We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Deer Park, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a little pricey”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

typical holiday inn. no frills just a bed and a bathroom. However this place is priced like its on a beach in Florida. The days inn is a lot cheaper for the exact same thing. A clean room and bath.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp5ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    79
    36
    22
See reviews for
111
46
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on a roadtrip from Toronto to Cooperstown for the baseball hall of fame. Checked in at about 3am and even at that time, it was done efficiently and professionally.

Great stay overall, with a few specifics below:

1. Breakfast was excellent - done in an actual restaurant setting, unlike many other hotels which is simply done in the lobby...Eggs benny served the second day (score!) plus attentive service staff.

2. Driving distance to Cooperstown was relatively quick and easy to drive.

3. Can't go wrong on the price, given the high standards of cleanliness in the hotel overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hotel was ok. Checked us in, gave us key and room was totally not ready. Staff was good about changing our room right away. Asked if we could add nights and they could not accomodate but when I checked the next morning the said wish you called a few minutes ago and we could have helped you....problem-their phones were no wokring the few minutes prior and no wrote down my name or cell to let me know of avaialable room. Carpet edges kind of dusty and room had a funky smell. Fine but not great. Not a lot to choose from in this area so might still be the better of some other choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Went up for a Cooperstown Allstar village baseball tournament. My boys were actually staying at baseball bunk houses but I stayed here along with a couple of families. This hotel was extremely busy with other families for the baseball tournaments and other hotel guests. First off, as busy as this hotel was, the rooms, hallways, front desk area, pool area, volleyball area and every other area of the hotel was immaculate. I commend the cleaning staff for their hard work. This is also a dog friendly hotel and you would never know it unless you seen a dog, because it was so clean. Next, every person from the general manager to the front desk people were so accomodating to your every need, that I felt I was staying at a resort. I stay in many holiday inn hotels and by far the staff in this hotel was the best so far. Lastly, every morning for free you went into their resturant for a full breakfast, so good. Many of the parents from the baseball teams rented houses for the week and had numerous problems, and I have to say a Big Thank You to the Oneonta Holiday Inn for my stay it was an Excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levittownfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel was very clean and rooms were well appointed. The staff was very hospitable and accommodated our last minute request to use a conference room for pizza for our softball team. Our manager had just received stitches in his foot and they quickly relocated his room to the first floor. They were also very tolerant of our 12 thirteen year old players staying with us.
Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyt719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Holiday Inn in Oneonta is very overpriced, especially for what you get. We stayed in July (peak season).

Pros:
Breakfast included
Internet (wireless) included
Coffee machine, microwave, fridge included but we didn't try them out
Outdoor pool

Negatives:
Hotel is old with narrow hallways
Room smelled dirty but as if covered by air freshener
Rooms were small and dark
Access to second floor was by a narrow staircase - we never found an elevator.
The bathroom was dated and small and do not smell clean
Small workout facilities with no weights and the rest was old equipment

I would not stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIOneonta, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We sincerely apologize for the troubles you encountered with your room while staying with us. We pride ourselves in providing quality guest rooms at competitive rates. Unfortunately, during you stay we fell short of our typical high standards. However, we are extremely happy that noticed the positive amenities of our hotel. We include items such as a complimentary breakfast buffet and free wireless because it is important to our guest. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed for the Hall of Fame Induction weekend and since we could not find any hotel in Cooperstown we had to stay at this hotel. The hotel was overpriced, my elderly mother was traveling with us and since the hotel has NO elevator she had to take the stairs. Same way with carrying suitcases...
I left an item in the room by mistake and still waiting for a response from the hotel. Breakfast was included but the quality was not that good. If you are going to Cooperstown try to stay somewhere else, it takes over 30 minutes to get there, this hotel it is located at Oneonta's outskirts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysigoviajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
907 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Property: Holiday Inn Oneonta
Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing