We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Holiday Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Ballston Lake, New York
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent Holiday Inn.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As far as Holiday Inn's go... this one is rather average. Nothing great... but no complaints either. I usually stay here when on business in the area. The rooms are always clean. It's a bit overpriced, but usually solidly booked during the Cooperstown little league baseball season. (You'll also have unsupervised children running around the hallways during the summer season too.... just a warning).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you stay with us while traveling on business. Be sure to mention your company name next time you make your reservation as there may be a discounted rate established with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    72
    78
    35
    21
See reviews for
108
46
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn in Oneonta because it is pet friendly. We were taking a little excursion to visit Howe Caverns and Ommegang Brewery and this hotel was sort of in the middle. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel, but it was clean and comfortable and the WiFi was acceptable. The breakfast cafe had a buffet with waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc for $10 a person or you could order from the menu The kids ate free and we had been given a coupon when we checked in so we only had to pay for one meal.

A wedding reception was taking place in the banquet room and there was a bit of noise from the party but luckily it wasn't too loud and we were able to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xNYmomOf2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! I hope you had a great time at Howe Caverns and the brewery. I happy to hear we provided a comfortable stay for you and your family, including your pet! When visiting the area again, I hope you choose the Holiday Inn Oneonta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is almost 1-mile east of downtown and on the other side of I-88. Good place to stay if touring the area or visiting Cooperstown (which is what brought us there). We found our room to be quite clean with no mold. We did have issues with the door locks but maintenence was right on it (both times) eventually replacing the entire mechanism after the first fix started to fry the wiring. From then on--absolutely no issues. The staff was courteous and friendly--all smiles from the front desk to maintenance and housekeeping. We stayed on the side farthest from the road, bar and restaurant and I'm glad we did. Saturday night included a wedding party/reception that was "thumpy", but it ended at a reasonable time and all was quiet by midnight. We pre-purchased the breakfast voucher which adds $20 to the nightly rate and is worth--exactly $20 in food purchases. This works well when travelling as a couple as the buffet runs $9.95. I overheard one trio comment that they owed '38 cents' on their menu-order breakfast. Breakfast fare is pretty much what you'd expect. The buffet included scrambled eggs, breakfast meats (both different each day), pancakes, cereals, mixed fruits, muffins, make-your-own waffles. Coffee/tea and a variety of juices are included in the buffet price. They also have a full service breakfast menu. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel. If back in the area, I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Breakfast voucher good up to $20 total only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words. I am happy to hear you will be staying with us again in the future. I look forward to having you back with our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a good hotel to stay at for its proximity to Cooperstown. Staff were friendly and rooms clean, comfy beds. The only drawback was the noise level from the soccer team who were also staying in the hotel. I guess you can only make the walls so thick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the noise caused by the soccer team. You're right by saying we can only make the walls so thick! We do however enforce a curfew for sports teams and remain in constant contact with the coaches to ensure the teams do not get out of control and are quietly in their rooms by a certain time. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This Holiday Inn was not as updated as some properties, but my room in the back wing was in reasonable condition and clean. Bed and bed linens comfortable, bath linens typical. Heat/cool unit worked just right and not too loud. Tub/toilet showing their age. Hallway carpets also showing age.

Never did find the breakfast for which I'd been given a complimentary coupon as a Priority Club member. Restaurant was closed during the time they'd said breakfast would be available, so apparently breakfast wasn't in the restaurant. Table in hallway near lobby had coffee, tea, and some unripe fruit. I hope that isn't what they considered "breakfast."

There's a relatively large grassy area in the back, and also a basketball hoop. The area in the back was great for dog walking.

I understand this is a very tourist-y area, but I was able to make my one-night reservation on very short notice, and happily, my special location request could be accommodated. Management, perhaps the availability of the room suggests that there's really not quite that much demand for rooms priced at $170 (the AAA discount) on a Thursday night...even if it may be peak tourist season in the area?

Overall, I was happy with the cleanliness of the comfortable room and the pet-friendly site, but have mixed feelings about it due to price and the other things mentioned above. I would probably research TripAdvisor further for a less expensive place if I am in the area this time next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have easy access to nice dog walk area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We offer competitive rates during our peak season and I appreciate the feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Oneonta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the last week of August, 2012, for one night only because other area hotels were full. Strike one happened right away when we discovered that this two story building has no elevator. Not a plus for the elderly or disabled. They have a restaurant in the building with both a dining room and a pub area. The pub was noisy and definitely not a "family" atmosphere. We opted for the dining room. When I attempted to pull out a chair for my wife the back came off - Strike Two. The meals were mediocre at best - Strike Three.

There is no complimentary breakfast, so I recommend the fine old Neptune Diner just down the road on the way to the Interstate.

On a positive note, the bed was comfortable and the washcloths and towels were very nice. Unfortunately, that was about the extent of the good news although the outdoor pool looked good and seemed well maintained. The friendly staff can't make up for the overall dreary ambiance. The $162.00 tab was way too much for what you get. I would only stay here as a last resort.

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room. There's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. We continually work on improving our service and product through comments like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here on August 19 after a visit to Cooperstown. The hotel is in desperate need of an update. The beds were comfortable, the a/c was adequate, but overall the room and hotel is very tired and in desperate need of a facelift! The room is quite expensive for the value. They "honored" us with a one person (we were five) free breakfast. We did not even bother!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbgdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear kbgdsg,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I would like to apologize for the room you received that was less than satisfactory. I also sorry for the unusual condition of our hotel that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest service are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Property: Holiday Inn Oneonta
Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing