We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day getaway”
Review of White Pine Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paul Smiths
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Pine Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is great! Quiet and peaceful with a cozy fireplace. Great kitchen, beautful clawfoot tub, Very tasteful,and clean. We had a great time. Great xcountry skiing close by. I highly recommend this place, it's perfect! I'll be back with my whole family.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vermont2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a delightful place to relax. The hosts were generous with their welcome and information. The accommodations were perfect for our needs, not luxurious but then "camp" isn't is it. Trails nearby, kayaks available wildlife in abundance. Do lunch at Paul Smiths just around the corner....a great meal and an amazing price! The VIC nearby has loads of trail info and great displays. WPC is a new favorite for us!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I used to read and re-read reviews of White Pine Camp on TripAdvisor before convincing my husband to come here for a quick getaway before work got busy. There was a surprise opening in August, so we were able to get in two nights during a month when they're often fully booked. Although there's lots to do in the surrounding areas, we never left the camp. We swam, canoed, cooked, bowled and played pool in the funky old bowling alley, and enjoyed the stunning views. Though the staff was helpful when needed, my favorite part was being left alone. To take a canoe out, one simply walks to one of the boathouses and takes down a canoe and paddles. Life vests and towels are helpfully stored in the boathouse. My one suggestion: if you like your coffee freshly ground, bring your own coffee grinder. Happily, the office sold a tasty ground coffee, so we didn't need to go without our caffeine. We also loved the complimentary granola in our welcome basket.

Room Tip: Select one of the numbered cabins or Hermit's Hut if you want greater privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ratmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

White Pine Camp

Canadian couple in early 30's.  We had the pleasure of staying at White Pine Camp over the Civic Holiday.  A word of advice: at the end of the road you will reach a gate with the sign "White Pine Camp," however, the main office is actually through the gate and a little further drive.  We were a little hesitant as to the limited reviews on this campground, but were very pleasantly surprised.  We stayed in Osgood Cabin - 1 double bed, full bathroom with towels supplied, and a fully stocked kitchen (no stove, however).  Although it was a small unit attached to 3 other larger units, it was very well kept and spacious enough for the 2 of us.  We didn't have a fireplace like the larger units, but there was a large electric heater in the room if need.  We had our own BBQ with lighter fluid and charcoal supplied. 

The ground is very private and rustic, but beautiful and serene.  The bridge over to the tea house is very picturesque.  There are 2 boat houses with kayaks and canoes, a billiards table and bowling alley available at no extra cost.  Also massage, laundry and a private chef are available on site (extra cost).  The pictures on the website don't serve this campground justice.  We would highly recommend White Pine Camp and only wished our stay was longer.  While there, we ventured out to High Gorge Fall (not much to see with a lot of it under construction), Whiteface Mountain (spectacular view up Veteran Memorial Highway) and the Natural Stone Bridge & Cave (a must visit as well).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank best2breal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I selected White Pine Camp because I wanted a Great Camp experience in the Adirondacks without the scheduled meals and activities. Our cabin (#2) was very nicely furnished with a super comfy bed in a large bedroom w/fireplace, living room w/fireplace, kitchen, and bathroom with deepsided, clawfoot tub/shower.We used both large, stone fireplaces everyday as it was chilly and damp while we were there (Sept.2010). The cabin is "on' the pond but you can't get to the water's edge from it due to bushes and other brush which form a barrier. The website accurately describes this lovely, rustic property. We took the canoe out just once (rain!), hiked over at the interpretive center, drove around the college campus, went to Lake Placid for lunch and a walk around the village. We had planned to do more hiking,canoeing, and porch sitting but the weather was a factor. The day we left, the sun came out and the weekend was beautiful for a wedding that was taking place there. What a perfect setting for a special occassion....I'm glad the newlyweds and their guests had clear skies!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our family has traveled extensively over the years, visiting resorts all over the country. White Pine Camp is the most magical location we have had the pleasure of staying at. We were traveling with a couple of different families all staying on the property together and we enjoyed all of the amentities that White Pine Camp has to offer. Each morning brings amazing views as you look over the glassy Osgood Pond and hear the loons call you to explore the lake. There are two boathouses for the guests with canoes and kayaks to use at your disposal (at no charge!). There is a bowling alley with a pool table nestled in the woods and a wonderful open area where the old tennis house and courts were located. Our cabin was absolutely charming and perfect for our family of four. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make some good home-cooked meals, and extra kitchen equipment was located at the innkeepers area and was available when needed. I personally loved the clawfoot tub!

It was the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation that we have been on in a long time. We took a break from the TV and telephone and were able to reconnect as a family. (Wireless is available, but you will be so busy hiking, boating or bowling you won't notice or need it) We plan to be back next summer, and hopefully for many summers to come!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muzaktimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Adirondacks are a fantastic getaway, and this is the very best of the Adirondacks. When our week was finished at White Pine Camp, I was wishing I had another week ... and maybe another after that.

The camp sits next to Osgood Pond, which is really more of a lake than a pond. No jetskis or high-powered motorboats are allowed on the pond, so it's peaceful as it gets (loon calls were the loudest thing on the lake).

The camp is one of the Adirondack Great Camps, and it is a gem. There nearly 100-year-old buildings are all in pristine shape, including a really neat old bowling alley. Our cabin (Cabin No. 2) was cozy and clean. Our kids slept in a separate bedroom with bunk beds, and we had a beautiful master bedroom. We spent several nights on our covered front porch just sipping wine and watching the sun set.

The cabin had no TV and no phone (we didn't miss either!), but it did have a very modern full kitchen.

There two two beautifully restored boathouses, with canoes and kayaks for the public's use. The fishing was great (our kids even caught several fish).

I can't say enough about this place. I have stayed in several excellent lodges in the Adirondacks, but this is the best of the best. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATXtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Pine Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pine Camp

Address: 432 White Pine Road, Paul Smiths, NY 12970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Paul Smiths
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Paul Smiths
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful, secluded Osgood Pond, White Pine Camp is one of a small handful of remaining historic Adirondack Great Camps open to the public. Built in 1907 for Archibald White, a New York City banker and industrialist and his wife Olive Moore White, an opera star, the property, which hosted many dignitaries and celebrities over the years, is most noted for having served as the Summer White House for President Calvin Coolidge. White Pine Camp is open year around and in the winter offers incredible cross country skiing and snowshoe opportunities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Pine Camp Hotel Paul Smiths

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing