We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silent Lucidity!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catskill Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
GreenLeadersGold level
Bronxville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Silent Lucidity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

Why go to an impersonal hotel when you can have this sanctuary!
After booking tickets, to see the magnificent Hunter Mountain Jam 2010, I was directed by the Hunter Mountain Jam site for this “hidden gem”.
My stay was far more than I asked for. Clean, friendly, helpful and most assuredly SAFE. Currently, one can never be too safe. The County and State police patrolled the area consistently, due to the high traffic of the Hunter Mountain Jam. Excellent considering over 15, 000 fans attended the Hunter Mountain region!
The travelers, whom I encountered, felt the same way. To meet and discuss with your fellow residents for those who were attending Hunter Mountain Jam, the night’s events was a communal and uplifting experience. I observed families, with their pets vacationing in the bungalows, laughing and enjoying them immensely. The pool on the property is a big thrill and with the weekend encountering 90-degree weather at times, it was a blessing!
The restaurant, Kindred Spirits Steakhouse & Pub, also located on the property is a necessary and complimentary addition to the CML. The service outstanding, the food very creative and well prepared. The decor is very relaxing. Presentation superb! The server was super friendly, attentive and accommodating. She had it down to a science. The portions large! The menu eclectic, inventive and most importantly had that “home appeal”.
The milieu itself represents what the Catskill Mountain Lodge offers.
I not only recommend this place, but I insist those who want a home, away from home to stay here. The extras such as the peaceful surroundings, warm smiles, a friendly handshake, safety and security, and sumptuous meals, all at a reasonable cost is HERE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlwaysTravelling60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    11
    14
    23
See reviews for
42
37
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed here ovenight on a short weekend visit to the Catskills. We stayed in what they call the "standard room" at the lodge, and our accomodations were clean and quiet. The surroundings are absolutely georgous. The owners are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet, and they go out of there way to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. There is a good restaurant and bar on the site as well. We had a wonderful breakfast there (including local maple syrup on the pancakes!). It's literally a 5 minute drive to some of the most beautiful hiking trails. This was our first time here, and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCJ1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Such friendly owners, great location for either hunter or windham, food was DELICIOUS. They have a bar attached with friendly staff and good lagers on tap. We not only would go back, we are thinking of going back over and over next ski season. What a great oasis to get out of the city and relax in the quiet, country with great wine and great people.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate the positive tone of your review, but are pleased it contained specific and pertinent detalis about the Lodge that should prove helpful to travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed here by chance for one night in February in order to ski in the area (there was a lot of new snow, and most of the hotels were completely full). We were met at check-in by Kathy, who is very friendly. We asked to see our room before paying, though, because from the outside the Catskill Mountain Lodge looks like what it is - a lodge - and we weren't sure what the rooms would be like inside. The room was dated, but very clean, so we took it. Our room had two Queen beds which were comfortable, a cable tv, a balcony, an electric fireplace, and a medium-sized bathroom with two sinks and good toiletry products (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.). We were pleasantly surprised! Although the accommodations aren't luxury, and perhaps a bit expensive, we would definitely stay here again - pretty close to both Hunter and Windham, with a good restaurant on site.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

paid $700 for 2 days of 2 bedroom cottages. it was valentine's day week. it's pick.
this was the only place we can book at a week before valentine's day. we went to many cottages in NY/NJ/PA, so our expectation was not high even though the price is high.
however this lodge is DIRTY. it looks like they never cleaned after last customer checked out. complaints are following;

- Coffee maker was so dirty. we requested clean one, but that was same. we gave up.
- No Hot Water after 2 ppl took shower.
- No dish washer liquid. Owner gave me liquid about less than 40ml, and told me it's concentrated. "I got enough for my restaurant, but that would do for a day for you."
- Asked to the front to clean up the grill, which was filled up with burned charcole and very dirty grill when we checked in, the owner told me the guy went home, and told us to wait for tomorrow.

got more things to say. but it's too much. My conclusion is you can find much better one with much cheaper price out there EASILY. so STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daewang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
These guests complained from the moment they arrived. First they insisted there was no heat in the cottage . . . until we showed them the thermosthat on the wall. Then the WiFi worked but was "too weak."

At 7pm they demanded to have the BBQ cleaned of old coals and became irate when we informed them it would have to wait for the next day (who barbecues in February?). The next day they nearly burned down the cottage with three foot flames shooting out of the grill and we had to ask them to close the lid to protect the building.

They asked for dishwashing liquid, and we provided enough for their stay. Apparently it was 40ml (who measures dishwashing liquid?) One of them asked if this was "all we had?" By then, what we'd had was enough of unreasonable demands and constant complaints! "

On a busy weekend with ith more than 160 satisfied guests, we can always expect one or two that cannot be made happy.

Final note: This guest has one other Trip Advisor review on their profile and, not surprisingly, it too was negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palenville hotels

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just returned from a weekend skiing at Hunter and staying at the Catskill Mountain Lodge. Went with a cousin and all we wanted to do was ski, eat, drink and sleep. The Lodge provided all of that and more. First, it is only approx 15 minutes from Hunter which was a huge bonus. Sure there are much closer hotels, but I'm sure they did not get the same treatment at such a reasonable price. Next the owner, Al, could not have been any nicer or laid back. He recommended the Lodge bar for their great food and drink. We took his advice and walked into the bar with a huge fireplace and welcoming bartender/cook Janet. She could not have been any nicer and recommended several of the local beers on tap (I think there were 10 or more on tap). All that we tried were fantastic. We then got a steak standwich w/ crumbled blue cheese (incredible!), cheeseburger (great!) and some of the best buffalo wings we have ever! The wings were so good that we ordered them the second night (yes we ate dinner there twice because the food & service was so good). The second night we had a craveing for turkey club but it was not on the menu. I asked Janet & she said no problem & made us both turket clubs. The bar also had a cool Juke Box with a variety of music (clasic & new). We also ate breakfast twice at the restaurant (attached to the bar). The pancakes & waffles were homemade and had warm syrup on top (fantastic). The room offered all that you needed as it was clean, warm & had great hot water & water pressure. In closing, for the money, this place was much, much, much better than expected. We were beyond pleasantly surprised and would stay at the Lodge anytime in the future!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkjrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just spend two nights at this lodge, and it beat all expectations. First, the owners are extremely warm and hospitable - they helped in explaining what was good in the area so we could decide how to spend our stay. also, I didnt have a car with me and the owner drove us to Hunter mountain for a very good price... so no problem if you decide to go without a car.

Second, they have an excellent restaurant on the premise - great quality food and service for breakfast, lunch and dinner... very decent prices too. Made it extremely convenient to have this right across the lodge after a long day of skiing. Third, they have a great bar with a variety of beers on tap, a pooltable and a jukebox.

Im writing this because the place really impressed me. Do stay if you are in the area... I plan to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bachoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
14.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
7.0 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
16.6 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
5.5 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Mountain Lodge

Property: Catskill Mountain Lodge
Address: 334 Route 32a, Palenville, NY 12463-2726
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catskill Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic year-round lodge set on the banks of the famed Kaaterskill Creek with spacious, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces, and several cabins. Close to Hunter & Windham Ski resports, Woodstock, Saugerties and Horse Shows in the Sun. Full service steakhouse & pub on site open daily with Off Track Betting Parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Catskill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Mountain Hotel Palenville
Catskill Mountain Lodge Catskill Region/Palenville, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing