We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Strand at Sheldrake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Strand at Sheldrake
Ranked #2 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Serenity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our room had a private balcony which we greatly enjoyed while having coffee, reading or simply watching sunsets over the water after spending time on the Lake, or visiting the local attractions. Maura and Skip were delightful hosts. Having coffee delivered to our room at the time of our choosing was definately a plus! Delicious, casual breakfasts were enjoyed on the covered porch while chatting with other guests and enjoying a view of the Lake. Delightful! Convenient to many attractions. The dock and sun deck were well maintained and had plenty of chairs and chaises for sunning.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room facing the Northwest so you can enjoy a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzikarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Silver strand Memorial day weekend. What a great location for pivoting around the many wineries dotting the Finger Lakes. The view from our room was so peaceful and serene. Maura's breakfasts should be up on the Food network. So Delicious! Take a quick drive to the Montezuma refuge. If you want to enjoy some natures best wildlife. We watched one of the newborn eagle take his/hers 1st flight. Magnificent! Such a lovely home with a wrap around porch to relax after some winery tastings. If you enjoy white wine the Finger Lakes has some really good varieties.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heartirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Strand for 3 nights as part of our 3 week trip to the US. We were visiting the Finger Lakes for a friend's wedding and couldn't have found a better place to stay. As like many of the other reviews on here, we had a great time and felt we were part of the family. Maura was a great host, very accommodating and very helpful. The B&B was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. The location is great, with a beautiful view over the lake. If we ever get to visit this area again, we'll be sure to stay at the Silver Strand...

...And yes, the breakfasts were yummy!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6. Awesome sun terrace with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astech101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently returned from an amazing Memorial Day Weekend trip to the Finger Lakes. Initially, we weren't sure about staying in a B&B, but were pleasantly surprised by the service and genuine hospitality of Maura and Skip. We would definitely stay there again.

In a nutshell, this is what you should know about Silver Strand:

1. Maura and Skip will treat you like family and will go out of their way to help you. Maura offered to drive us to the meeting location of our wine tour. And Skip took us on a boat ride along the lake. But, by the time you read this it may no longer be free. He's starting the first ever winery cruise business- Water to Wine Tours. It sounds like it will be a lot of fun, so in case you want to learn more check out http://www.winolimo.com/
2. Maura's breakfasts. 8:00-9:30 AM. Don't miss it. Ever.
3. The lake-front views (we were in Room #6) are breathtaking.
4. Silver Strand is right in the middle of the Cayuga Wine Trail and a short driving distance to the Seneca Wine Trail. Unbeatable location.
5. Maura will deliver coffee to your room in the morning.
6. Maura and Skip have been running the B&B for 20 years now. They know everyone in the community and will gladly use their connections to help you out.
7. Did I mention how good Maura's breakfasts are?

p.s. - We got the inside scoop on some of the negative reviews. Regarding the cat incident, apparently the guest let the stray cat in the house... Plus, Maura is allergic. So who would want that in their home? With regard to the smell someone else mentioned, they had laid special composting mulch at that time : (

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocks1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have been coming for years, but this time was for Cornell graduation. Was a wonderful respite from the bustle of campus with quiet afternoons on the front porch and wonderful breakfast to fortify before braving the crowds, parking and stadium. Of course evenings with a glass of wine over the lake was a great way to celebrate a graduate and end of tuition!

Skip and Maura are wonderful, unpretentious hosts that make it so very hard to leave.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful, with decks that have views of the lake, furnished with antiques and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for thirteen years and have never been disappointed. The view of Cayuga Lake from the balcony of our room is truly amazing. After dinner we sit and watch the dimming of the day over the lake; always beautiful! Maura and Skip are just the greatest hosts, and the breakfasts that Maura cooks up are incredible. If you are visiting the Finger Lakes region this is a must stay place.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a B&B that couples charming rooms with a magnificent view of Cayuga Lake, right in the heart of the Finger Lakes. The Silver Strand dates back to the 1800's and its rich history, makes the stay that much more enjoyable. Maura and Skip go that extra measure to insure your trip meets your expectations. You will be very pleased you chose the Silver Strand. And as a bonus, they offer very unique cruises on their launch the Isle of Skye. Cruises include Winery Tours and trips to area restaurants for dinner or Sunday bruch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickedmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
17.6 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
21.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 4 in Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
10.7 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
19.9 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Strand at Sheldrake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Strand at Sheldrake

Property: Silver Strand at Sheldrake
Address: 7398 Wyers Point Rd, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing