We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low rates for week long stays”
Review of Corning Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corning Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I wrote the review on December 20, 2012 in which I noted that the halls were sometimes smokey. I just finished up a 25-day stay at the hotel and didn't notice any smoke in the halls this time. The hotel offers a really great rate is you're planning to stay for a week or more. I was in town to empty out a relative's hoarder house and the Corning Inn was my home while I did that. Staff is incredibly friendly and the breakfast was a great start to every day. Nope, it's not a super fancy place with a swimming pool. But it's just what I needed at the end of every long day...a comfortable place to unwind while watching some TV and surfing the Internet. Thanks for taking good care of me!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MaxTrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Corning Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I want to begin this review by saying it is clear that the owners of the Corning Inn are really giving it their best shot. Customer service was awesome! We reserved a room for 2 nights, along with another couple, 6 months in advance. I called the week before to make sure everything was still set, and it was, with no problems. They even gave us a rate of $59 when they saw how far in advance we booked, and let us check in at 1 PM, which was a huge help to us and our schedule for the day. They are very nice people. If I were rating on services alone, it would be 5 stars all the way. The amenities are all there, but the property and rooms really are just "average." It is an old/former Super 8 that needed a lot of TLC, and it seems like the new owners have tried really hard to make it a nice, budget hotel. Do not come here expecting luxury, and you will not be disappointed! It seemed clean enough. Our room was tiny, but did have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, and of course TV and free wifi. They have a small "breakfast room" where they have a bowl of bananas, a couple different cereals, milk, packets of instant oatmeal, danishes, small muffins, OJ, apple juice, coffee and toast. I was happy with the bed, although the other couple we were traveling with thought theirs was too hard. Water pressure was nice, and never had a problem with hot water. I'd say the only issue I had with the room was the bathroom sink--the water came out extremely close to the back of the sink. It was nearly impossible to get your hands under there. And then the sink filled up quickly and was slow to drain. Didn't have that problem in the shower though. Also our room was on the first floor, facing the parking lot, and the parking spots are literally about 3 feet from the exterior wall of those rooms. The first night, there were some very loud motorcycles that kept coming and going. Finally came back for the last time around 10 PM. Unfortunately, it also seemed like some of them were then staying in the room directly above us, as there were VERY heavy footsteps on the ceiling for about an hour afterwards. The other couple we were traveling with said it sounded like there was some WWF wrestling going on in the room above them. LOL. However, the second night was MUCH more peaceful. And somehow the room seemed cleaner the second day. haha. If I were rating it on the second day only, I might have bumped it up to a "very good." With all that being said, you really cannot complain about much when you're only paying $59/night. That's almost unheard of anymore. We were there for a Seneca Lake Wine Trail event, and I would have much preferred something a little nicer, and closer to the lake. But I also know we'll be paying about 3x as much to do that. But next time, I think I will splurge and do it anyway. I probably won't visit the Corning Inn for a relaxing weekend type thing again. But I would stay here again if I needed a place to sleep as cheap as possible. You probably won't find a nicer place at this price point. So again, bottom line of my review is: Don't expect luxury, and you won't be disappointed with the Corning Inn.

Room Tip: If I stayed again, I would ask for 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed one night at the Corning Inn. Yes, they are working on refurbishing the motel, but don't let that be a factor. It is about 10 minutes from downtown Corning, so very easy to get to. The check in was very easy and the staff recommended restaurants in the area, especially Jelly Beans (great for breakfast and dinner). The room rate was very reasonable and it was quiet at night (always a plus!). The room was good and the bathroom was up to date. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Corning Inn was just what I was looking for when I needed to visit the area to help my aging mother. I got a clean, inexpensive, non-smoking room with a descent bed and lots of cable channels to watch on TV and of course WiFi. In the morning, I had a choice of cereals, muffins and danish to choose from. Sometimes there were bananas too, but the early birds often cleaned them out. So the proprietor actually put more bananas out for me at 9 AM, so I could have some too. I was scheduled to be there for 5 days, but my trip was extended to 17 days and I stayed there every night. The owners were extremely kind and friendly, which was probably the best part of the entire stay. The only downside...at times the halls smelled smoky from smokers. But my room smelled fine inside, which is all I cared about. No, it's not a fancy hotel (I've stayed at some), but it's excellent for the price and it met my needs well, which was for a quiet, comfortable place to come back to at night.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank MaxTrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

They are working on refurbishing the hotel. The carpets are very nice and new, but there is lots left to do. The room seemed clean. but when we turned on the heat, it started smoking and the smoke detector went off. The man at the desk was not too concerned, he said it was the first time the room was used this season and it was probably dusty…what a great start! They offered a simple breakfast, cereal, pastries, muffins, beverages.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Corning inn was just the place we were looking for. Clean & Comfortable!
We needed to stay overnight on a Saturday and this place didn't charge a premium for the weekend. Total bill with taxes was $72. Surrounding hotels were 89 weekdays and 160 weekends! Staff was very pleasent and had a nice breakfast waiting the next day.
Danish, oatmeal. cereal, & fruit.

We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbs525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice place, my favorite part was they had a dual outlet! yay! got to plug in all my gadgets without having to unplug a lamp. i wish every hotel came with one of those. housekeeping kept a cute little note in the mirror saying enjoy your stay. We went two miles down the street to eat at Friendly's, hopping place on a Friday night! We were very satisified and comfy at the Corning Inn. We forgot something in our room after we checked out and it was no trouble at all to go back in. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessagigglebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.3 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 7 in Painted Post
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Address: 255 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9782 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range: $56 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing