We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More than fine for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corning Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corning Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
1 review
“More than fine for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find clean and hospitable accommodations at Corning Inn. Yes, the rooms/furniture are basic and somewhat outdated, disappointment will ensue only for those with unrealistic expectations! For budget travelers, the Corning Inn delivers all the essentials: spotless bathroom, fresh linens, comfortable beds and friendly service. Though breakfast offerings (muffins, bananas, cereal and beverages) looked adequate I opted for $6 hot breakfast at Jelly Beans down the street. Would gladly come again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annarog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
39
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed over for one night a few days ago returning from Northeast. Very convenient and seemingly safe location off I-86 near Corning. Clean, quiet and comfortable room with cold A/C, clean fridge and microwave. Staff was very friendly, rates are reasonable, continental breakfast not huge, but certainly adequate. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in the Corning Inn and had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, and staff very friendly. It is an older hotel but owners are working hard to upgrade and remodel. Continental breakfast was adequate and they even have a guest laundry. No pool. If you need a reasonably priced hotel with basic accommodations, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Can you help? The fee using Cheap Tix for 2 rooms went on my charge card on July 9, 2013.
When we checked in on July 20, 2013 we were charged a second different fee, slightly less than our confirmation letter of 7/9 but nevertheless a double billing.
Of course, I'd like to pay the lower price, but how can I get a refund for either one???

On the positive side, our stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly and helpful. The motel needs some upgrading but for a simple one night stay, we had no complaints. The mattresses were VERY comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXBound1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlville, ny
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good hotel, really really clean!! friendly staff. Our room had new carpet(but no bad smells), clean fridge and microwave. comfy beds. good a/c. excellent price!!! they are working hard to make improvements. located in great area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Passing through Corning on a Motorcycle trip. Found hotel on internet search and called 10 minutes before arrival. Man on phone was very pleasant and gave us a great rate for a last minute stay. Small continental breakfast in morning was a pleasant plus. Danish, cereal, coffee and juice. Everything was fresh. Check-in was fast and simple. Room was very clean and comfortable. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krank42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie,Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Corning Inn is definitely showing its age and is in need of a facelift. Décor is old and worn, but our room was very clean and served the purpose for an overnight stop. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and we inspected the room before signing in with no problem.
The Breakfast buffet was basic but gave us a good start to the day.

If you don't mind a older property this an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: Inspect the room prior to signing in. They are old but very clean. Old décor and worn furniture but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Lodge on the Green
0.3 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Property: Corning Inn
Address: 255 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9782 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing