We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”
Review of Corning Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corning Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
PENNSYLVANIA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Rooms are very clean
Free continental breakfast includes cereal and pastries
New beds are comfy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennsylvaniaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
43
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Cheap in the area. A typical motel with old rag and furniture. But has everything you need, including free internet and breakfast. We got a non-smoker king-bed room at the last minute. The bed is clean and the room has no bad smell. To our surprise, there were a microwave and a refrigerator in the room. The shower was good. We are happy for what we paid for.

It was noisy in the morning. So make sure to get to bed before the midnight so you can catch enough sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Liked the convenient location , great price (much less than nearby properties), working air conditioner, nice shower, and the very nice woman at the front desk. However, the common areas were extremely shabby, and the room was only slightly better. Although the room itself appeared to be clean (and we DID check the mattress for bed bugs...none there!),, one of the chairs was severely stained, and the blanket had stains, too. The worst thing about the room was the smell...maybe a disinfectant? In any case, my respiratory allergies kicked up right away. The breakfast area smelled so yucky, I couldn't stand to eat there (I think it was caused by the other people in the room). Guests were outside drinking and smoking late into the night, but fortunately, the room stayed quiet. There were people kind of lurking around in the hallways and outside each time we left the room -- wouldn't have felt safe staying there alone. Glad we had booked only one night. Paying more somewhere else would be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerneedsclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Painted Post hotels

RI
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

If you are looking for something affordable (very affordable) and clean when vacationing in Corning then this is your place. You'll have enough money left over to go to Watkins Glen, visit the Corning Museum and even have dinner (try Jerlando's Pizza & Restaurant in Watkins Glen) and still be able to lay your head down to sleep. Now that's what I call super duper value. This is family owned (very nice family with two beautiful kids) and you are always greeted with a smile. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aceboku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I take a weekend trip each year to celebrate our anniversary. This year we decided to check out the Watkins Glen, NY area. Most of the hotels in downtown WG were pretty pricey, or, if they were reasonable, they were fully booked for the weekend of our trip. We then looked at hotes in Painted Post and ultimately decided on the Corning Inn because we got a King room for just $65/night! Our room was nothing fancy, though we didn't expect it to be. It was clean, which is very important, rather spacious and met our needs. Our room also had a mini-fridge which definitely worked, a microwave, iron & board, hair dryer, coffee maker and a nice-sized TV. We never ran out of hot water in the shower. The free breakfast was muffins, danish, two cereals, bananas, coffee, tea and two fruit juices. Again, nothing fancy but quite tasty and enough to take away the morning hunger. It took us about 25 minutes to get to Watkins Glen, 10 minutes to Corning and 20 to Horseheads. The Corning Inn was a nice place for the very reasonable per night rate. We definitely would recommend this hotel as an alternative to the higher priced Glen hotels. Painted Post itself was a nice, quiet town with a decent variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnivTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The staff was very nice. The room was clean & quiet. Affordable. What more could we ask for - a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

One of thte two rooms was missing light bulbs. The other had stained sheets. The owner came to the room in stocking feet with stains on his shirt. He insisted the sheets were washed daily nad the stain was from the soap. The window in one room had what appeared to be a bullet hole. It was a most interesting stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrForgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.3 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 7 in Painted Post
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Property: Corning Inn
Address: 255 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9782 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing