We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT recommend! Not worth the price, terrible night here, read below”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orangeburg
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do NOT recommend! Not worth the price, terrible night here, read below”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

At best it's 2 or 2.5/5 stars. The hallway smelled like old socks, seriously. The room #145 had wall paper peeling from the wall (see my pictures for proof), I had NO TOWELS of any kind in the room. When I walked to the front desk to get towels, the 19 y.o. kid at the front desk acted like this happens all the time. He turned around, went to a back room to get me towels, handed them to me a never said anything ... no sorry, no "I'll let the day manager know", nothing.

The air conditioner had dirt/mold in the grill on the top and then it kept shutting it's self off because the curtain above it is too long and holds the cool air in and tricks the thermometer to think it's at temp (see pictures). I had to put my computer against the curtain to hold it back to fix this myself.

There were about 5-6 rooms as I walked down the hall that had the doors propped open with the swing-lock - what's that about? Was that some kind of "invite" or code? That was weird boardering on creepy. I've never seen that in all the hotels I've stayed in... Security!?!

I was here for business and I told the company I was visiting to NEVER send anyone to this hotel. It was the worst place I have stayed in years. And the price at my companies corp rate $140 is a joke. At $75 I could forgive some of the problems, but not at the price they are getting. I have stayed at the Holiday Inn at Newark Airport a couple months ago and that was a decent place and worth the $120 I paid.

The following night I stayed at the Hilton Pearl River, about 5 miles away. At $160, wow it was night and day. I would give them 4/5 or 4.5/5 and only $20 more. Everything was near perfect, I recommend this Hilton for anyone staying in the area.

Very dissapointed. I could go on, but I'm getting my blood pressure up just remembering the night. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here unless you are paying $50-$75.

Room Tip: Do not get #145
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear J S,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered over the quality and service of our hotel. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    56
    34
    21
    13
See reviews for
53
42
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have frequently had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Orangeburg executive suites. Staff at the front desk are always friendly and accommodating; they recognize us from previous visits and often offer complimentary drink cards for the hotel bar. Working for a nearby high profile university, we often recommend our visitors stay at this hotel. Regina has been exceptionally helpful and professional; we always look forward to planning our reservations with her. Our rooms have constantly been clean thanks to the housekeeping staff and during our summer stays the outdoor pool is fantastic. The continental breakfast and easy access to the business center and lounge areas are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This summer we had a block of rooms at the Holiday Inn in Orangeburg, NY for a family reunion. Regina in sales was phenomenal to work with and extremely professional. Actually, all the staff members were nice and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Our family loved the outdoor pool and congregating in our comped room which served as our hospitality suite. This hotel is conveniently located to everything. I would definitely recommend staying here!.

Room Tip: King-bed junior suite that opens up to the outdoor pool is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Cottage, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We used the Holiday Inn Orangeburg as the hotel for the guests at our wedding to use. Not only was the facility beautifully updated, but the customer service was excellent. We spoke with both Regina and Nicole on a regular basis and they were there to answer all of our questions and were super accommodating. They kept the bar open late for our guests after the wedding and the brunch the next day was delicious. I would 100% recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We recently chose the Holiday Inn for our wedding block. We couldn't be happier with everything about the hotel. All of our guests were happy with their rooms. Everything was clean, and the rooms were updated. The complimentary weekday breakfast was awesome, and they even kept it open a little late for us. Everyone was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend while attending a family function nearby in Rockland County.
My flight was delayed into the area a few hours and was exhausted and not happy, but I was quickly blown away by the wonderful service that I experienced at the hotel. Crystal at the front desk was very polite and called our room after we checked in to see how everything was-how great! Nice to be recognized for my Priority Club membership.The room was nicely appointed and immaculate. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning and had a glass of wine in the evening at the bar ,which had a nice crowd for a Sunday. The employees(didnt get the names of everyone) were so personable! Didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pool as the weather was terrible. Had dinner at the nice Italian restaurant across the street and then off to the Palisades mall(less than 10 min. away)for a movie. The employees here are very cordial-all greeting us when we walked by and members of management team would ask how our stay was and if we needed anything.This hotel worked out so well that we will stay here when we visit family and friends. Big kudos to the management and staff as we were treated extremely well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctvegasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had business in northern New Jersey and in Rockland Co., NY that spanned 2 days. Rather than drive back into the city, I decided to book a room at this hotel, near to where my business would be the next morning.

I booked a king-bed room in the Executive Wing of the hotel. It was a small suite, in actuality, with 2 large, flatscreen TVs -- one facing the bed and one facing the sitting area. Two bottles of filtered water were provided free of charge -- one near the small coffee maker and one in the small fridge below. There were two closets -- one between the bathroom door and the living area, and one between the living area and the bed. The window in my room looked out on the pool area. All in all, the place was quiet and pleasant. Free wi-fi service is available, and they give you the log-in code at check-in.

The bathroom was surprisingly large, and I was very pleased to see a spacious spa shower, with sliding glass doors, with a regular shower head on one side, and three adjustable jets on the other side.

Being a Priority Club member/customer, upon check-in, I was given a ticket for a free drink at the bar, which was appreciated. The breakfast buffet in the morning was included in the price of the room, which is not always the case at a Holiday Inn. At a Holiday Inn Express, yes, but not always at a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Executive wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orangeburg
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Orangeburg Rockland/Bergen
2.2 mi away
HNA Palisades Premier Conference Center
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
574 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Pearl River
Hilton Pearl River
#1 of 1 in Pearl River
751 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen

Property: Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen
Address: 329 Route 303, Orangeburg, NY 10962-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn of Orangeburg, a full service hotel with 171 rooms, 25 of which are executive level junior suites nestled in the historic & picturesque Hudson Valley.Just a mile away, stroll through the charming Victorian villages of Nyack and Piermont on the Hudson where you'll find antique treasures and outdoor cafes. Shopping enthusiasts will love the Palisades Mall, one of the largest indoor shopping & entertainment centers in the US. Perhaps the NY area's best kept secret, Holiday Inn is just 15 miles North of NYC making it the perfect venue for a business meeting or mini getaway. Conveniently located at exit 5N off the Palisades Interstate Parkway or exit 12 off the New York State Thruway, Holiday Inn of Orangeburg provides easy access to the corporate Parks of Rockland & Bergen Counties as well the excitement & attractions of NYC. Right in our backyard you'll find Verizon, Volvo, Lamont Doherty, IBM, Wyeth, KPMG, BMW & Mercedes Benz, as well as the following colleges: St. Thomas Aquinas College, Dominican College, Nyack College and Rockland Community College. Just 25 miles from West Point Military Academy, Bear Mountain State Park, and Woodbury Commons Premier Outlet Mall. In not too far proximity are the Metlife Stadium/Meadowlands, Citi Park Stadium (formerly Shea) and Yankee Stadium. The Holiday Inn Orangeburg is easily accessible to the area's 5 major airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Orangeburg - Rockland / Bergen Hotel Orangeburg
Orangeburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing