We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
london ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stopover choice”
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We have been travelling from London Ontario to Washington DC regularly for several years. Painted Post/Corning has been a good stopover trip break for us. We discovered this motel several years ago, but recently it has been in the middle of a construction zone for a new major interstate intersection. Very heavy traffic, lots of heavy equipment parked around it, some rooms not in such good condition because of serving construction workers.
This year we were delighted to find that work has been done. The motel is under new management. The rooms appear to have had a complete overhaul and upgrading. The staff were helpful, friendly, and no longer overtaxed by the situation that the motel had been in. The Applebees close by is a bonus. So we can highly recommend this motel as an excellent stopover for travellers.

  • Liked — Met all expectations
  • Disliked — No concerns
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
40
52
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

had read reviews and as we arrived at the motel tried to be bright and cheerful it was a the side of an empty lot near a walmart and appleby's the motel looked dowdy from the outside and as we opened the door i was surprised it looked fine and big and walked into to the room to be greeted as i put the luggage down by a foul smell it was a mixture of mildew / dampness which someone had tried to cover up by putting plug in air freshners in the room i gagged and had to run out to get fresh air none on the windows would open so the only way we could get some of the horrid smell was to plug out the air freshners leave the door of the room open and leave the fan on in the bathroom the room it self appeared to be clean but i was afraid to chance a shower my husband( a building inpecter) told me later that he could hear cockroaches one of our group had one go across the bed during the night another one of our group reported that the window would not close and the staff nailed it closed when asked if there was a fire what would she do they said it was ok to break a window all of our group 21 in all complained of the very poor standard of the motel four single ladies were most upset and would have preferred to sleep on the bus than stay in these room and spent the night in chairs rather than sleep on the beds the breakfast was in a small room beside the office would not partake applebys's was next door thank god would never go back would advise any to just drive past and try somewhere else

  • Liked — checkout
  • Disliked — deadful smell that lingered on your clothes for days afterwards / staff unhelpful
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Maire29H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Painted Post hotels

Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The location of this hotel was excellent. There is a Walmart and Appleby's restaurant next door. The fron desk stafff was very friendly and our request for extra pillows was promptly filled. The room was very large but dated. The continental breakfast was acceptable. Good coffee and plenty of choices.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cplperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

PROS:
Inexpensive
Convenient
Private
Comfortable
Customer Service was good
Convenient to Applebee's and WalMart
No "adult" television channels (thank God)

CONS:
Refrigerant from refrigerator smelled
Furnace was noisy
Could hear other guests' doors

After reading a few of the unsavory reviews, I had my qualms about staying at the Lodge. But the main three complaints from others' reviews-- construction noise, guests' noises, and bad smells-- I thought could be easily remedied by questioning the front desk and asking for the best rooms. The receptionist was helpful and direct. She also gave me the best quote on two rooms than any other place I'd checked (and I'd checked them all). I made sure to ask for the best rooms-- newly renovated rooms-- that were connected. We got both rooms for a fraction of what the Holiday Inn or anyone else was asking.

The Lodge is located on the north western end of the town. There is construction in the area (it was not operational the days we arrived-- Sunday and a holiday Monday), but we are New Yorkers and are used to continual construction, anyway. It wasn't a bother to me at all, and the traffic was very manageable.

Our rooms were toward the back, second story (the receptionist had asked us if we minded second-story rooms, because they have no elevator. We didn't mind). The back of the Lodge where we stayed was extremely quiet and we heard no traffic noise at all.

The rooms were neat and clean. One room smelled like an old camper-- like old paneling. It wasn't terribly distasteful, but it was odd. I later found out that it was the small refrigerator in the room. When I unplugged it, the odor disappeared immediately, and the room did not smell anymore.

I liked that there were signs asking for guests to use resources with thrift-- like, please don't toss a towel in the laundry if you've used it once, because this wastes water. I like efficiency and I like it when it is encouraged. I was also happy to see Gideon Bibles in the dresser drawers.

The furnishings and style of the room were not luxurious, but then again, we just wanted a place to park our carcasses for the night. We'd once stayed at a Marriott in Albany and THAT was luxurious (the price was, too). This was a great budget hotel. It was very suitable for us.

The beds were outstandingly comfortable. I have a back problem, and am up nights with pain. I slept like a baby on these hotel beds. Like I said, everything was very clean and neat. It is an older hotel, but everything was very comfortable and everything worked well. The heat worked in excellent form (especially since it was below zero that night), the water pressure was wonderful.

The furnaces worked well, but they are stored in a small closet in the rooms. When they kicked on, the metal sides of the furnace heaved with a noisy metal bang. It wasn't noisier than my own furnace at home, but because it was on the same level as the bedroom, it was noticeable. Also, you could faintly hear other guests slamming their doors. We came at an off-season, so there were not too many guests. A busier season would have more noise. Then again, I've never been in a hotel that wasn't noisy with slamming doors. I don't stay at hotels expecting everyone and everything to be silent.

And to top off the great value we got on our rooms, we got a free continental breakfast, too! This was great. The lobby was chilly (it was 6 degrees outside), but the breakfast was wonderful, with a great variety of food (cereal, bagels and cream cheese, oranges, danish, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, toast), and beverages (hot cocoa, coffee, tea, cranberry juice, and orange juice). We LOVED our breakfast.

Checkout was fast and easy. It was all a dream.

We will stay here again when we come back to the area. It was very comfortable, and the prices were right. I do agree-- Lodge on the Green IS the best American value.

If you are interested in reading about my travels, I blog about the travels we take in New York State-- [--].

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Furnace noise, appliance smell
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrsmecomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.6 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
475 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 196 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9165
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Lodge on the Green’s 135 guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and tastefully appointed. We provide an AM/FM alarm clock, personal coffee maker, television with cable including HBO, non-smoking rooms/facilities and truck/RV/Motorcoach parking. We offer a Cold Complimentary Continental Breakfast as well as a seasonal outdoor heated pool open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We are a pet-friendly hotel, so feel free to bring that extra member of your family along for a small fee. For our business travelers we offer 24 hour copy and fax services, as well as data-ports in every room and free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Lodge On The Green Hotel Painted Post

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing