We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Specials at this local spot”
Review of Quinta Steakhouse

Quinta Steakhouse
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Pearl River
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pearl River, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Yummy Specials at this local spot”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I ate dinner here last night. We return often for the great stable menu with fabulous fries as a side on all of the steaks. The mashed potatoes are fabulous--smooth, creamy and real! The Portuguese choices are excellent and they make the best flan ever for dessert! But last night we had some wonderful specials created by the chef. I chose the portabello mushroom appetizer with carmelized onions, goat cheese, and sherry cream sauce. Yummy! I normally don't dig into the warm bread (for my health :) but last night I had two pieces so that I could get every drop of that sherry sauce off of my plate. My husband had the hanger steak with Madeira sauce and blue cheese risotto (another special). He loved his choice. He started with the spinach salad which is a staple on the menu. It had very fresh baby spinach and some hard boiled egg along with the bacon dressing. I enjoyed the steamed clams in white wine, garlic, and cilantro sauce (another menu constant). Always listen to the specials. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dancer735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Mi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find such excellent food in this unassuming restaurant in downtown Pearl River. The crisp crust on the tasty warm Portuguese bread set the tone for our meal. We both had exceptional seafood dinners graciously served by an attentive staff. We'll return the next time we're in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwugwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great sangria!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

For years we have been going to Quinta's for their lunch specials. I get the salmon with rice and a salad. They give you nice warm bread and the salad dressing is amazing!
The salmon is always good, and I feel like I am eating healthy :)
Friends have tried (and liked) the pork chops, and the empenadas.

The red sangria is so delicious!

And the lunch specials are cost effective!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so staffing”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Made reservation for 5 for my wife's birthday and about 5 days before dinner, had to change the reservation to add 2 more people. When we arrived at restaurant, the staff at the door indicated that the reservation had been cancelled, which was untrue. However, to their credit they were able to seat my party. The food was great, but wait staff has some difficulty explaining clearly the menu and one of the party received veal when he thought he was getting steak. Again they cleared the problem, but the staff needs to work on these issues to make Quinta a truely great restaurant

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank umpdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a Portuguese restaurant and has some of the best seafood I have ever had anywhere. It's called a steakhouse, but honestly I go here for the seafood. Be prepared, it is pricey and ala carte but they do have specials.
The atmosphere is cosy and comfortable and the wait staff are courteous and accommodating.
Whatever is being offered for a special is a total 'must get". Also, they do a very good cheese plate and have a very good wine selection. Don't leave without getting a cappuccino and the flan - it's to die for!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodbeeoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinta Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Quinta Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing