We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent service and comfortable. Our hostess Kathy could not be nicer. The restaurant, Kindred Spirits, was an unexpected treat; smooth jazz and delicious food and drink. Great location for day tripping in Woodstock and Catskill mountain Park/ski areas. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountainben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your support of our family run Lodge. Kathy works hard to ensure our guests feel at home and are comfortable when they are here. It's always nice to see her efforts are appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    11
    14
    23
See reviews for
42
37
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This weekend my husband and I returned for some leaf peeping. This is our third visit to the Lodge and that in itself speaks at how much we like it here. As always, our accommodation was clean and comfortable. We had a lovely electric fireplace which added to the fall ambiance. Another great reason to stay hereis the Kindred Spirits lounge and restaurant. Excellent food and wonderful live jazz on weekends. This weekend We were treated to a most delicious Pumpkin Shrimp Curry. And finally, our beloved Bulldog Rupert was made to feel as welcome as any family member.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for being great guests. Returning guests keep small family-run hotel such as ours open in good times and bad. We appreciate your choosing The Lodge and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Another great stay over this past Columbus day weekend! ... The room was superb. A comfortable kingsize bed with many pillows made for a restful sleep. The gas fireplace provided a relaxing ambiance while gently heating the room. Two sliding glass doors on my corner room provided an excellent view of the creek adjacent to the property. Early morning walks along the creek provided a good start to the day.

All meals at the on property Kindred Spirts were cooked to perfection. I especially enjoyed the filet of sole stuffed with crabmeat. The jazz, continuously improving, was cool and smooth as always.

Big kudos to Al, Kathy, and the entire staff. They make me feel part of their extended family. I plan on continuing my bi annual stays for years to come....

Room Tip: Main lodge, top floor, rear rooms is my favorite area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rbreuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are grateful to have guests like you who return time after time because it attests to the our motto: There's Someplace Like Home. For us it feels like home when we get to spend time with our returning guests, families and groups. Kathy and I thank you for being not only a terrific guest, but a great friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This little oasis nestled in the Catskills is a great spot to unwind for a weekend get-away or holiday. The owners and staff are very friendly and gracious - and if you love music, they have fantastic LIVE jazz performances on the weekends! The music is amazing and it's a cozy little venue to tuck away with a bottle of wine and some yummy food (you need to try the curry!).
The rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully appointed - plus they have pet friendly options. You're only a two hour bus ride right in to NYC and right at the base of the beautiful Catskills (the best of both worlds!). We enjoyed our stay VERY, VERY much and highly recommend it to any of our fellow travelers (and we travel A LOT!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatDewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for being such gracious and appreciative guests, and for taking the time to post a great review. We hope to see you again for the Horse Shows in the Sun events in Saugerties next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would stay here again. We stayed while attending the local horse shows in Saugerties (it is a 15 minute pleasant drive to the showgrounds). The outside looks a little rundown. The front desk was not manned, but a quick phone call (instructions to do so were on the front door) had someone there in a few seconds. Friendly staff. Rooms are HUGE, with two queen beds (not doubles), full table, chairs, extra sink outside the bathroom. Lots of storage space. With all the riding gear and all the kids, it was easy to maneuver. Very clean and comfortable. No odor in our room. Bathroom is dated but clean and plenty of hot water. One fun item was a very old dial-based TV that the kids had never seen. Fortunately, it is hooked up to an updated cable box with a remote. Cell service is spotty in the area. Pleasant grounds with a nice stream in the back of the property. Small playground and porch swing by the stream.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4infamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. It is the first by a guest from Horse Shows in the Sun. We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We used to go to this Lodge years ago and loved it. Must have new owners. I booked a cabin for Oct. 5, 6 and 7 2012. I later found a lodge that I thought we'd enjoy more and emailed Kathy that we were cancelling. Also talked with her on the phone. She later called me back and tried to convince me to reconsider. I told her no I want to cancel. Today I got a confirmation of my booking. Called Kathy and she very nastily said "You must be out of your mind!!!!! I did not send a confirmation" and with that hung up on me. Nice way to do business.I emailed her the confirmation she sent me on which I included a note. She emailed it back to me with no apology. Seems strange that she was able to mail back something that she claimed she never sent in the first place. Good luck to anyone who books with her. Can just imagine what the service would have been like if this is the treatment you get while booking.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
20 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palenville hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

For some reason, we love this lodge, warts and all. The rooms are overpriced. $100. They can have a slight mildew odor. One trip our TV was out of order. The towels are tiny and thin. Staff is friendly. We never had a problem with the all important A/C. Bed sheets always clean. Bed was firm.

But, the location is amazing. The pool is heated and maintained. And, in the back of the motel, there is a small creek and if one follows the creek about a 3/4 a mile there is an old fashioned swimming hole, an 8 foot water fall into a deep pool. Depending on the time of year it can be a real blast. For us that has been the main attraction -- although last trip in August it was too dry and some damage form Tropical Storm Irene was apparent.

The attached bar / restaurant Kindred Spirits is excellent... decent prices and good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC4672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a fair review of The Lodge. We have just made some improvements to the building you stayed in, including your room. Fresh paint, new light fixtures, lamp shades, blankets and more. We will be posting new pcitures soon. Again, thanks for being great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
10.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
14.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
287 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
7.3 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Mountain Lodge

Property: Catskill Mountain Lodge
Address: 334 Route 32a, Palenville, NY 12463-2726
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catskill Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic year-round lodge set on the banks of the famed Kaaterskill Creek with spacious, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces, and several cabins. Close to Hunter & Windham Ski resports, Woodstock, Saugerties and Horse Shows in the Sun. Full service steakhouse & pub on site open daily with Off Track Betting Parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Catskill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Mountain Hotel Palenville
Catskill Mountain Lodge Catskill Region/Palenville, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing