We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An icon in Oswego”
Review of Rudy's

Rudy's
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
332 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“An icon in Oswego”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had lunch with friends the other day and it was a perfect day to eat outside. Rudy's is famous for their Texas hot's, fried fish sandwiches and more. I had the grilled chicken sandwich and it was very moist and tender. My husband had the fried haddock bites with fries and he thoroughly enjoyed them. Rudy's is right on Lake Ontario and the scenery is breathtaking. We always enjoy going here when we are in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    95
    25
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun local tradition”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rudy's was recommended to me by a friend who grew up in Oswego.
After visiting for lunch, can see why this is a local tradition. This place must be rocking in the summer in the evening , particularly with the kids.
Food was pretty good for what it is, basically fried food , Much much better than fast food.
well worth a trip

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skinisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
2 reviews
“too expensive”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went there because everyone raved about it. What a mistake ...it was crowded and hot .no direction how to place your order.. Everyone behind the counter running around yelling orders to the cooks. Very costly for the amount of food you received. The fish was overcooked the fries were cold. You had no choice but to sit outside with the seagulls all around you ... Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curlytwin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The best, freshest deep fried scallops I've ever had. The only negative would be....pre packaged tartar sauce.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thefullrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We always love to go to the stands”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a favorite spot to eat seasonally, since it is located right on the shore of Lake Ontario. We have been going there since the 60s when we were in college. Now we only get there every couple of years or so.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's also viewed

 
Oswego, Finger Lakes
Oswego, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rudy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing