We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful! a must visit

Beautiful views, The climb to the bottom of the falls can be a little tricky, please don't take... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Lori O
,
Syracuse, New York
Beautiful and Serene

When we arrived with friends , we were surprised to see the parking lot empty. Not a long walk and... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2018
Snowbirdny
via mobile
Read all 45 reviews
  
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
36
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip great place to visit parking lot stone nature trail trees woods climb syracuse
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 45 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Beautiful views,
The climb to the bottom of the falls can be a little tricky, please don't take young children... but once down there is magnificent. The walk to the top of the falls is safe young children and a beautiful spot for a picnic. The trail has so much to see, yet was peaceful and quiet. I hope you all enjoy this location as much as I did.

Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

When we arrived with friends , we were surprised to see the parking lot empty. Not a long walk and the stairs are manageable even with knee issues. Trees were starting to turn colors and our friends asked if we could return later when the trees are in full color and take pictures. We sat for awhile taking in the quiet except the sound of the running/ falling water. Nice end to the day.

1  Thank Snowbirdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Only a short walk from the road. This falls is impressive because of the vertical drop. You can walk around the top which is lovely. People were just sitting on the rocks and enjoying the water and the roar of the falls.Too bad there is some graffiti on the rocks because that takes away from the appearance. If you look carefully, there are dates carved into the stone dating way back.

Thank TwoBills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Had some time to spare. This place is about a short hour North of Syracuse. Took the scenic way up, beautiful wooded areas. The falls is just another natural wonder. Has nice paths above but kind of risky going down a 600 foot steep incline. It's all steps but without proper foot ware I'd not recommend. We didn't go down because we had sandals on, but those that were down there had even more of a breath taking view. Easy to spend an hour or more just admiring and taking it in. There are no bathrooms here. So make sure you find a place before going here if that's something to be concerned about. The Salmon and Trout hatchery isn't that far away and toured that as well.

Thank 183Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018

Great place to take your family for a nice walk or hike. Views are great and the walkway is done nice for anyone to walk on.

Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018 via mobile

It is a short walk to the Falls. You can see them from different points of the trail and you can also walk down to the top of the falls. To get to the top of the falls requires stairs. If you have mobility problems you can still get a very nice view from the trail, which is pretty short. If you want to go hiking beyond that it seems there are trails further into the woods although we did not do that. The Falls will freeze in the winter, that’s pretty neat to see as well.

1  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

On a road trip, s for some reason I stopped to go for a walk. Came upon this wonderful water falls and spent an hour just enjoying nature in all its glory.

Thank skaszab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Great little day trip for the family. Trails are flat and well packed on the upper part of the system. The trail to the river below the falls are extreme. Switchbacks, steep grades, wet rocks, poison ivy, and narrow trails make hiking difficult. Wear good shoes and leave the little kids and dogs at home for this trail. Views are very good and would be even better in the fall. Signage is good with a little history of the area. The day we were there a volunteer from the Environmental Conservation Department was there with more history. Also people were filming with drones and you tube videos. Quite a busy place for a weekday.

1  Thank Wirunaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

Great views of the falls. Lots of people and trails! Excellent place to see any time of year and is wheel chair/stroller accessible. Trails are all flat and gravel.
You cannot swim here though. Lots of signs to read about the natural history of the area.

2  Thank Cari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Traveling to the bottom is a bit tricky but well worth it!! Beautiful !! The top of the falls is just as gorgeous ! The kids loved it!

Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews