We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of Hilton Pearl River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Pearl River
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearl River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2008

WE enjoyed our stay here. We were here for a wedding and the property was sold out. The rooms were spacious and everything was clean and the staff was really nice. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 784 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2008

We are still on "cloud 9" following the wedding of our youngest son, Justin to his bride, Erin. About 6 months ago we all started to look for a suitable venue. Since the kids of our neighbors were in a marrying mood we had attended 13 weddings in the last 18 months. So we had a pretty good idea of what we liked and what we didn't.

After looking at hotels and banquet halls in vermont, New Jersey and New York, we went to look at the Hilton Pearl River. We were greeted by their event manager, Gerry Burns, who turned out to be a honey. She answered all of our questions, showed us typical menues, offered suggestions as to timing, and was the easiest to noegotiate with.

Along with Justin and Erin, Erin's parents (good friends) and we decided to book the hotel for our event. For Friday night rehearsal dinner we planned a Manhattan Lower East Side Deli theme, complete with hors d'oeuvres, matzoh ball soup, kosher pastrami, corned beef, knishes, and much more. For dessert in addition to the unlimited make your own sundaes, we asked for a babke cake, and all o fthe supplies necessary to make an old-fashioned New York egg cream. Despite never having done any of this, the staff swung into action, and needless to say, everything came together perfectly. They were truly amazing. We had a special keyboardist, Dani Lev, from Sammy's Roumanian restaurant in Manhattan for entertainment. Gerry along with her maitre d' were there every step of the way, insuring that the guests were happy , and pacing the evening for speeches, entertainment, and food service.

Gerry had us rehearse the procession and made sure that everyone was calm and ready to go. She asked for the names of people for who she would have printed reserved seat signs in the first row. On wedding day we were all excited, and Blake, 3, was going to pull Braden, 1, down the aisle in a red wagon. At the last minute Braden decided not to take the ride, so Gerry had Braden's dad carry him, followed by Blake with the wagon with a tuxedoed teddy bear following. Problem- and instant solution. The ceremony was magical and needless to say we were excited. We had told Gerry that, we really liked lamb chops but we had missed getting them at the previous weddings. And, so, when we exited the ceremony into the cocktail hour, there she was with arms outstretched, a plate full of lamb chops in each hand. And, she said "keep moving... we don't want to hold up your guests".

Without boring you with details, the Sunday brunch was just as professionally run. The omelet stations were manned, there was an ample supply of everything, both food and plates at all three of the events, and used plates were scooped up promptly.

This really is a class act. Truly, we joked that we would be back as wedding crashers. We would highly recommend the hotel for any type of catered event.

Incidentally, our guests had about 15 room nights and I am not aware of any complaints. Our guests were all very happy. we had a great, great time and would do it again.

Finally, the catering staff was very reasonable in counting people at the buffets. All in all... 100%. We are so fortunate. Thank you Hilton Pearl river. We truly feel like a part of the family.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tapemaniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

The Pearl River Hilton was enough of a surprise that I drove around the building looking for the low-slung motel that normally represents Hiltons in the suburbs. In fact, this Hilton is a multi-story, faux-castle affair with pointed, tiled, multi-layer roofs. There are expansive common areas with bars tucked into giant fireplaces and a spacious veranda facing what passes for woods in Industrial North Jersey. The whole place screams: “prom!” or “wedding!”. Other than those uses it is a bit overdone for business meetings and I’m not sure what local attraction would call you there for a pleasure stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thewestchestarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

This hotel looks great in the pictures, but is old and outdated. We stay at a lot of Hilton properties and have never stayed in one as bad as this! I would NEVER stay here again! Our sheets had stains on them when we checked in, so we had the maid service change them. The second set had stains, so we showed the office manager (who was the only person available at night) and he moved us to a new room where he checked the sheets. More stains. That was our only option. Gross. We had rusty hinges in one of our bathrooms, brochures from 2003 in both, and a postcard covered with dust. Dinner and breakfast in the hideously pink restaurant with clashing peach napkins was mediocre. We rated dinner a 3 on a scale of 1-10 and the people eating at the table next to us sent their meals back as they were overcooked. Breakfast was a typical Hilton breakfast, although I requsted bread and the lady said she would get it - no bread ever came out. This hotel needs an overhaul. The lobby is lovely, but the rooms are not.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank halcyongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPearlRiver, General Manager at Hilton Pearl River, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2008

Our guest rooms and guest bathrooms are currently being renovated, one floor at a time. A redesign of our restaurant, lobby bar, and health club will follow later this year. We are excited about these improvements and expect guests will love them as well.

Still, most of these issues raised are unacceptable and, frankly, beyond my explanation. Every review and guest comment is taken seriously and every effort is made to address concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Nice setting. Decent rooms. The downfall, however, is the general manager down to the staff. No warm fuzzies here. No one seems to enjoy the job very much here, and its no wonder. The general manager Mr. Maloney cannot be bothered to give you the time of day. It's hard to imagine how Hilton keeps him on the payroll. I've stayed at many Hiltons and this has got to be one of the most sour management teams I've seen. If you can steer clear of needing/wanting anything or expecting to be treated warmly and anything more than the mere basic civilities, you'll probably have a decent stay. This certainly is not the "Hilton experience" common to the chain's other locales.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank cyclegrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Our organization stayed there for two nights for a strategic planning session. Our stay at the hotel was great. Everybody we encountered on staff was friendly, obliging and always willing to accommodate us. The meeting space was more than adequate for our group (10 people), the hotel rooms were very comfortable, clean and every one of the board members was satisfied. Several even mentioned coming back for a personal event or just a weekend getaway. The food was delicious and the on-site restaurant is absolutely beautiful. The Hilton Pearl River is definitely a convenient location for any trips to New York City or if you feel like getting away from the city for some quiet time.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank lcat2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the pearl river hilton on our wedding night. All I can say it was horrible, the air conditioner in the hotel wasn't working properly.
We called the front desk in the middle of the night to complain and they never came up to help us with it. We had booked the hotel for two nights, but only ended up staying one, as the day after the wedding, my husband started throwing up and dehydrated because of the abnormality of the heat in the room...We had an ambulance called to the hotel room and they rushed him to the hospital to put him on fluids and to see what was wrong. In the Hospital, they told us he had to be in an air conditioned place and drink lots of fluids, so going back to the hotel was out. The next morning after we spent the night at my parents house we went back to the hotel to check out. We asked for something because we didn't end up staying there two nights, but all they offered us was a free night at the hotel, because they said that hilton is a franchise and not a branch, or a discount on the room price. We ended up taking the discount on the room price because why would we ever want to go back to a place which we had a bad experience on our wedding night....All I can say is- FIX IT UP!! And my friend stayed there as well on her wedding night and she also said the air didn't work..

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kukoo4kotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearl River
7.5 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
4.9 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
758 reviews
7.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Pearl River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pearl River

Address: 500 Veterans Memorial Dr, Pearl River, NY 10965-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Pearl River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearl River
Price Range: $127 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pearl River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Pearl River is located on 17 wooded acres just 20 minutes from Manhattan and bordering Bergen County, NJ. Our hotel's design, reminiscent of a country French mansion, and location have earned us the nickname "The Chateau in The Country near The City." We are proud to be a family-owned and operated business and to be recognized for "Best Overall Service" of all Hiltons in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut for the past six years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Pearl River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pearl River Hotel Pearl River
Hilton Hotel Pearl River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing