We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than fine for the price”
Review of Corning Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corning Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find clean and hospitable accommodations at Corning Inn. Yes, the rooms/furniture are basic and somewhat outdated, disappointment will ensue only for those with unrealistic expectations! For budget travelers, the Corning Inn delivers all the essentials: spotless bathroom, fresh linens, comfortable beds and friendly service. Though breakfast offerings (muffins, bananas, cereal and beverages) looked adequate I opted for $6 hot breakfast at Jelly Beans down the street. Would gladly come again.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Annarog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed over for one night a few days ago returning from Northeast. Very convenient and seemingly safe location off I-86 near Corning. Clean, quiet and comfortable room with cold A/C, clean fridge and microwave. Staff was very friendly, rates are reasonable, continental breakfast not huge, but certainly adequate. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in the Corning Inn and had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, and staff very friendly. It is an older hotel but owners are working hard to upgrade and remodel. Continental breakfast was adequate and they even have a guest laundry. No pool. If you need a reasonably priced hotel with basic accommodations, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Can you help? The fee using Cheap Tix for 2 rooms went on my charge card on July 9, 2013.
When we checked in on July 20, 2013 we were charged a second different fee, slightly less than our confirmation letter of 7/9 but nevertheless a double billing.
Of course, I'd like to pay the lower price, but how can I get a refund for either one???

On the positive side, our stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly and helpful. The motel needs some upgrading but for a simple one night stay, we had no complaints. The mattresses were VERY comfortable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXBound1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good hotel, really really clean!! friendly staff. Our room had new carpet(but no bad smells), clean fridge and microwave. comfy beds. good a/c. excellent price!!! they are working hard to make improvements. located in great area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Passing through Corning on a Motorcycle trip. Found hotel on internet search and called 10 minutes before arrival. Man on phone was very pleasant and gave us a great rate for a last minute stay. Small continental breakfast in morning was a pleasant plus. Danish, cereal, coffee and juice. Everything was fresh. Check-in was fast and simple. Room was very clean and comfortable. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krank42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Corning Inn is definitely showing its age and is in need of a facelift. Décor is old and worn, but our room was very clean and served the purpose for an overnight stop. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and we inspected the room before signing in with no problem.
The Breakfast buffet was basic but gave us a good start to the day.

If you don't mind a older property this an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: Inspect the room prior to signing in. They are old but very clean. Old décor and worn furniture but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 7 in Painted Post
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Elmira
141 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
17.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Address: 255 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9782 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range: $51 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing