We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Strand at Sheldrake
Ranked #2 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I visited in May of 2013, and it was the perfect getaway. We stayed for three nights, and the hosts (Maura and Skip) were extremely accommodating. They provided great local tips, delicious breakfasts, and the fridge was always fully stocked with libations! As parents of a 2-year-old, this was our first real vacation by ourselves. As such, we wanted something that was close enough to our NJ home (it was 4-5 hours), but far enough to serve as an escape. We stayed in Room #2, which I would highly recommend. Its balcony/veranda overlooks Cayuga Lake, and my favorite moments at Silver Strand were spent drinking coffee/wine on the veranda at sunset. 2nd favorite was doing the same on their private (and huge!) dock. It's a great location, too...just a couple miles from a number of wineries, and right down the street from another. Silver Strand at Sheldrake comes highly recommended by us, and thank you Maura & Skip for a great experience!

Room Tip: Room #2 has a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

So happy we found this great, relaxing B&B to get away for a few days. Maura is the perfect hostess and couldn't have asked for better breakfasts and the view is great. A great way to start any day. Having the toys right there was another plus. We also enjoyed not having a tv in our room. We would definitely recommend the Silver Strand to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKJJKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After last year's visit to celebrate an anniversary, we decided to bring my brother/wife and parents back w/ us this year- My mother hates to travel and is physically limited- She raved about the stay! The first floor handicapped accessible room was perfect, especially the porch w/ awesome lake view right out her door- We stayed in room 2 again, and my brother/wife in room 3, all w/ lakeview balconies- Maura and Skip are excellent hosts and the breakfasts are excellent as well- Took the kayaks out, napped on the dock, and drank wine on the porch- Highly recommend for relaxation!

Room Tip: While not facing the lake, room #4 also has a balcony that I think has a lake view and is lower in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent five nights there in mid July and it was a remarkably relaxing and refreshing vacation. The location is perfect with views of Cayuga Lake from our private deck and the dock. Maura was the perfect hostess and the breakfasts were wonderful. It was nice to start the day with a filling breakfast. The winery boat tour was most convenient.
We plan to go back again next year..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

So happy we found this wonderful B&B. We booked the only three nights they had for a quick getaway from the Philadelphia heat and humidity. Wanted to be on water could not ask for more. This is not your flat screen tv in every room kind of place but if you are looking for some old world charm then this is it. Maura is an awesome host, full of advice and knowledge and happy to help. She also makes the most delicious breakfast. Sitting on the dock, using the kayaks on the beach or the bikes by the garage there is lots to do here. Hiking and winery tours, small town America is all around and the people everywhere are so friendly. So bring a book, sit back, relax and enjoy yourself

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nickvandekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Silver Strand in Ovid NY after being referred there by a friend. Since it was my husband's 50th birthday, I wanted to do something special for him. My husband likes to fish and boat and doesn't like to be around a whole lot of people. He is a quiet guy who enjoys solitude and the outdoors. This place was perfect for that. This beautiful historical house is steps away from Cayuga lake. It has awesome views of the lake from its many balconies and wraparound porch. There is always a pleasant breeze coming off the lake. Included in our stay was unlimited use of their kayaks, rowboat, and bicycles which we really enjoyed. Mara and Skip were very good hosts, available but not intruding which we really appreciated. We also appreciated that they remembered we were coffee drinkers and would have coffee ready for us when we came back from dinner. We stayed in room #2 which had a lovely balcony to sit on to drink our coffee and/or wine. It also had a jacuzzi which was very relaxing. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who enjoys being on the lake and looking for rest and relaxation up at the Finger Lakes after touring the wineries/breweries.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which used to be the master bedroom of the house. It has a balcony and jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjanie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Always reading before we book any travel arrangements, the TripAdvisor for this B&B was spot on. Maura and Skip are lovely hosts. You will feel welcome in their house. You will have a relaxing comfortable room with a view of the beautiful Lake. You will have awesome varied breakfasts. You will meet interesting new people. You will not regret booking with this B&B.

Room Tip: Utilized the stocked fridge for drinks, they are priced very reasonably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babymakes387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
10 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
126 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
305 reviews
8.5 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Strand at Sheldrake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Strand at Sheldrake

Address: 7398 Wyers Point Rd, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing