We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No elevators”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed for the Hall of Fame Induction weekend and since we could not find any hotel in Cooperstown we had to stay at this hotel. The hotel was overpriced, my elderly mother was traveling with us and since the hotel has NO elevator she had to take the stairs. Same way with carrying suitcases...
I left an item in the room by mistake and still waiting for a response from the hotel. Breakfast was included but the quality was not that good. If you are going to Cooperstown try to stay somewhere else, it takes over 30 minutes to get there, this hotel it is located at Oneonta's outskirts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysigoviajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    73
    34
    20
See reviews for
105
41
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We booked a stay at the Holiday Inn anticipating better than average accommodations. What we got was a typical economy motel setup. Billed as all nonsmoking the room definitely had the smell of a previous smoker. The air conditioning was extremely noisy and made it hard for everyone to get to sleep. The bathroom area left no space to place dopp kits. I will say that everywhere the staff is extremely gracious and courteous, from the front desk to housekeeping. It's clear that they have all been trained in customer service. The breakfast is also better than the standard fare, served in a dining area with self-help buffet and wait staff combined. The game area that we hoped the kids would enjoy had equipment that wasn't working and was too small to handle the number of interested parties.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soxfan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magnolia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

I got this hotel through Priceline for one night because we decided to head up to Cooperstown a day early. I did not like it at all. The only thing I can say that was good was their free breakfast. Their breakfast is better then Hampton Inns. The room was NOT upgraded as it stated on their brochure...at least not what I would consider upgraded. The beds are NO COMPARISION to The Hampton.

When we went to shower the tub was so clogged up we had 8 inches of water in the tub while we were cleaning up. The sink in the bathroom was CLOGGED TOO and they took out the stopper thingy and had it laying on the counter.

The room was musty and just didnt seem CLEAN. I am sorry, but I didnt enjoy my stay here at all. For the price I paid I expected more.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jenks0718Magnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIOneonta, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We are sorry your recent stay was only average. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and our leisure and business customers normally feel that we do. If visiting the Oneonta/Cooperstown area again we hope that you will try us again. Our maintenance staff is on property daily to assist you if needed. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great stay and service... Front desk help couldn't have been better to fix a problem that wasn't their fault... Than was awesome... thank you

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Now this hotel has gotten it right...they know good customer service and practice it everyday.
Clean hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff, very accomodating.
My goodness, they even include free breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I want to thank the staff at this hotel for doing an outstanding job. It was a pleasure to be greeted by cheerful employees to a hot and FREE breakfast each morning. The food quality was better than almost every other hotel I have been at in the past year. Front end employees did due diligence to ensure I had what I needed for my stay. I look forward to staying here again and hope to bring my family along!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great Breakfast food, table setup and waitresses to serve! Best Holiday Inn food service. Above-average room with king bed, wifi, and flatscreen.

They need to be sure that all talking/drinking guests are removed from pool area after 9 PM, voices echo in the still of the night. Great lounge with bar, television. Also, great video game room. After Cooperstown exercise, I didn't use the gym.

Capital improvement plans have to include an elevator for the 2-floor facility. An indoor jacuzzi and steam spa would make the facility top-notch. Price charged was not competitive with the holiday inn closer to Cooperstown. With free drinks, and breakfast, still $80 too high.

I had a pleasant stay while visiting Cooperstown.

Gus Garcia Jr.

Room Tip: Make reservations ahead of time to get better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucketTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Property: Holiday Inn Oneonta
Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing