncheon on the deck on a beautiful September day! The view from our table of the Hudson was spectacular! We all enjoyed Arnold Palmer drinks made from homemade lemonade and iced tea. Delicious! Yummy breads and crackers were offered while we waited for our lunch. Our waitress Candence couldn't have been nicer. The menu had a good variety of sandwiches, salads and burgers and there were also daily specials. We all were happy with the sweet potato fries and onion rings. We were not rushed at all and had a very relaxing experience. The birthday girl couldn't have been happier!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chockiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great views on the deck”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

One of favorite places to go in the summer, fall and late spring. They have this deck facing the Hudson River and the view is spectacular. I could sit there for hours. The food is pretty good, sometimes great. Their burger if that's to your liking is always outstanding. I know a lot of folks have this negative feeling about the Peekskill area but its all self induced there is nothing wrong with the area. Anyway the restaurant also has some good craft beers on tap and the service is always nice and friendly. Inside dinining is not bad either as there are window seat facing the river too, however my preference is the deck.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wartfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“"Are YOU the reservation?"”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived on a Friday night, exhausted we decided to eat right here right at the hotel. We phoned down, hoping we could possibly get a reservation, given that it was last minute AND a Friday night. We got one! We walked in -- the place was empty. All the staff looked up with eager smiles on their faces and said "Are YOU the reservation?" THE reservation? There's only ONE reservation on a Friday night? That scared us more than a little.

Dinner was fine. We were hungry and it filled us up. I had the penne with shrimp and creamy tomato sauce. It pretty well just tasted like they boiled up some pasta and covered it with some jarred Prego sauce... but I was tired, it was hot, not horrible and filled me up.

Given similar circumstances I would eat here again in a pinch... but if I were planning a lovely, special dinner, there is NO WAY I would have it here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VintageJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The WaterStone Grille also viewed

Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 
Peekskill, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing