We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Oswego.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Jefferson, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Oswego.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

During the two years that our son attended SUNY Oswego, we have always stayed at this hotel and were never disappointed. We first stayed at the Captain's Quarters in July of 2011 when we went to visit SUNY Oswego, and many times in between, with the last stay being May of 2013. The rooms (actually the entire hotel) is fabulously clean, the bathrooms are sparkling, and they are generous with the towels. The view of the Oswego River can't be beat, and we loved having a balcony in our room overlooking the river. All the rooms are great, but we especially like the newer addition to the hotel. There is a little kitchenette with a sink, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. The extra sink and mirror come in handy with 3 or 4 people getting ready at the same time! The shower is extremely large, with pretty tile and clear shower doors. It's the size of a small room! We love it. The rooms have new, flat screen TVs that are great, and a desk to set up your laptop and other devices on. The cleaning attendants always clean both the room and bathroom to perfection. The staff is always friendly, courteous and helpful, no matter what time of night you arrive! It was nice that the people at the from desk frequently remember your name. The continental breakfast is great, with plenty of choices, and they have the most delicious coffee! The coffee and tea is available 24/7, which is nice. Diana, the continental breakfast attendant, is always bustling around making sure everyone has what they need and that everything is well-stocked. She is so warm and friendly. She always has a smile for everyone, she always remembered us (and other guests as well), and made us feel welcome whenever we stayed there. My son enjoyed using the indoor pool and hot tub. Although we never used the gym, it looks very clean and up-to-date with plenty of machines and TV's to watch while you exercise. The hotel is close to SUNY Oswego (about 3 miles) and conveniently close to many restaurants and stores. My son just graduated and we live on Long Island, so we will miss the Best Western Captain's Quarters. If we ever find ourselves up that way again, we would no doubt stay there, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    98
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
49
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Diana was an extremely friendly and helpful continental breakfast attendant. Her positive attitude and welcoming smile made for a pleasant stay. Although the prices were a bit steep compared to nearby hotels, I'd go again for the quality service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmcmullen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel about 3 weeks ago for a conference that I attended. Unfortunately, a bed bug was discovered in my bed. I am now having issues in my home with bed bugs as I have developed 10+ bites on both of my arms since my stay. My dermatologist confirmed that they are in fact insect bites and based on the fact that I traveled in the beginning of the month, that they could be bed bugs. I had a K-9 unit in my house & room and the dog found evidence of the bugs. A positive side to this was that the management and general manager acted fast by refunding my night's stay, however, the manager said that he exterminator confirmed that it was not a beg bug and that no bugs were found in my room or bed. After I replied back saying that my exterminator said that it was a bed bug by the photo....the manager never emailed me back.

I normally NEVER write bad reviews because I always enjoy my stay. I have worked in the hospitality industry for many years and I understand that sometimes things go wrong but just to be safe....if you choose to stay here...check the bed. It just seemed all to suspicious that after I said it was a bed bug the manager stopped responding.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Elena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thawthorn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Elena,

We hired a Pest Control Company to come in and do a complete analysis of the guest room you stayed in to include use of a flushing agent. Not a single insect was found. I stand by their professional findings.

I did not contact you after your last email because in that email you stated that you had a K-9 unit check your belongings and they did not find anything. At that point I considered the matter closed.

Tracey Hawthorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I traveled to New York recently for our daughter's wedding. We found this hotel to be clean, and the hotel personnel helpful and friendly. Among the personnel was Diana, the continental breakfast attendant. She was extremely pleasant to talk with and provided much information regarding the City of Oswego and nearby establishments. We also observed that she provided the same caring and helpful attitude to all those who were there. This enthusiasm was very much appreciated by my wife and I.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince_L282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this hotel. The view was perfect. I highly enjoyed having a balcony to just sit outside and enjoy the beautiful weather! The front desk attendant Morgan was one of the best people I have delt with in a long time. She went above and beyond for her guest, made everyone feel at home and ALWAYS greeted me with a smile. Who ever trained her good job! I will always come back to this hotel. I couldn't have asked for better service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daid a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great rooms, cleaning staff is very friendly and professional. Front desk staff is courteous and helpful. Continental breakfast is a wonderful spread of options - the best I've ever seen at a hotel. I particularly enjoy the selection of herbal teas. As a non-coffee drinker I rarely get a tea option at hotels, and never anything more than plain or decaf. Thank you for going above and beyond to satisfy your customers - it is noticed and appreciated!

Room Tip: They all have river views - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJones221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel is perfectly located on the river. Room with 2 king beds could have fit 2 more. Big clean bathroom as well as kitchenette with utensils. Very friendly staff throughout. Excellent fitness center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JeffC910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswego
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
3.5 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#5 of 10 in Oswego
72 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Red Mill Inn
The Red Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Baldwinsville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Beacon Hotel Oswego
Beacon Hotel Oswego
#3 of 10 in Oswego
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 26 E 1st St, Oswego, NY 13126 (Formerly Best Western Plus Captain's Quarters)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oswego
#1 Family Hotel in Oswego
#2 Business Hotel in Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This riverfront Oswego, New York hotel offers breathtaking views of Oswego Harbor and Lake Ontario located less than one mile from Sunny Oswego. Nestled along the Oswego River at the estuary into Lake Ontario, the Best Western Captain's Quarters features picturesque views of the Oswego River and a friendly service-oriented staff. Guests staying at this riverfront hotel will be close to a variety of recreational activities including charter fishing and ice hockey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Captain`s Quarters Hotel Oswego
Best Western Oswego
Oswego Best Western
Best Western Hotel Oswego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing