We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Pearl River Hilton”
Review of Hilton Pearl River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Pearl River
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearl River
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Pearl River Hilton”
Reviewed October 6, 2006

My husband and I travel to the NY area often, but had never stayed at the Pearl River Hilton. We hadn't made hotel reservations in advance on this particular adventure, which is out of character for me, as I am very particular about where I stay. We decided to try the Pearl River Hilton, site unseen. What a wonderful surprise to drive up to this beautiful hotel in such a lovely setting. We were so encouraged, and hoped the beauty of the outside would be matched on the inside. We were not disappointed! The hotel is lovely, inside and out. The lobby is elegant, but not intimidating, and the rooms are furnished with quality furniture and fabrics, giving the feel of luxury.

And, to make our experience even better, we had excellent service from the moment we walked in the lobby. The receptionist was professional, friendly and knowledgable about the area.

We had an excellent stay at the Pearl River Hilton. We are excited about "our great find" and look forward to our next stay.

  • Liked — furnishings, service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    184
    107
    54
    43
See reviews for
237
166
28
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

I stayed at this hotel because I didn’t want to stay at the Orangeburg Holiday Inn ever again. The travel agent thought it would be more “upscale.” And it was to some degree but it is not “all that.” It looks very Swiss chalet on the outside but is really average business hotel on the inside. The food is so-so, the location is so-so, and the front desk staff had about as much personality as a potato. Really it is an average hotel in an area with a bunch of average and below average hotels. Still looking for a good business hotel in the area.

  • Liked — It looks good on the outside
  • Disliked — Unfriendly front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2006

When we checked in, the desk clerk never welcomed us or looked up from his computer. He took an inordinate amount of time to check us in and was totally unfriendly. The Executive King room was spacious and looked out on the lovely back side of the property . The room, however was quite spartan and there was an accumulation of dust alongside the hard as a rock sofa. We were going to have a cocktail in the lobby bar, but it was deadly as was the hotel in general. On our second night, we got into bed and found that housekeeping had put a small sheet on the bed sideways and the bootom third of the mattress was uncovered. We got up at 11PM and tried to remake the bed. We requested stationery and it took charades to make the housekeeper understand because she didn't seem to speak English. We have Diamond VIP status with Hilton Honors and always receive a free newspaper as one of the frequent guest perks. When my husband asked someone who said he was a manager why he didn't receive a daily nespaper he was told that we didn't get one because we were Hilton Honors members. ABSURD! On the second morning of our three night stay, someone elses bill with all of their information was put under our door, We gave it to the front desk clerk, but neither an apology or a thank you was offered.
This hotel seems to be more interested in weddings and catered events than the hotel guests. It is a shame because it is a lovely location in the Hudson River Valley, but we have added it to our "Do Not Return List".

Helpful?
Thank countessjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

This hotel is simply beautiful! I can see how many people feel as if the service is not the best, especially from a Hilton, but this is upstate New York and things can be a bit backwards! This hotel is a great place to stay if you are going inbetween Bear Mt NY or the Hudson Valley and NYC. Other than that, its kind of out of the way from most other places. This hotel has a beautiful lobby and room for weddings. The pool is large and noone is ever in it, so if you do need a swim its a nice and quiet place to go. The best part of my stay was the beds.. they are so comfortable! It really is a nice and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweetestsin129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2006

I stayed here one night because I was attending a meeting in the hotel. Because it was the off-season I guess, there weren't many people staying at the hotel and so I was upgraded to an "executive king," which meant a king-sized bed and a little sitting area plus a desk. The room looked fine, a little nicer than a Holiday Inn, and was quite big—about 30x15 feet—with a bathroom that was comparatively small. The room was clean and had a pleasant view of a neighboring golf course. When I got to the room around noon, the heater was rattling loudly, so I called down and asked for them to take care of it while I grabbed lunch at the hotel restaurant. The restaurant was fine and the people there were quite nice. Back in the room, the heater was not fixed, so I called again at 3:00 and was told by the man at the front desk that he had just started for the day and would look into it. I set up wi-fi, which they offer for $5 a day, and tried to get some work done, but the signal kept dropping. I finally found a spot over near the front door where I could set a chair and get a weak signal, but it was rarely up to two bars and often zero bars. We went back to the restaurant for dinner and asked at the front desk at 7:00 for them to please fix the heater in our room. They said they would take care of it while we were at dinner, but it didn't happen. The rattling went on all night, which led to a pretty poor night's sleep. When I went to check out, I figured I would mention to them that I was dissatisfied and that they should fix the rattle before they put another guest in the room. But the person checking me out never asked if I had enjoyed my stay or if everything was all right. I had to initiate the conversation and he responded by looking at me with a stare. He was the fourth person I had told, and I doubt he said a word about it to anyone else. To me, this hotel suffers from simple failure of management and there's no reason for you to stay here. Until they get new managers in to fix the staff issues at the most basic level, I can't recommend this hotel. I'm sure there are other places nearby that would appreciate your business.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2006

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel. I have to honestly say that this is one of the worst in the Hilton chain.

The outside of the hotel is very nice and elegant. This is where the niceness and elegance end.

I arrived at the hotel and there was no porter or luggage carrier around. So basically plan on moving your luggage up to your room on your own. My first interaction with the front desk staff was pretty bad. I was greeting by an entire team of dreary depressed front desk agents who seemed to be unhappy to be there. There was no "Welcome" or any other chat that would be considered friendly. It was almost as if I was bothering them being there. The entire conversation consisted of them looking at their monitors with their head down and not looking up until it was time to give me my key.

Given there was no porter or luggage carrier, I then chugged my luggage up to my room.

The room was nice and spacious. The two chocolates on the bed was a nice touch. The toilet made a low hissing sound the ENTIRE time I was there. Since I had already unpacked, I just decided to just close the bathroom door to avoid the noise.

The next evening I went downstairs to the in-hotel bar, this was an adventure as there was no bartender to be found. Several other guests were waiting in excess of 5 minutes before someone showed up. The bartender seemed to pop in and out when he "felt" someone was wanting something to drink. I did initially feel that this was a one time issue, except I spent several nights in the lobby area and discovered that this was pretty much the normal drink process.

The evening room service was great and they really go out of their way to give you what you want. I requested a couple of things that were not on the menu and they were able to take care of me. The breakfast room service was interesting. I filled out the breakfast room service request card that you hang on your door the night before with the time you want it delivered. I chose the 7:30am to 8:00am time slot. The next morning I jumped in the shower at 7:00am and figured I had 30 minutes until the delivery. At 7:15am I hear a knock on my door, the knock then turns into several harder knocks. I jump out of the shower to discover that my 7:30am room service decided to show up 15 minutes early and was now waiting on me. I was not happy.

It was almost the end of my two weeks and I had another manager there to replace me and he needed a place to stay locally. I went to the front desk and yes, again, same dreary staff with the same attitude. I was treated as just another pesky guest with a problem. I asked to book and pay for a room for this replacement manager for 1 1/2 weeks. I was told that this was not possible and that all I could do was book it. Another staff member jumped in and told her that it was indeed possible and proceeded to charge my credit card. Again, I truly felt as if I was a bother and was absorbing time from their normal duties.

On checkout I think I was "almost" expecting a "Goodbye and Thank you for staying with us", of course this did not happen. I was given my final bill ($2,500) and sent on my way. I guess I expected too much.

Overall, nice looking hotel, too bad the staff ruined what could have been a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank George_94304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearl River
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
7.5 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
7.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
695 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
425 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Pearl River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pearl River

Property: Hilton Pearl River
Address: 500 Veterans Memorial Dr, Pearl River, NY 10965-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Pearl River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearl River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pearl River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Pearl River is located on 17 wooded acres just 20 minutes from Manhattan and bordering Bergen County, NJ. Our hotel's design, reminiscent of a country French mansion, and location have earned us the nickname "The Chateau in The Country near The City." We are proud to be a family-owned and operated business and to be recognized for "Best Overall Service" of all Hiltons in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut for the past six years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Pearl River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pearl River Hotel Pearl River
Hilton Hotel Pearl River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing