We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed......................”
Review of Hilton Pearl River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Pearl River
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearl River
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed......................”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel. I am a Hilton Honors member, so frequently stay in HIltons. I must say, when we checked in on a Sunday afternoon, the staff at the front desk was very pleasant and stated out room was ready, so up we went. Entering the room, I noticed food particles on the floor and used tissues in the bathroom. When I contacted the front desk, they stated they would send someone up. We waited in the hall and a supervisor of some sort appeared within minutes with one of the cleaning staff. He was very unpleasant and we felt very uncomfortable for complaining. The room was quickly vacuumed and the garbage emptied. During our stay, the hallway, which was noticeably littered was never cleaned. We were very surprised; cleanliness was not up to the standard we've found in other Hiltons.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPearlRiver, General Manager at Hilton Pearl River, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
I don't blame you for being disappointed with us based on your account. Our hotel typically excels in the two areas you mention - service and cleanliness. Thank you for the details you provided, which have allowed us to address the housekeeping issue you raised. We take a great deal of pride in guest service at Hilton Pearl River and are proud of our accomplishment of having the highest "Overall Service" ranking of any Hilton in NY, NJ, and CT for two years running. We did not live up to this standard based on your experience and I am very sorry for that. I hope you will choose us again and we can better demonstrate the level of service upon which we have built our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    183
    107
    54
    43
See reviews for
237
165
28
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel is solid and comfortable, with a small but functional gym and pool. Unusually for the US there's a sauna too - good for European visitors. The breakfast is good, but dinner just sucked. American cooking at its worst; flavourless and high in fat.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPearlRiver, General Manager at Hilton Pearl River, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your frank comments. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast, but I am sorry you didn't have a good dinner with us. Our new Fall/Winter menu in Two Henrys has gotten very positive responses from guests for its creativity and variety. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future and you give our restaurant another try for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is a gem in new jersey.it is like a French chateau.the rooms are large and the service is amazing.will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was there October 27-30 to attend a family function that was in the area. I want to start by saying that the staff of this hotel is 5 star plus. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left I found the service in this hotel to be top of the line. We arrived late on Thursday and they had our room ready for us. Anthony at the front desk totally took care of getting us settled. Friday was a beautiful day and then on Saturday the skies opened up with a freak snowstorm that paralized the entire area. By mid afternoon the hotel had lost power (as had most of the surrounding area) but they did have generators to take care of the lobby, elevators and the restaurant. Everyone went out of their way to make the guests feel welcome. No one can be angry at the hotel for losing power and everyone I knew at the hotel received a flashlight for their rooms. We made the best of a difficult situation, but the staff made it so much easier for all of us. They also stayed the night and were back on duty early in the morning, many having worked over 12 hours the day of the storm. Though our Saturday night function at a different venue was cancelled due to hazardous road conditions, they managed to serve us a limited dinner menu at the hotel that night, including a kids menu. Everyone I spoke with was very impressed with the way this property handled the situation. We were even able to have the brunch that was at the hotel the next day.
Service is really what good travel is all about and this hotel accomplished that.

Room Tip: Executive King rooms are very spacious and rooms that face the golf course have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenoftravel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed there last weekend. Front desk did not mention the power outage. Charged full rate, no discount for no electricity. Did not offer flashlights. Front desk gave us attitude when we suggested it should be free and after ten minutes offered a $9 discount for the inconvenience.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank RupesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was staying for a family function when an act of God closed the roads and all of the power went off due to an early snowstorm. Travel was impossible. The hotel made every effort to make the guests feel comfortable. They supplied flashlights. Because of the backup generators they were able to keep the restaurant open on a limited basis, and of course the bar. All of the employees went out of their way to be cheerful, positive and accomodating. The restaurant management and staff never went home. No one starved, no one froze, no one went unaccounted for. All businesses should pay this kind of attention to their mission for being in business.
Ed from Montana

Room Tip: sometimes it's better to call the hotel direct than deal with the 800 # call center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was visiting the area for a high school reunion across the border in NJ and the hotel offered a discount rate. I had a king size room facing the front of the hotel which gave me a view of the parking lot. The rooms in the rear had a nice view of the golf course. The location of the hotel was ideal for my purposes with few alternatives. The room was large and had a sitting area and a desk. While an online search indicated that the hotel had free wifi in public areas, this was not true and access in all locations would have incurred a fee. Fortunately, I was able to tether my Droid for the internet. The fee for internet and mold in the shower area were the reasons for 4 stars. Everything else was top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJphotoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearl River
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
7.5 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
7.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
693 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Pearl River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pearl River

Property: Hilton Pearl River
Address: 500 Veterans Memorial Dr, Pearl River, NY 10965-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Pearl River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearl River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pearl River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Pearl River is located on 17 wooded acres just 20 minutes from Manhattan and bordering Bergen County, NJ. Our hotel's design, reminiscent of a country French mansion, and location have earned us the nickname "The Chateau in The Country near The City." We are proud to be a family-owned and operated business and to be recognized for "Best Overall Service" of all Hiltons in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut for the past six years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Pearl River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pearl River Hotel Pearl River
Hilton Hotel Pearl River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing