We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Hotel Oswego
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Beacon is truly a hidden treasure. Julie and her staff do everything possible to ensure every guest is accommodated and has everything they need. The Beacon is, by far, the best hotel in the area. While it is not a franchise "looking", or cookie cutter, please know that it is refurbished, well appointed, extremely clean and adorable. The complimentary breakfast may not look like much, but in actuality - it is delicious and prepared by local bakers. My family and I stayed here twice and it gets better and better!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
43
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitesboro, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very clean, well appointed hotel; friendly and very attentive staff. Julie and her team are extremely committed with attention to detail. Our overnight stay was very quiet and relaxing; though many guests the night we stayed, it seemed as if we were the only ones there. I read the reviews about creaky beds and noise - not an issue for our stay - it was wonderfully peaceful! Excellent overnight experience, exceptional value - such a refreshing change from the standard chain experience - we will absolutely find our way back to the Beacon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Beacon Hotel is our home away from home when we visit with family in Oswego. Julie and the team make sure their guests have everything that they need. The hotel is in a great location, is extremely clean and well-appointed for their guests. We especially enjoy the continental breakfast - a nice selection of juices and pastries, and includes some healthier options of fruit, oatmeal and trail bars. We always look forward to our stays there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Hotel was very nice and clean. It was a welcome break from the chain hotels I usually stay at. It felt a little more personal and the staff was very friendly. There is a continental breakfast, not much there. It is a small town with other breakfast and dining options close by. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family for Thanksgiving. Hotel and room was nicely appointed and clean. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Two concerns: no elevator to upstairs (where I believe all the rooms with two beds are located) and the bed in my room was short (I am 6' and my feet hung off the bed). Otherwise, it is a nice addition to an area sorely lacking nice hotels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DRebeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. A nice remodel and repurpose of this building. The noise really carries here-Quiet intimacy is probably the best at the Beacon Hotel, the noise travels quite well throughout the hotel.

Quaint, small rooms that are nicely furnished except the bedding. I've not slept on a mattress this bad since church camp. The only thing worse was the box springs. This was the noisiest and most uncomfortable bedding set we have ever experienced. Each negative review here mentions the bad bedding. Hopefully the owners read these reviews upgrade the mattress and box springs soon. Real soon. I won't be back if they don't.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Crutchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconOswego, Manager at Beacon Hotel Oswego, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. The Beacon Hotel Oswego NY, has now been open for 2 1/2 years. The opinion of our guests is of utmost importance to us. After reading these reviews, We have investigated the situation and realized that there was a recall on our box springs. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and new ones are on the way. We do hope that you will give the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY another chance for a peaceful nights rest.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I were excited to stay here due to its great location right on main
street, but ended up with a terrible night's sleep due to all the noise so not sure
we'll return. It is an old building with hardwood floors throughout the upstairs -
beautiful to look at but extremely squeaky as drunken guests wander in at all hours
to laugh and carry on in the hallways. There is supposed to be a nightwatchman to
keep track of the evenings, but he was asleep in the corner of the lounge when I
went down to complain after 2am, and seemingly unaware of the herd of giggling buffalo
that had been in and out for the past 3 hours and knocking on each other's doors.
The door on our small room (#11, Q w/fireplace) didn't go all the way to the floor so
you could also see light from the hallway but that undoubtedly contributed to the
noise problem too. Wish I could say I was more impressed but they need better
attention to service for such a tiny place (quiet hours?), more respectful patrons
and maybe carpeted hallways or something.

Room Tip: Maybe something downstairs next to the owner's suite would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebrbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconOswego, Manager at Beacon Hotel Oswego, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your suggestions have been put to work.
We do have quiet hours from 9:30 pm- 10:00 am. We are a boutique hotel, which is a very intimate setting.
We do apologize for the night watchmen on duty. It is his job to maintain the quiet hours for everyone staying with us at the Beacon Hotel Oswego, NY.
We do, and will continue to strive to ensure all our guests are happy with a comfortable quiet stay.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswego
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
3.9 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#5 of 10 in Oswego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The Red Mill Inn
The Red Mill Inn
#1 of 2 in Baldwinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
22.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel Oswego

Property: Beacon Hotel Oswego
Address: 75 West Bridge Street, Oswego, NY 13126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Oswego
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hotel Oswego 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Beacon Hotel Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing