We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint and relaxing! The perfect get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My mom booked this place for a weekend get away for the two of us. I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and I was skeptical. I'm not a person who really enjoys making friends on vacation and was worried about a lack of privacy. The Driftwood exceeded all of my expectations. Tammy and Jim were wonderful. They were very social and helpful and cooked a delicious breakfast. The room was gorgeous with a very comfortable bed and a jacusi bath (we stayed in room 5). The best part by far was the view from the porch. We were right on the lake (people even jumped in to go swimming). The sunsets were beautiful and we had a great time sitting and enjoying the view after a day of wine tasting. I felt very relaxed. The house never seemed crowded (in fact there were hours that we didnt even see anothe guest). For anyone who wants to get away for a relaxing weekend and enjoy the beautiful landscape I would highly recommend this location

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Minnen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Jim and Tammy are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They take great pride in their inn, but more importantly, you can tell that they love what they do. They are fantastic hosts.

We actually arrived late Friday evening around 8. I had called ahead to inform Jim that we would be arriving a little late, and he had check in information all ready for me. We got there just in time to catch him before he retired for the evening. They live in a separate unit somewhere else on the property, I believe.

The property is amazing. The view of Lake Cayuga is breathtaking. I don't think you can fin many B+B's that sit ON the lake, but the Driftwood is ideal. They have a dock where you can pull your boat up to, and a long private beach that is great to skip stones in. We woke up early to see the sun rise. You have a great view of both the sunrise and sunset (in the summer at least).

The room was very clean, and above all, comfortable. I typically have trouble falling asleep, but I was out like a light. We stayed in Room 5 which has a private bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Great room for a romantic getaway.

The breakfast is really good. There is a main dining room, where you can sit with other guests, or if you prefer a little privacy, there is another dining room with tables for two. Saturday morning, they made French Toast with fresh fruit. Sunday we had a crust less quiche with phenomenal cinnamon bread.

As far as location, there are a bunch of wineries nearby, and I believe a brewery or two. There is a really good ice cream place down the road a few miles, and a few nice restaurants in the area.

If you are looking to go hiking, it's within a reasonable distance to Taughannock State Park (which is a great hike), and a few other state parks with great trails.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked a four day stay here on the basis of many of the Trip Advisor reviews. When we first drove up, our hearts sank a bit as the building looked a bit shabby and in need of paint and power washing. However, all our trepidation was dissolved as soon as we met Jim and stepped out onto the porch. The Inn is right on the lake and has plenty of chairs for looking over the lake, having wine and cheese and chatting with other guests.
Jim and Tammy are the most marvelous hosts, warm, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. They were always spot on with suggestions for activities. The breakfasts were delicious!
The location is perfect...close to Ithaca, Watkins Glen, and a ridiculous number of wineries.
The Driftwood Inn really felt like a home away from home.

Room Tip: I couldn't erase the ratings above for swimming pool and fitness center but they are N/A. We st...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank max'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Driftwood Inn. We loved it! Very comfortable, relaxing and lovely. Understated but homey and cozy in every respect. Beautiful views of the lake. We stayed in room 202 and it was wonderful to wake up and see the lake first thing every morning. Jim and Tammy are great hosts and the breakfasts were outstanding! We will definitely recommend this place to others and hope to be able to visit again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Driftwood Inn was perfectly situated near the lake with a wrap-around porch with comfy seating for relaxing and a sturdy dock for enjoying the lake breezes (see photo). Bedrooms were clean and clutter-free. Breakfast was great! The Driftwood Inn is minutes away from great wine-tasting (our reason for the visit). The owners were friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable about the area, and professionally efficient.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the lake; that would be nice for the view. We didn't have one of those rooms, so...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael Faith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at this B&B for several days and it was excellent! Tammy and Jim are .great hosts and cater to your every need. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and the breakfasts were marvelous. The inn has a large porch facing the lake and many chairs and tables to enjoy the view. Tammy makes wonderful cookies for afternoon snacking, and they both have incredible knowledge of the area. The location is very convenient for sightseeing, winery visits and other tourist activities. We will definitely go back when we do more Finger Lakes touring!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVE33931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I found this B & B when checking TripAdvisor for a place in the Finger Lakes. I read all of the reviews and decided that this was the place to go. We went with another couple and all four of us couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. It's right on the water and has a huge porch along the back of the house. We sat out there every morning with our coffee and every evening with our wine. What a peaceful place to contemplate the beauty of Cayuga Lake. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were varied and delicious. Our hosts, Tammy and Jim, couldn't have been more gracious. They were friendly and fun to be around. We even had freshly baked cookies waiting when we arrived back at the inn, after a day of sightseeing. The location is perfect for visiting wineries, historic homes and outdoor attractions. You just can't go wrong staying at this B & B. We are definitely doing back!

Room Tip: We loved having a room that overlooked the lake, but all of the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyvics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
19.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
21.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,237 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Inns of Aurora
The Inns of Aurora
#1 of 5 in Aurora
293 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
10.0 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7401 Wyers Point Rd, Finger Lakes Region, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is located directly on the shore of Cayuga lake, in the heart of the Finger lakes region. The main house which has 6 guest rooms all with private bathrooms is a perfect choice for a romantic get away! Also on the property are 4 family cottages ranging in size and price, these are all rented by the week only. We offer 260 feet of water frontage and a dock that extends 140 feet. With your stay we offer a paddle boat, kayaks, and a row boat for your use. We are also within easy driving distance to area wineries and state parks. Ithaca is just a short 20 minute drive from our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn b&b
Driftwood Hotel Ovid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing