We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

While the Quality Inn is a bit overpriced it is truly on the water and in downtown Oswego, making it a very central location for those wishing to explore the city. The rooms are large and well decorated and the beds/chairs are comfy. All appliances and the TV are in decent condition and the rooms are very clean. It boasts a plentiful breakfast, helpful staff, and a very classy atmosphere. The only downside is that at night when the restaurant is open, parking in the front of the hotel can be tricky.

Room Tip: I'd recommend choosing a room with a river view, since it's only a few bucks more.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathol99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for such a kind and descriptive review!

You'll be pleased to know that our room renovations are still in progress so you will see continued improvements at the property. Since your review we have completed 50% of our transition to LCD tvs with the remaining to be completed within the next 2 months as well as a new channel lineup. We will also be updating all of our guest rooms with new wallpaper, carpets, and bedding as well as completing our new furniture upgrades on our remaining floors.

Although parking can sometimes be a concern we also offer Riverside parking and a new overflow parking lot close to our location. Please check with our reception desk at check-in if our lot appears full.

We hope you return soon so you can see for yourself the improvements and increasing value as well as our dedication to meeting guest expecations.

Thank you again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

After staying at a less than one star hotel in Syracuse the night before, coming to the Quality Inn was quite a pleasant experience. We really weren't sure what to expect but the room was very nice, VERY clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond allowing us travelers to check in early (at 10:30) and check out late. Free breakfast with the make your own waffle station was great. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but I am sure if I had the opportunity to experience a longer stay I would have given 5 stars!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a water view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for the fantastic review!

We hope you return to Oswego just to visit as our community has a lot of hidden treasures. We are trying to organize and make this information available for all of our guests who are not familiar with the area (such as a new historic tour pass).

I'm not sure if you attended one of our Bayshore Grove weddings when you were here but if it's weddings that bring you this way we have also just opened Alexandria's Lakeview weddings so there is an all new wedding venue a block from our hotel!

If not staying long enough was your only complaint then please give me a call for your return visit! Thanks again for your great review we we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here recently while attending a friend's wedding. We had booked a city-view room, but the desk staff gave us a complimentary upgrade to a river-view room on the top floor since we are Choice Privilege members. The room was spacious and clean. However, the bathroom felt very cramped (I think most older hotels were built with very small bathrooms). We never stepped foot into the hotel's restaurant, but were pleased that we didn't hear noise or music wafting up from it.


Breakfast was more than ample - we never left the hotel feeling the least bit hungry - and the location was terrific for our purposes... within walking distance of Fort Ontario Park, a drug store, Subway sandwich shop, and the library.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal Choice Hotels customer.

Our Choice Privilege members are priority upgrades when we have them available so I'm glad that we were able to upgrade your room for you.

I noted your comment on the guest bathrooms. As much as we try to improve our property the physical layout of the existing building makes this a difficult fix. As you mentioned, this is common with a lot of older buildings however we are making the most of our space with improvements such as curved shower rods, windowed shower curtains, new flooring and vanities, and at the beginning of the year we will implement new massage function shower-heads. This is in addition to our guest room updates! Although I can't expand the space we can make it as comfortable as possible so hopefully these additions improve your satisfaction!

As always, we take your reviews seriously so we can improve not only your stay but for future guests as well so again thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend.The room was clean and comfortable as was the rest of hotel. A good view of the river and relatively quiet. Price a little high for this type of accommodation. Staff friendly and helpful.
Great food at G.S. Steamers Bar & Grill with a nice patio overlooking the river.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACEFAN4888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for the review and for choosing us for your travel accomodations.

You'll be pleased to know that if you enjoyed the food in our Lobby Level restaurant it has only gotten better! Our new head chef, new menu, and new food vendor has skyrocketed our customer satisfaction. Make sure you come back and try it all again as I'm sure you will be pleased with the improvements.

Also note that our property is in the middle of making several major improvements. Even though you were pleased with your stay we want to make it even better! Thank you for your feedback and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This used to be known as the Econo Lodge. We stayed here for one night during our June visit to Oswego. Our room was large and had a river view. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly. We wanted to book rooms for next June and found the prices to be a bit too high. One of the nights would actually have been $200. This hotel is not worth that kind of money for a night. Also, they a cancellation policy of 30 days during special events like the Oswego State University reunion and Harbor Fest. If you are going to stay here, I recommend that you book a upper floor corner room with a river view. These rooms seem to be larger and brighter. Overall, this is a nice hotel but there prices have gone up too much, in my opinion.

Room Tip: I would recommend an upper floor corner room with a river view. These rooms seem larger and brighte...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Like all hotels, our prices do vary based on demand and this is especially the case during Special Event weekends which sell out each and every year. Our special event weekends do have booking restrictions so if you ever have a question concerning your reservation or our policies please don't hesitate to call us directly. These weekends usually sell out a year in advance so do book early.

We are fortunate to be able to provide some of the best accomodations in the area so if Special Event or peak weekends seem out of budget we strongly encourage you to call us to look at other non peak dates or room type options so you can fully enjoy your stay.

Thank you for the room recommendation to our future guests! Our riverview rooms are larger than our city-side rooms and the afternoon sunlight does brighten these rooms. We hope the new wallpaper, carpeting, and bedding that we have on order will enhance this feel!

Thank you again for your review! I appreciate your return business with us so please contact me directly for your next stay and I will see what I can do to meet your specific reservation needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am extremely impressed with what they offer here. I'm told it is a former Econolodge that the new owner has been totally renovating.

There is a great restaurant, bar & patio built into the building. The food was excellent. We ate on their patio balcony that looks out from four stories above the Oswego river.

The breakfast, included, was a decent spread and the room for it is spacious, well-appointed, and tastefully carpeted. Well above your typical B-fast room in these mid-range hotels.

Staff was universally friendly and helpful.

There is no pool or fitness room but they do give you a pass for the ones at the Best Western right next door. That said, I'm glad we picked this hotel over the BW.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyager075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Needless to say but we will say it anyway, We LOVE great reviews!

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our continued improvements will only make your next stay more enjoyable.

The Captain's Club Health and Fitness Spa is located next door to us but it's an independent business so we like to offer our guests the option of discount rates for usage rather than include it in room pricing. That way you're not paying for what you're not using. My recommendation for guests is to take a look! With a full fitness facility, indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room, sauna, and more it's a nice way to wake up and start your day or as a relaxing place to spend your down time. Again, it's located just next door and available at discounted rates for Quality Inn guests!

We love your review and hope to continue to meet and exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Well worth the money! We did not want to leave. I think the price is good, could be slightly cheaper but overall we were pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for the review!

You may not want to leave but I can assure you we don't want to see you go. Oswego has a lot more to see than most people know and our hotel amenities are only growing so please let me know when you make your next reservation to stay with us!

Thank you again and come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswego
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
3.4 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#6 of 11 in Oswego
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Oswego
22.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
22.7 mi away
The Red Mill Inn
The Red Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Baldwinsville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront

Address: 70 E 1st St, Oswego, NY 13126-2112 (Formerly Econo Lodge Riverfront)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Oswego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oswego
#3 Family Hotel in Oswego
Price Range: $120 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites® Riverfront is ideally located with several rooms overlooking the historic Oswego Harbor. This Oswego, NY hotel is minutes from the State University of New York at Oswego (SUNY Oswego), Fort Ontario, Lake Ontario, Fair Haven Beach State Park and the Great New York State Fair.The Syracuse Hancock International Airport is 35 miles away. The hotel is within walking distance of several shops, fishing areas, theatres and a marina. Many businesses are also nearby. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Oswego, NY hotel will enjoy the free hot breakfast buffet in the morning. Be sure to stop by G.S. Steamers Bar & Grill, the on-site restaurant. Room service is available.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access and access to copy and fax services. The banquet and meeting rooms accommodate up to 100 people for most events and business functions. Competitive corporate rates are offered.All guest rooms include refrigerators, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. In addition, some rooms come equipped microwaves.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront provides inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Oswego area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Riverfront
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront Hotel Oswego
Econo Lodge Oswego
Oswego Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing