We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband & I stayed in Room 6., under the eaves on the top floor. if you can climb the stairs, you will enjoy the view from the top. It has its own small bathroom carved out under the eaves, If you are over 6 ft , you might have an issue, but we are not & it was lovely for us. Very nice hosts & great breakfast, Wi-fi worked great. We only stayed one night while working our way around the wine country, but other guests told us they took the kayaks out & enjoyed it. Really nice porch & lots of views. Comfortable bed. I did think the towels could be upgraded. They were not the plushy ones you expect when paying $140/night. Decor was an odd mix of antiques & bric-a-brac, but everything was very clean & slept great !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
114
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We had honeymooned on Lake Seneca and wanted to try another lake. Overall Lake Seneca has more lakefront property, so the choices on Cayuga are limited. The Driftwood is a prime location for what we wanted: 1. Lake Front property for easy swimming and nice views & 2. Central Location to Wineries.
The breakfast was great both mornings (1 day savory, 1 day sweet) and the innkeepers/owners were very kind and we were happy to give them our business.
As for the actual accommodations, I agree with all of the other reviews. The towels could be replaced, the decor could use some work, but everything is clean, functions and the bed was comfortable.
We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 with the double jacuzzi and king bed. Room 3 looks very small, just big enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stcPLUSbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

House was dated, nice. Had a jacuzzi room and the jacuzzi actually fit 2 people comfortably. Wonderful breakfast, nice owners.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misbg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and fell in love with the location of this b&b. We have been to many others and always used them as a place to sleep and venture away from during the day. Driftwood made us feel like there was really no need to go anywhere else. Extremely relaxing and had a wonderful large porch to sit and watch the day slip away. The house is charmingly old and has a great welcoming feel. The breakfasts were always delicious with very nice presentation. Hosts are very nice and accommodating! We stayed in Room #5 with a huge relaxing hot tub to end the evening with a great bottle of local wine! Would love to go back and recommend Driftwood to anyone who just longs for a beautiful, serene view of Cayuga Lake and friendly people!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wags0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The rooms are clean, but dated... the entire house is extremly dated and needs TLC. The hand towels in my room looked like rags I use for cleaning.Some flowers in the pots would be nice rather than last years dead annuals.

If you are looking to stay on the lake and other accomidations are booked this is the place for you. The costs are comparable or higher than others in the area

Breakfast is what is brought out, a single entree ... no seconds or options offered.

The water view from the porch and yard is awesome but no balconies.

Simply Red is fabulous and if they are cooking dinner on Monday night (I think the only night, but not all season call) it should not be missed... the food, the beverages..including spirits, and live music are fabulous and within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnerCircle_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Driftwood Inn is my favorite B & B yet! Prime location lakefront on Cayuga Lake. 6 spotless rooms. We stayed in room 6, the only room on the 3rd floor. Very private, large room, simply but tastefully appointed. The bathroom was quite small, but shower pressure was great, and plenty of hot water!

Th einnkeepers, Tammy and Jim, were freindly and welcoming, but very unintrusive. Breafast was delicious as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmf410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We rented the two bedroom cottage which is detached from the Bed and Breakfast.

Tammy and Jim are very friendly and laid back, just what you would expect from a B&B owner. Rates are very affordable and downright for what you get.

In our case, our two bedroom abode was on the waterfront at Seneca Lake. The beach is stone, so don't expect sand. The water is rocky as well and weedy once you get out more than 20 yards from shore so bring your water sandals and prepare to swim.

A winery that serves lunch is literally a five minute walk away, and there are a couple of decent restaurants three miles south of the B&B.

You could hear the waves lapping against the shore. You also have free use of the B&B amenities, which include books, wireless internet access, their large stock of patio furniture, their kayaks (2), paddleboat (1), and canoe, (lifejackets too of course), as well as croquet (set it up yourself). You can fish off the dock and you can dock your motorboat there (no boat launch).

As for the cottage itself, it was serviceable. The two bedroom, two level unit is as described in their pictures. The larger bedroom has a double bed and two twins which would accomodate 4 children, while the smaller bedroom (for the adults) has a double bed. Bedding and towels are included. Bedding is comfortable. The kitchen was modern with all of the cooking utensils, pots, pans, glasses, and dishware all included and well-stocked. There is a large refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker and gas range. There is no A/C but there are ceiling fans and a room fan throughout to keep you as cool as possible (plus the water). There is a large sectional couch and small TV in the living room which works well. The B&B I believe does have air conditioning.

Outside is a picnic table and BBQ (coals and lighter fluid required) which we used alot.

Overall, this place is of excellent value. What would make it better?

- a slightly larger TV set with a DVD player as the TV is very small for the room. Then again, a TV should not be the focus of a summer stay (unless you get caught in a small hurricane like we did).
- up to date towels. Towels are small and quite useless if you take frequent showers.
- clean up mildew in the bathroom upstairs.
- coffee table in the living room. It could use the tablespace.
- new glasses, plates, dishes, and cookware (glasses and some cookware was quite old).
- curtain/blinds in the kitchen (for privacy).

All in all though, this place had excellent value and we thoroughly enjoy this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TB_JB_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
19.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
177 reviews
21.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
8.6 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7401 Wyers Point Rd, Finger Lakes Region, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is located directly on the shore of Cayuga lake, in the heart of the Finger lakes region. The main house which has 6 guest rooms all with private bathrooms is a perfect choice for a romantic get away! Also on the property are 4 family cottages ranging in size and price, these are all rented by the week only. We offer 260 feet of water frontage and a dock that extends 140 feet. With your stay we offer a paddle boat, kayaks, and a row boat for your use. We are also within easy driving distance to area wineries and state parks. Ithaca is just a short 20 minute drive from our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn b&b
Driftwood Hotel Ovid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing