We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wonderful, you'll want to JOIN their museum!”

H. Lee White Marine Museum
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Oswego
Attraction details
Oswego, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So wonderful, you'll want to JOIN their museum!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

After many, many years, I had to join the museum. IF you remember that this was nothing but a warehouse type building prior to the founder's interest in creating a museum dedicated to the maritime history of Oswego, you will be impressed. As a member, I get to go as often as I want in a year, and I DO! I also get a discount at the shoppe. But mostly, I get to take advantage of a lot of the wonderful activities such as the Canal Days weekend lectures. I get to visit the tall ships when they stop over in Oswego for a couple of days. And so many, many more things besides jus the displays.

For visitors who stop just for the displays, maybe a bit underwhelming when COMPARING to large city museums (with a lot more money). But considering how short a time this museum has been active, it has developed into one of the best small museums in the state! Maybe even the nation. And why you will want to go more than once a year!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Booklady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not bother”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

There is no underground railroad exhibit, very small and overpriced. The tour guide was not knowledgeful about the tugboat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“maritine museum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not only fun for the family, but very rich in maritine history for the great lakes.
They have an original tug on display from D-Day

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelsegretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Interesting but over-priced”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are interested in the marine history of this area this museum has much to offer but for the short time we were there we felt the entrance fee was high. The exhibits inside are well done but the highlight for us was the tour of the LT-5 and learning that it had a part in the D-Day invasion. Interesting and awesome to stand on a vessel from such an historic event.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringTwoTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You MUST see the LT-5 D-Day veteran US Army tug”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A veteran of D-Day, the LT-5 is a large army tug that was there for the invasion. Left England on June 6 with the invasion fleet. It has a kill insignia on the stack (swastika and downward pointing plane) indicating that the boat's gunners got a German fighter plane. IT HAS THE ORIGINAL CAPTAIN'S LOG!!! How awesome is that??? Entry on June 9, 1944, has this: "under attack, everyone shooting." It's like you're there. The reverence of the feeling is indescribable. Don't miss it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidney123Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H. Lee White Marine Museum also viewed

 

Been to H. Lee White Marine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing