We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class ribs!”
Review of Jimmie James BBQ - CLOSED

Jimmie James BBQ
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery
Description: We are family-operated BBQ Restaurant. We also have great pizza, wings, burgers, subs, seafood, and more. You can eat in, take-out, or we will deliver. We also offer pick-up and drop-off catering. We also have a private party room for special occasions.
Reviewed November 4, 2014

This place is a little off the beaten path, it is not very fancy inside, but the food is fabulous. My husband gave a rating of "world class ribs" since he is the rib eater, they literally fell off the bone. They serve them without bbq sauce, but it is on your table to add to your own discretion. The bbq chicken was great, and the cole slaw was as good as mine (which my husband said he has never heard me say). The portion sizes are very large, so you should plan on taking food home, I have never seen a full rack of ribs so large, and your entree comes with honey cornbread, beans, salt potatoes and an extra side of either potato, macaroni or slaw. Check it out, and they also deliver to the Oswego area, even though they are several miles outside of the city limits.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cathy14326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roji65, Owner at Jimmie James BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2014

We used a Groupon coupon($20 for $10) to try out Jimmie James's. We ordered the seafood sampler which was shrimp (large size-not popcorn), two pieces of cod and clams. The coating was light and crispy (beer battered)-excellent flavor and generous portion. French fries and cabbage salad also came with the order for $10. We will definitely be back! Great food at a reasonable price!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nancy48345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roji65, Owner at Jimmie James BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Sorry for the delay in this response. Thank you for the review!!!!!! People are often surprised to find seafood, burgers, subs, pizza & wings on our menu. We try and have something for everyone's taste. Glad we were able to treat yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The place looks like and old gas station dingy and dirty. They were out of pulled pork and the ribs I got were over done and dry.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roji65, Owner at Jimmie James BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

First, we would like to apologize for the delay in this response. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a great experience at Jimmie James BBQ. We are a small family-run business and yes we are located in an old gas station, but we do the best we can with what we have. There are times, since the bbq takes 3-4 hours to cook when we run out of our BBQ items, so sorry we ran out of pulled pork. There is no excuse, however, for you being served dried out ribs. We know it has been a long time since you left this review, but if you were willing to share your email with us at jimmiejamesbbq@yahoo.com, we would love to send you a certificate to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I had the pulled pork dinner. Really good and a great price! The owner was working the floor and promoting his delivery service. Great wishes on continued success. The place was busy for lunch and you can see why!

3  Thank 440jeffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roji65, Owner at Jimmie James BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Sorry for the delay in the response to your review. Thank you for taking the time to write one!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmie James BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing