We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historical Site from Mormon History”
Review of Smith Family Farm

Smith Family Farm
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Palmyra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour the Smith Family Farm to learn more about the boyhood of Joseph Smith Jr., the first prophet and president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Visit the nearby Sacred Grove, where Joseph received a vision of God the Father and His Son, Jesus Christ. Tours are Free.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This site will give you the background of the originator of the Mormon church, Joseph Smith, and how the Latter-Day Saints came to be. They have recreated the Smith homes and preserved the grove on the Smith land. The buildings are filled with items of the period. The grove is a peaceful, beautiful site with many trails throughout it and many benches to sit on. The issue we ran into was the mosquitoes, and they were plentiful. The missionaries that staff the site are helpful and knowledgeable. A site worth seeing.

Thank Wyosoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith R, Manager at Smith Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! We've definitely had our share of rain and mosquitoes this summer. But we're glad you found your time with us enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Awesome. Loved it. This place is the best. I enjoyed the feeling I had there. Friendly staff. Go there.

Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great place to visit. Lots of interesting history about the LDS church and the Smith Family. Great exhibits and helpful staff.

Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith R, Manager at Smith Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

We're happy you stopped by and enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a wonderful spirit we felt as we walked around on this very sacred ground. Even with the sweltering heat and humidity you could still feel the spirit. Wonderful and knowledgable guides were stationed along the way. We felt we were walking on very sacred ground.....and indeed we were. A MUST when in the Palmyra area.

Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith R, Manager at Smith Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Absolutely amazing! It's actually hard to put the feelings you have while here into words. Beautiful, serene, peaceful, Sacred. We traveled with 9 in our group, including 2children, and all left with a new appreciation for how fortunate and blessed we are. I hope to be able to return someday, maybe in the Fall next time.

Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Family Farm also viewed

 
Palmyra, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Smith Family Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing