We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Cayuga Lake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Strand at Sheldrake
Ranked #2 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
“Best view of Cayuga Lake”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and decided to try the Silver Strand. We were not dissapointed. Maura was warm and welcoming and the house is very charming. We stayed in Room 3 and we loved how "kitchy" it was. You can't miss the big pink flamingo. We had a lovely balcony with a spectacular view of the lake. Breakfast was creative and delicious. We have stayed at many places around the lakes over the years and I can honestly say that The Silver Strand is the best B&B we have found. The owners are attentive but not intrusive and we felt comfortable downstairs as well as in our room. I would recommend discovering this well kept secret for yourself. I don't think you would be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the largest room at the B&B. The other rooms are much smaller but still have great vie...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
87
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We are not the kind who usually like the B&B experience, but Silver Strand is an exception. We enjoyed a wonderful 2-day stay in October. Exceedingly comfortable, incredible breakfast, great tourist advice from Maura. Just an incredible experience overall.

Room Tip: We supposedly had the worst (cheapest) room -- #4 I think -- but it was absolutely charming. Sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeriNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a lovely 3-day stay at the Silver Strand. The location is a bit out-of-the-way, in a very quiet area. The views down the lake were spectacular, and reason enough to go there. The rooms were nicely decorated, but a bit small (and watch out for the step going into the bathroom in room #6!).

The breakfasts were outstanding: they offer an egg dish (quiche, soufflé, omelette) along with fresh fruit, granola, bagels, muffins, yoghurt and a 'dessert' such as lemon poppy seed cake. Everything was very fresh and expertly prepared. I should also note that the Simply Red Bistro at the Sheldrake Point Winery (~200 yards away) is excellent, but they are only open a few days a week and they are always booked, so reservations are a must.

They have a boat dock with a few kayaks and a paddleboat which are free to use, and they have bikes available to borrow as well.

I cannot say enough for the owners, Skip and Marua. They were very responsive (via email) before arrival, and quite pleasant and friendly when we were there.

I like to try different places whenever I travel, but the Finger Lakes will be an exception. I can think of no reason why I would stay anywhere other that the Silver Strand.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We loved the location; lovely veiw from our bedroom.- nice walk to the winery and to the dock on the lake. Perhaps the basics were a bit tired (towels and bed linens) but the innkeeper is charming; fun and she is a wiz in the kitchen. It might have been one of the best breakfast experience at a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, NY
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and I were treated to two nights in Room 2 for a wedding gift...9 years ago. After a few years of other trips and starting our family, we were able to get away for a couple of nights and use our gift certificate that I was sure would have expired long before.

It was our first B&B experience and we were very pleased. Having nothing to compare it to, this is a little "blind," but we felt welcomed right from our entrance. We were shown our room, which was a quaint little slice of heaven overlooking Cayuga Lake. The room had a jacuzzi bath that was called a "2 person." I'm 6'7", so 2 person would have been a stretch for us.

in addition to the immaculate facilities, gorgeous view, the breakfast made it even better. Both breakfasts had a fresh bagel assortment, yogurt, granola and fresh, fresh, fresh fruit, coffee, oj and water. The first morning we had a Goat Cheese Egg Souffle that was about muffin size that was delicious. There was also a lemon-poppy seed cake that was moist and very good. The second morning there were cherry turnovers that appeared homemade. I'm not a fan of warm cherry things, but couldn't resist that! Additionally, there was Huevos Rancheros that was out of this world!

We had a terrific thunderstorm and enjoyed watching the lightning dance over the lake - it was pretty impressive!

The dock is very nice - serene with the best view imaginable...I wish we had just sat there a little more!

The only negative that I can really say is that the water in the room sinks is very "Sulfur fragrant." It was almost to the point that my over-sensitive nose couldn't drink it. I might suggest to Maura and Skip that they put 3-4 bottles of water in the room, but it wouldn't keep me away from the place!

There are some terrific Wineries in the area, a few parks. We enjoyed driving around quite a bit - went around Cayuga Lake, stopped at the very expensive MacKenzie Childs farm, drove up Seneca Lake had a great meal at the Ithaca Ale House (Ithaca) and exquisite meal at Dano's on Seneca Lake. While we weren't looking for anything in particular while we were out and about, we were amazed that there is very little opportunity for groceries, etc.

If you're looking for a nice get away, go to Silver Strand. Don't think twice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Stokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We've made the Silver Strand a special anniversary experience...Moira and Skip aim to please and the accomodations are wonderful! Moira's breakfasts are not to be missed - she uses fresh fruits & herbs and prepares a delightful feast which can be enjoyed on the beautiful porch with the lake view. The location is perfect for getting to Ithaca and the waterfalls nearby or for taking full advantage of the wonderful lake activities right at the Silver Strand!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice, clean room. Not huge by any stretch but it was still good value. Friendly hosts, great breakfast. Awesome views of Cayuga Lake from both the room and the porches/piers. Coffee (both regular and decaf canisters) delivered to our room in the morning.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtracy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovid
19.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
8.6 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
21.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
290 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
13.1 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Strand at Sheldrake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Strand at Sheldrake

Property: Silver Strand at Sheldrake
Address: 7398 Wyers Point Rd, Ovid, NY 14521-9567
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing