We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets in good ole Oswego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Beach, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in good ole Oswego”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Visiting the SUNY campus for business last week-- was a little nervous about my night at the Captains Quarters. As budget hotels go, it was fine. It was clean and convenient and got the job done. The staff were friendly and all rooms face the river. With that said-- if you're looking for bucolic/quaint river view you will not find it in this industrial shell of an upstate town.

If you're on campus-- sunsets at Rudy's are great! If you're in the mood for great old-school Italian food- dinner at Canales can't be missed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serendipitynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    99
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
142
51
11
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were attending a conference with our daughter at the university and found ourselves staying off campus at this truly beautiful hotel located on the river--a jewel of a place to stay. There was such a peaceful way about the hotel and the staff and manager incredible people caring about what they do and everyone's quality visit. The pool and hot tub/workout facility was beyong remarkable. If you are looking for a place to stay that will be relaxing, beautiful and just a special place for a very reasonable price, this is the place. It is clean, easy to find, well maintained, comfortable, --alll the things you want in a perfect stay away from home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, NY
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed here for Oswego State orientation. I was not doing the DORM thing. I had 2 double beds in the room. Room was a standard hotel room with granite in the bathroom. I always wipe (Clorox wipes) down things in the room that I know the staff probably does not: remote control , phone, light switches and doorknobs. I found the back splash top had not been cleaned in a long time. The beds were clean and comfortable. The was a dorm fridge with 2 complementary waters in it. There was a small balcony overlooking the river. The lobby glass doors were filthy. Which just gave me a yucky overall feel every time I left or entered the hotel. I did use the gym which is also a paid gym for residents of Oswego. There were 2 regulars there that used many of machines and did not wipe any of them down. GROSS. I did bring this to the girl at the desks attention. She said that they never do and she will go in when they leave. I found that unacceptable. They also said that if I used the gym after noon on Friday that there would be a charge. This is also unacceptable since this is mentioned no where in hotel book or web site. The continental breakfast was minimal. The half and half was warm. I do not think I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We ended up in Oswego and BW hotel purely by chance. Were tired of driving and just pulled in there. A lucky decision. The hotel was very good, an attractive, modern, high rise brick building sited alongside the riverbank with free car parking immediately in front and at the back. We asked for a room on a higher floor for the river view and were delighted with our fourth floor room which had a balcony running the width of the room which was a great sun trap notwithstanding the fantastic view of the river and the lake converging right in front of the hotel. It was unseasonally cold during our visit, but even so we thoroughly enjoyed the balcony and made the most of it. Wonderful spot for photography and to just sit with drinks and enjoy the activities on opposite river bank and traffic on the river and people fishing. All highly entertaining and relaxing. The hotel room and bathroom were very attractively furnished and spacious. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfast featured a wide choice of food and had a helpful attendant. We had dinner at the Restaurant of the hotel next door which BW staff recommended and which we had seen from our balcony. It had a wonderful terrace dining room on an upper level overlooking the river. As it was Saturday night then it was extremely busy but obliging Wait-Staff found us a corner table out on the Terrace. The view was lovely and the menu, meals, and pricing were excellent. A very enjoyable dining experience. It was a huge facility and had indoor dining rooms also.
Oswego proved to be an unexpectedly interesting old town. It has a series of locks along the river and these were very interesting to walk along and investigate. The town itself had some interesting old buildings and areas and was quite large.

Room Tip: A higher floor room with balcony for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Probably the best you're gonna get in Oz. Stayed two nights. Lobby is very dated, but the rooms are far better. Health club was top notch. Location is excellent and my view from 4th floor balcony was cool; looking out on a VERY swift Oswego River and just across from Old City Hall. Press Box across the street and a block off Bridge. Very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Best hotel in the Oswego and most overpriced one too. Hotel is OK, but the internet service is horrible. Very Very good fitness center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank flyby6563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We came to New York from Indiana so we could visit old friends. We wanted to stay at a place witha pool. This hotel was nice to stay in for my family. The only thing I didn't like was when my husband asked the gentlemen at the front desk how much for a room for our family ( which was 3 teenage daughters ) myself and my husband. The front desk said he only had a room with two beds in them and it was going to cost $ 171.00. We didn't want to pay that much but we did. My friends that we were visiting wanted to be close to us so her family rented a room as well. She had 6 people in her family and they gave her a better room with a pull out couch and a hot tub for only 15 more dollars. We found out and went and spoke to someone and they said they didn't know we only had 5 people and they said they could give us another room that was the best in the hotel for $140.00 more.This room would have a king size bed and a pull out couch, which is what we needed . We told them that we didn't think it was fair and they said how about $70.00 more. We had a nice room but it cost us $ 241.00. My friend got her room for $181.00 . Just wasn't treated right, I guess it was because we were from out of state.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswego
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
3.5 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#5 of 10 in Oswego
72 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Red Mill Inn
The Red Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Baldwinsville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Beacon Hotel Oswego
Beacon Hotel Oswego
#3 of 10 in Oswego
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 26 E 1st St, Oswego, NY 13126 (Formerly Best Western Plus Captain's Quarters)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oswego
#1 Family Hotel in Oswego
#2 Business Hotel in Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This riverfront Oswego, New York hotel offers breathtaking views of Oswego Harbor and Lake Ontario located less than one mile from Sunny Oswego. Nestled along the Oswego River at the estuary into Lake Ontario, the Best Western Captain's Quarters features picturesque views of the Oswego River and a friendly service-oriented staff. Guests staying at this riverfront hotel will be close to a variety of recreational activities including charter fishing and ice hockey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Captain`s Quarters Hotel Oswego
Best Western Oswego
Oswego Best Western
Best Western Hotel Oswego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing