We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than advertised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than advertised”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From our arrival, meeting Tammy, and getting info, to the beautiful breakfast, and magnificent view of Cayuga lake, all was better than expected. It is a hidden gem off the beaten path. It is highly recommended for anyone wanting to get away, rest, do some kayaking, or hiking the finger lakes state park trails, or wine, beer and distillery sampling. Simply beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
114
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Driftwood after seeing the Eagles at Bethel Woods on Thursday. The Inn is wonderful and everthing we had wanted. On the water, quiet, relaxing, clean, near the wineries and of course your hosts Jim and Tammy are always looking out for you. We stayed in room #6 and we felt it was the best room in the inn. Quiet, great view and very comfortable. Breakfast was a treat eating while looking out over the lake. And when we returned from the wineries there was even a baked treat left for the guests in the dining room. We will be back after finding our new home in the Finger Lakes. Thanks Jim and Tammy, hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueangels31664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Driftwood B&B is welcoming and charming. Jim and Tammy, the owners, make you feel like long lost friends at the first hello! We stayed in the cozy cottage for 4 nights. Everything we could possibly need was there! We love to cook and shopped at the local farmers markets and cooked every evening. There was a weber grill waiting for us as well. When we needed a coffee grinder, Tammy, went and got hers for us to borrow! The view of the lake and peaceful surroundings were just what the doctor ordered!!!
We plan on coming back in the fall and will make this an annual event!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I picked the Driftwood from seeing it on Trip Advisor. We love being on the water. We were not disappointed. In the morning coffee was ready when we got up at around 7:00 and we sat on the porch or walked out on the pier while the sun was coming up. What a view up the length of Cayuga Lake. After a second cup of coffee breakfast was ready. Jim was the cook and Tammy waited on us. Breakfast was excellent, a souffle one day and crepes the next, both served with juice and fresh fruit. A great start to the day. The evenings were just as beautiful when the sun was going down. We would have a couple glasses of wine on the porch at sunset. It just don't get any better! The days were mostly spent visiting the wineries, but we did take the kayaks out for a spin once and enjoyed a swim in the lake. There are kayaks, a row boat, and a paddle boat available for guests. Nice. We throughly enjoyed our stay, and after telling our family about it, we may be coming back in one of the houses for rent on the property. If you are looking for a low key, relaxing atmosphere with great views... this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week in the Finger Lakes for our one-year anniversary and wanted a relaxed feeling, so we decided to look for a B&B. We found the Driftwood Inn here on TripAdvisor. It was our first time in the region and we can't wait to go back.

I didn't realize how unique this B&B was in regards to being one of the few that is actually on the water. Tammy and Jim (the owners) are the most wonderful hosts! Tammy gives you a wonderful tour and bakes the most delicious breads. Jim cooks up each breakfast that are just delectable (sometimes their son helps) while the rest of the day he is found on the back porch with the guests cherishing their company and sharing the history of the lake, the property and trivia tidbits. Such a treat! We really felt like we were just one of their friends.

The house is quaint and clean. The amenities are all there. I even appreciated the little kitchenette and large refrigerator that were there for the guests' use. The comfortable bed and towels were welcoming (we stayed in Room 4). The jacuzzi tub was relaxing- perfect after a day of hiking (and wine tasting)...and there's nothing like sipping your coffee in the morning (or your wine at night) on the back deck looking out over the vast lake - watching sunrises and sunsets. The lake is clean and they have noodles, boogie boards, life jackets, kayaks, a rowboat, etc. to use for your pleasure. I highly recommend water shoes (the round rocks in the water can still hurt).

Its location is convenient- within walking distance of a couple of wineries and a restaurant and within a short drive to many more. Bigger towns/cities are all within 30-45 minutes' drive.

We highly recommend this place. We can't wait to go back ourselves! Thank you to Tammy and Jim!

Room Tip: Each room is unique (although each has A/C) thankfully. I suggest reading each description carefull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destrehan, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Driftwood Inn and cottages were the best place for a family reunion! We were able to relax and catch up with family while enjoying fantastic views of Cayuga Lake. The breakfasts made by the wonderful owners, Tammy and Jim, were delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granoffour985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Coffee on the huge deck overlooking Cayuga lake at 8, a luscious hardy breakfast, kayaking around Sheldrake Point, a quiet walk along Wyers Pt. road, a swim in the cool clear water, lunch at one of the many nearby winerys, a relaxing read on the deck and / or a swim in mid afternoon, dinner at one of Tammy's recommended restaurants, dessert at the Finger Lakes Dairy (better than Ben & Jerry's), watch the sunset from the deck with a glass of wine, retire to a sparkling clean room...What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 4 are corner rooms that have a 20 mile view up Cayuga Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
19.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
179 reviews
21.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
290 reviews
8.6 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7401 Wyers Point Rd, Finger Lakes Region, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is located directly on the shore of Cayuga lake, in the heart of the Finger lakes region. The main house which has 6 guest rooms all with private bathrooms is a perfect choice for a romantic get away! Also on the property are 4 family cottages ranging in size and price, these are all rented by the week only. We offer 260 feet of water frontage and a dock that extends 140 feet. With your stay we offer a paddle boat, kayaks, and a row boat for your use. We are also within easy driving distance to area wineries and state parks. Ithaca is just a short 20 minute drive from our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn b&b
Driftwood Hotel Ovid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing