We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Arte

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Del Arte
Attraction details
New York Suburbs
Level Contributor
267 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Always terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

You do best when dealing with one of the owners to seat you. Showed up, admittedly with no reservation, for a 3 early into dinner. The hosting person at the podium dithered and fussed then disappeared. Many tables were empty upon examination and understanding there were reservations, we could have been seated easily. Our dinner guest is a semi-retired clergyman in his early 80's and known at the restaurant albeit appearing in "mufti". Deferring to his age was the obvious resolution if an unknown. Finally, someone intervened and seated us and tables were still available all the time we were there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredPD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW WINDSOR
Level Contributor
477 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food - Incredible Sea Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The family dined here for our anniversary. The food was excellent, I enjoyed a Monk & fresh Tuna dish. Lovely light red sauce over linguini. We shared an excellent antipasto and the calamari was one of the best I have eaten in some time. All of the family, even the grand kids enjoy the meal. Oh yes, the Cannoli was wonderful. So with such a great chef why not and Excellent rating? First the service was lacking. Almost rushed, no explanation of the evening's specials a waiter who must have had a date as he couldn't wait to take an order. We ordered a bottle of wine, excellent Pino BTW Ladies of Venice. And he is taking orders while pouring. Oh yes, waiter training. After the gentleman tastes the wine, you pour for the ladies first. And then we come to coffee. Don't order any. The coffee at McDonalds is better. They must have run short of beans or grounds...dishwater at best. By all means try this restaurant, the light sauce was EXCELLENT... nicely spiced. The food rates 4 stars, the service...They need training.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a superb restaurant for a special occasion. We've dined there for several years and always had an exemplary experience. Food is consistently fresh and well prepared. Service is attentive without being overbearing. Our favorite restaurant in Rockland County.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gudgels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“My All Time Favorite...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

It does not get any better than Del Arte. Hosts and owners John and Rosemarie Carollo make you feel at home. The staff is wonderful and welcoming and go out of their way to take care of you. The food is all wonderful- I could not give just one favorite (but the pasta primavera and John's bolognese sauce are staples on my list). Sunday night they have a Sunday to go package- a tray of pasta, a tray of a chicken dish, slad and their yummy garlic knots to go for $50. It easily feeds 6-8. The prices are very reasonable, the food outstanding- Del Arte is a homerun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Arte also viewed

Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 

Been to Del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing