We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delmar, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Driftwood on many occasions and are never disappointed. Hosts Jim and Tammy go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are extremely helpful. And their breakfasts are not only delicious but beautifully presented. The cozy dining area overlooks the lake and provides for either an intimate breakfast or group discussion with other guests if you are so inclined. The Inn itself offers spectacular views from most of its guest rooms as well as from the large covered wrap-around porch that faces the lake. A fantastic spot to sip coffee in the morning or enjoy a glass of wine from one of the various wineries (some 7 or 8 within an easy 5-10 minute drive of the inn) while you watch the sun go down over the lake. Guests are free to use the kayaks, paddle boat, and lounge chairs that dot the lawn leading up to the lake. Also available is an upstairs common area with refrigerator, sink and microwave as well as a downstairs living area with comfy chairs, TV, and books/games to borrow.
Our only suggestion would be to have some sort of coffeepot available to guests either in their rooms or in the upstairs common area. We think some guests might like a cup of coffee at times other than when the hosts are in the kitchen. A minor thing but would be nice just the same.
Overall, just a fantastic spot and we look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJoyce315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
113
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

While traveling to the Fingerlakes Region on business, I found the Driftwood Inn while searching for a local place to stay and booked a room. It was a week of 100 degree temperatures and when I finished work for the day, the sign over the back porch said "Go Jump In The Lake" and that is what just I did. The Driftwood sits on a secluded point on Cayuga Lake and has a wonderful little pebbly beach. It was easy to Kayak from the shore (quite easy on a lake instead of my usual ocean) despite a nice wind from the north. This is a nice place to be as the sun sets over the water. My room was lovely and the breakfast the next day was delicious. The blueberries I picked on my way to the Driftwood (Luce Farm is awesome) after work were served to one and all the next morning on french toast. I could still taste the sun on those berries!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 "the penthouse" with a great view all the way up the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came upon the Driftwood Inn while looking for accommodations near the Water to Wine Tour on Cayuga Lake. It exceeded our expectations from the moment of our arrival. Jim and Tammy are a lovely couple and great hosts at an exceptional property located on the shores of the lake. They provide a laid back atmosphere to really unwind. Would have loved to have extended our stay but they were booked. :( We stayed in Room 3 with a lovely view our over the lake. We look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Love the rooms with a view out over the lake. We stayed in #3 but think we try and get #4 next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSLongDreamchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From our arrival, meeting Tammy, and getting info, to the beautiful breakfast, and magnificent view of Cayuga lake, all was better than expected. It is a hidden gem off the beaten path. It is highly recommended for anyone wanting to get away, rest, do some kayaking, or hiking the finger lakes state park trails, or wine, beer and distillery sampling. Simply beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Driftwood after seeing the Eagles at Bethel Woods on Thursday. The Inn is wonderful and everthing we had wanted. On the water, quiet, relaxing, clean, near the wineries and of course your hosts Jim and Tammy are always looking out for you. We stayed in room #6 and we felt it was the best room in the inn. Quiet, great view and very comfortable. Breakfast was a treat eating while looking out over the lake. And when we returned from the wineries there was even a baked treat left for the guests in the dining room. We will be back after finding our new home in the Finger Lakes. Thanks Jim and Tammy, hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueangels31664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Driftwood B&B is welcoming and charming. Jim and Tammy, the owners, make you feel like long lost friends at the first hello! We stayed in the cozy cottage for 4 nights. Everything we could possibly need was there! We love to cook and shopped at the local farmers markets and cooked every evening. There was a weber grill waiting for us as well. When we needed a coffee grinder, Tammy, went and got hers for us to borrow! The view of the lake and peaceful surroundings were just what the doctor ordered!!!
We plan on coming back in the fall and will make this an annual event!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I picked the Driftwood from seeing it on Trip Advisor. We love being on the water. We were not disappointed. In the morning coffee was ready when we got up at around 7:00 and we sat on the porch or walked out on the pier while the sun was coming up. What a view up the length of Cayuga Lake. After a second cup of coffee breakfast was ready. Jim was the cook and Tammy waited on us. Breakfast was excellent, a souffle one day and crepes the next, both served with juice and fresh fruit. A great start to the day. The evenings were just as beautiful when the sun was going down. We would have a couple glasses of wine on the porch at sunset. It just don't get any better! The days were mostly spent visiting the wineries, but we did take the kayaks out for a spin once and enjoyed a swim in the lake. There are kayaks, a row boat, and a paddle boat available for guests. Nice. We throughly enjoyed our stay, and after telling our family about it, we may be coming back in one of the houses for rent on the property. If you are looking for a low key, relaxing atmosphere with great views... this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
19.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
21.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
10.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7401 Wyers Point Rd, Finger Lakes Region, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is located directly on the shore of Cayuga lake, in the heart of the Finger lakes region. The main house which has 6 guest rooms all with private bathrooms is a perfect choice for a romantic get away! Also on the property are 4 family cottages ranging in size and price, these are all rented by the week only. We offer 260 feet of water frontage and a dock that extends 140 feet. With your stay we offer a paddle boat, kayaks, and a row boat for your use. We are also within easy driving distance to area wineries and state parks. Ithaca is just a short 20 minute drive from our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn b&b
Driftwood Hotel Ovid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing