We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wait to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Owego
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Owego
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Treadway while in town for a family wedding. After checking in we walked to our room over the cracked tile and unvaccuumed carpet past the establishment laundry room with the door wide open, past the "out of order" vending machine to our room which was dark, dingy and had a strange smell. How charming it was to find that the bathroom was so small that they had to put the sink out in the room. I never saw that before. They held many weddings that weekend at the hotel and the place was packed with wedding guests. The partying went on till all hours of the night. The walls were very thin, so we heard the screaming, carrying on and running down the halls. I felt like I was staying in a fraternity house.

The restaurant was ok....nothing special, just ok.

The one positive was the view from the river side of the hotel. Very, very nice.

Normally when you check-out from a hotel the first thing they ask is, "Was everything ok?" It's funny but they didn't ask that question here. Probably because they didn't want to hear the answer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanCoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

We really like this hotel. We stumbled upon it over 23 years ago and still continue to stay there when were are coming and going from NYC. Staff is always friendly and helpful and most efficient. Have never eaten dinner there but their breakfasts, although a little pricey for my liking, are fresh, hot and served with a smile! The rooms have been re-done due to the fact that the river has overflowed in the past 2 years and flooded the first floor, hence new carpets & paint. The pool is an okay size.
The rooms facing the river have a lovely view, especially first thing in the morning. Really quite charming. This place is not the Four Seasons but it is safe, comfortable, reasonably priced. It is only a 2 minute drive from downtown Owego where there are some very nice restaurants. Easy on and off the highway access. Grocery store across the street as well as some fast food places and a gas station. We will continue to stay here because the service has been so consistant & reliable over the years! Book your stay early though...as weekends sell out quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I hate to write a bad review, but unfortunately the service at this hotel was so awful that it is only fair to warn others who might stay here. We had made a reservation two months prior to our stay (we had to do it so far in advance because it was graduation weekend in this small town and everything gets booked very early). The person we spoke with confirmed the reservation. Just prior to our stay, we called again just to be sure everything was all set. Again they confirmed our reservation. Two days later, we received a letter stating that due to renovations we can no longer stay there, but we can stay at another hotel (which is 20 miles further away from this hotel AND 45 minutes from the university at which we were going for graduation). When we called to speak with the manager to explain that we were dissatisfied with this arrangement and wanted to see if we can arrange for something else, he was completely unaccommodating. He was rude and told us he "did the best he could." We felt he withheld the information about the renovations at the hotel so that we would just book at his hotel even though it was risky. All in all, we were very disappointed and felt it was terrible service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank abc123ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This Hotel and its staff are all 5 star. I'm a VVA Chapter President and stay at allot of hotels in a years time. The Treadway in Owego treats me and the other Vets better than some 5 star hotels in Washington DC. This is a fun and Welcome Home Hotel...Thank you...

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NK-NONSTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We came into the area just for the night, to attend a dear friend's wedding. We were given a list of the area hotels and decided on the Treadway since it was closest to the church. I didn't read the reviews until after I had booked our reservation and was a little concerned. I even thought about trying another hotel, but decided to stay with The Treadway. To tell you I was pleased would be an understatement. My husband and I arrived and everyone was very friendly. We checked in and went to our room and it was amazing. Our view was of the river and it looked like a scene from the old south with the beautiful weeping trees outside. We had everything we needed for a good nights stay and would not hesitate to return if ever in the area again.
THANKS TO THE ENTIRE STAFF AND GOD BLESS.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dah641983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

i called in november to book my room. my first call had gone unanswered, i called back about 15 min later and after many rings it was finally picked up by a very unenthusiastic sounding woman.i booked my room dispite first impressions. upon checking in i found the attendant to be very rude and unhelpful. the room was very outdated, stains on the carpeting and peeling wallpaper were evident, yet overall the room was clean. nonsmoking had been requested but it smelled horribly of smoke. the front desk said that they could not help that somone had smoked in this room and they would not switch us to another. later that evening we went to have dinner in the dining room. the environment is pleasent but the food was terrible, wait staff was friendly but unresponsive to my empty coffee cup. check out the morning i culd hear the general manager talking about BEDBUGS. i found this to be repulsive and i wonder if this is an ongoing problem. I WAS VERY UNEMPRESSED WITH THIS ESTABLISHMENT

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peice_of_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

Visiting relatives for Thanksgiving this year, we decided to stay at the Treadway Inn in Owego. I grew up in the Endicott/Owego area, but never had visited the Treadway Inn. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and our room was neat and clean. We had a view of the river which was very nice. However, upon entering the hotel, you can see that it is quite dated. Our biggest complaint about this property was that the walls were paper thin. In fact, we could hear a guy sneezing in the middle of the night as clear as if he was in our own room! And we can't even be certain if he was in the next room or two rooms down from us. I was standing at the sink getting ready and could hear a conversation between two of the housekeepers. When I opened the door, I was surprised to see that the housekeepers were standing 5 doors down from ours. Another concern was that the bathroom was very small; the sink and mirror were outside of the bathroom and also quite small--didn't leave much room to put any items. Owego is a charming small town and unfortunately there are not a lot of choices for accomodations. The Treadway Inn is at a convenient location because it is right of I-86.

I did see that another hotel was being built next to the Treadway Inn and was told that it is going to be a Marriott. I think when we visit next time, we'll give that property a try.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owego
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Owego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Owego
Hampton Inn Owego
#1 of 4 in Owego
381 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Apalachin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
2.7 mi away
The Glenmary Inn
The Glenmary Inn
#1 of 3 in Owego
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Owego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Owego

Address: 1100 State Route 17c, Owego, NY 13827-4822 (Formerly Owego Treadway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tioga County > Owego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Owego
Price Range: $69 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Owego 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the Red Roof Inn & Suites Owego offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly (one well-behaved family pet is welcome), family-friendly hotel offers a business center, on-site fitness facility, free continental breakfast, picnic area, BBQ grills, coin laundry, as well as coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, flat-screen TV, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, work desk, and in-room coffee. Select rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. There are also adjoining rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Owego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owego Treadway Hotel Owego
Treadway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing