We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at authentic sumatra two years ago, with my partner and my mother in law for a whole week. It was very pleasant, the staff was very helpfull and cooked well:) what we liked particulary is that it was like being in the community of the fisher village where the house is, you definitly don t fell in a hotel or guesthouse. Since there s some bungalows on the beach that seems very nice as well. We did also some activities around (the waterfall is exceptionnal) to the nearby island (nice beach) and the wonderfull rice paddies around. The whole group of young mens has a positive attitude, joyfull and smiling and singing all the time, when ther re not surfing:)
Anyway it s been a while but we would love to come back one day:)
Cheers ,
Alexandre, Arielle, and Martine (FRANCE+QUEBEC)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montreal_CanadaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am so glad to have stumbled upon Ricky's Beach House! It was recommended to us by another traveler while staying at a Bed and Breakfast in Pedang. The food was delicious, bungalows very well maintained, and the beach was beautiful. A highlight was playing with the local children as well as knowing that you are truly supporting the local community. I can't wait to return to Ricky's Beach House one day.

If you are still curious you can read my entry about Ricky's Beach House on my blog: http://semesterwithoutgum.blogspot.com/2013/02/adventures-in-indonesia.html

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

One bungalow for one person, large bed and small roof bed. Three meals a day provided included. Beautiful seaview, big waves,good to surf but I miss the opportunity. The weather not so good in february. No moon,no sunset or sunrise. Everything is perfect,the kampong people is friendly,mosque is so near. Got a blackout on the second night due to thunder lightning. Total darkness, im just with a small candle. I made it through,good experience for night. Loving the sea at First sight and young goats,so cute. I dont see it in Singapore!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

When I first came to Ricky's Beach House I planned to stay for perhaps 3 or 4 nights. In the end I stayed a whole week. I guess I only set off, because my time in Sumatra was limited to six weeks.
For a wholly reasonable price of 150.000 to 200.000 Rupiah per night one gets a little room or his own little bungalow, three delicious meals a day and, most important of all, most enjoyable company from the RBH crew. There's laughing, singing and guitar or ukulele playing all day long, followed by a game of Uno or some local playing cards game.
This is a place to either hang out and let the time go by or to mingle with the locals, go fishing or join the farmers on there rice paddys. Even surfing and snorkling is a good option.
Don't expect any traveller amusement like elsewhere in SE Asia. This is a thoroughly rural village with traditions and habits which are still kept and highly regarded these days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thohart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank corinne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank ruud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: er zijn backpackers kamers en 5 mooie ruime huisjes met goede bedden
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roadtripafrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagari Sungai Pinang
15.0 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#1 of 38 in Padang
482 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#5 of 38 in Padang
194 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Pangeran Beach Hotel
#8 of 38 in Padang
147 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradiso Village
Paradiso Village
#3 of 38 in Padang
195 reviews
13.2 mi away
Yani Homestay
Yani Homestay
#1 of 48 in Padang
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra

Address: Jalan RBH, Nagari Sungai Pinang 25131, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Nagari Sungai Pinang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nagari Sungai Pinang
Price Range: $43 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ricky's Beach House is a guesthouse located on a small private beach 10 minutes walking distance from a small fishing village. The village, Nagari Sungai Pinang, is situated on the west coast of the Indian Ocean, south of Padang, the capital city of West Sumatra, Indonesia. This is a guesthouse where the most open-minded travelers meet to share their travel stories, feel the family atmosphere, discover the local lifestyle, enjoy the warm temperature of the Indian Ocean, join the acoustic live music sessions with our crew at night and be a part of community-based Eco-Tourism Project. From the terrace of our comfortable bungalows you are only a few steps away from the ocean, and behind the bungalows you’ll find typical Sumatran forests where you can spot monkeys, birds and even monitor lizards. Our friendly staff is always ready to help you and will accompany you on daytrips to beautiful remote islands, a nearby waterfall, and other places, at your request. Our Village Nagari Sungai Pinang is a small fishing village about two hours away from Padang. Here you will be welcomed into an authentic Minangkabau community and get a feeling of real Indonesian village culture, with possibilities to participate in different aspects of everyday life. Populated by about 1000 inhabitants, most of them fishermen and farmers, these villagers live an easy lifestyle without rush, fully sharing commitment and respect. The hospitality of the villagers, combined with breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and the Bukit Barisan Hills, will make you feel at home as soon as you enter Nagari Sungai Pinang . Just make sure you’ll have full energy to reply to all the ‘hello’s’ from local kids when taking a walk through the village! In addition to exploring the surrounding beaches, ocean and forests, our project also offers you a chance to join the local fishermen when pull up fishing net on the beach, assist the farmers in their daily work, as well as going on a hike to the nearby waterfall, surfing for beginners, island hopping, snorkeling in many different spots, take a woodcarving course and play football with the local youth. And if you are a big fan of cooking and Indonesian food, don't miss the opportunity to learn the secrets of the local cuisine from village women. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing