We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could nit even get served a glass of wine while willing to wait for a table for 15 min we left ate at cay winery great” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thirsty Owl Bistro

The Thirsty Owl Bistro
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Ovid
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could nit even get served a glass of wine while willing to wait for a table for 15 min we left ate at cay winery great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We will not go back until attitudes change
Kitchen was backed up
4 servers standing around
We were told no servers to give us some wine while we were willing up wait for a table

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    25
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stopped here for lunch on a Friday. Only a 15 minute wait during the noon hour which gave us time to do a wine tasting. Sat outside on the deck overlooking the lake. I have no issue waiting for food when it is well prepared. I had a burger which was delicious; my husband had the smoked fish appetizer which was almost entree size. Pleasant wait staff. Perfect vacation lunch spot

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovid
1 review
“Wendy's has less wait time and better burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

To wait for more then 30 mins for a lunch is sad. The server was amazing and apologized many times for the wait. The food was ok nothing worth the wait. I would recommend to pack a lunch and enjoy the wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macchubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We had stopped at Thirsty Owl for our first stop on a wine tour. We had tasted the wine, which we really enjoyed and browsed the gift shop. The atmosphere for wine tasting was very nice and they had a helpful waitstaff to help us chose wines to taste. We then decided to eat lunch at the bistro at Thirsty Owl because we saw there were a lot of open tables and enough room to sit 7 of us. When we went to the hostess she said it would take 20 - 25 minutes to seat us. Although we were a bit confused because of all the open tables, we had time so we figured we'd walk around the grounds and take pictures. We came back after 20 minutes and the hostess sat us at one of the tables that was previously open. After sitting down, the waiter was kind enough to let us know that it would still be another 30 minutes + until we would get our food. We decided to leave because waiting almost an hour for lunch seemed crazy. Luckily, there was another winery in walking distance with quick service and delicious food. Overall, the wine tasting and the atmosphere make it a place I would visit again, but I might skip the bistro.

Helpful?
2 Thank klennox511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We wish this had been better...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Thirsty Owl has a wonderful outdoor deck and a stunning view of Cayuga Lake. It's location in the middle of the Cayuga Wine Trail is perfect. We had just visited Toro Run, and had some really tasty tapas, otherwise the 30 minute wait for a table would've seemed like an eternity. Luckily Thirsty Owl is also a winery, so we tasted some of their wines while we waited for our table.
While the service at the bistro was good, my one big complaint is about the food. We ordered the Tarte Flambe flatbread and the Blue Cheese Burger.
I was expecting true Alsatian style Tarte flambée or Flammkuchen. The flavor was ok and the bacon good, BUT the bread was a bit greasy and not the right texture. Also the serving size was about half of what I would expect. This was appetizer size, at best. The burger was also all out of proportion. The burger meat was way more than needed and the bread to meat ratio was completely off. There was way too little bread for the amount of meat. In addition, this burger did not come dressed with any vegetables. The greens which came on the side were wilting from the dressing. I would not eat here again, which is a shame really. They almost have it all - great location, great view, but the food is just not up to par.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Owl Bistro also viewed

 
Aurora, Finger Lakes
Interlaken, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Thirsty Owl Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing