We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay with Great Coffee!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Oneonta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, OH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay with Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while in town with my son's baseball team. This is the closest hotel to the Cooperstown All Star Village - 5 min drive tops. Despite the fact that the hotel was booked almost to capacity, it really never seemed like it. Our room was clean with comfortable beds. Didn't really hear much noise from hallway or other other rooms and we were right by the elevators. I have learned to keep the fan set to ON to muffle outside noise, and so that when the a/c or heat kicks on it doesn't wake me, as I am a light sleeper. The free breakfast was plentiful and tasty every day and my husband & I can't say enough about the fantastic coffee! We love that it's available at all hours of the day too. The afternoon snacks are a bonus as well. Friendly, helpful staff made this a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dssmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear dssmom,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad to hear you were extremely pleased with your stay. From the spacious room, to our On-The-House Breakfast to our 24/7 Coffee Bar in our lobby. As you mentioned, our location to the Cooperstown All Star Village is a quick, 5 minute drive, which is convenient when commuting during your stay. Our afternoon cookies are a perfect snack for everyone at the hotel. We hope you will visit the area again.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    221
    38
    12
    11
See reviews for
426
163
37
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hampton Inn Oneonta is an excellent hotel for both the family and business traveler. Despite how busy the hotel is this time of year, the staff work hard to provide a welcoming and positive experience for their guests. Housekeeping keeps the rooms very clean. Maintenance keeps the grounds well-maintained with seasonal plants and flowers.

My experience with front desk staff has been consistently very positive, and I've stayed at the hotel on business a number of times this year. Staff are professional but friendly. Overall, I've been impressed at how helpful they are and how quickly they learn/remember guests' names and preferences.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Lisa C,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. First, I would like to thank you for being a loyal guest at our hotel. We take pride in having a friendly and helpful staff. As you mentioned, our hotel is great for the family or business traveler. We look forward to your next stay!

Regards,
Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute, which I do not like to do without checking the reviews first.Kerry, the woman at the front desk was very helpful when we called and even more helpful when we got there. She helped us pick very nice place to have dinner. The room was clean and neat.It was the best fly by the minute decision we ever made. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear shaight,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad to hear you found our front desk agent, Kerry, to be extremely helpful when making a last minute reservation. I will be sure to forward along your great review to her! We hope you will visit the area again and stay at our hotel.

Regards,
Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was extremely helpful in arranging dinner even though the restaurant that delivered was closing. They delivered our dinner with no problems. The front desk was great. The rooms were neat and clean, the internet access was good (not great). The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jay S,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad to hear you were extremely pleased with your stay. We take pride in having a friendly and helpful staff. As you mentioned, we do not have a restaurant on site but within a two mile radius have a vast amount of options; many that deliver to our hotel exclusively. We hope you will stay with us again.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were invited to a wedding with accommodations with the Hampton in Oneonta, NY first of all we have a daughter with a traumatic brain injury as a result of an automobile accident and we have been in many motels from here to Albany NY. We have never experiences such a disorganized, unprofessional, ill managed motel in all of our stays. I called 8 times to assure that I had just the right room for my handicapped daughter. I called again on the day of the wedding and the staff had not assigned rooms as of yet. When we arrived at 3:21 the brides parents were at the front desk obviously very upset, the wedding party had reserved rooms (months ahead) at this motel and buses to shuttle the party of approximately 80 people to the reception, they had given the bridal parties rooms to the baseball team, obviously because they were staying longer. The people behind the counter were very rude and lied about the rooms being under maintenance. Getting back to my situation: Like I said I called several times in a three month span to make sure my daughter would have the handicap accessibility she needed, I specifically said a bar by the toilet, shower and a shower chair they assured my that would be no problem. The room we were put in was for the hearing impaired, with no bars except the standard one in the shower. I had to help her toilet, and she was unable to shower at all. When we got up in the morning and went out to have coffee and breakfast (9:15) the cleaning people went in our room and was cleaning even before our belongings were out of it. I hadn't turned in the key and I still had things in the refrigerator.(How legal is that?) Just an overall unpleasant,nerve-wracking experience. Linda W

Room Tip: "Never book for wedding party accommodations."
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Linda R,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we regret our misstep in room assignment for your family. Your comfort and safety are our highest priorities and will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with room assignments and accessibility. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve. If we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and had directions to anywhere you needed to go to. Free breakfast was decent and saved us the cost and time of going out to get it on our own. I would recomend this hotel especially if you are going to All Star Village to play ball

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Melissa G,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad to hear you were extremely pleased with your stay. As you mentioned, On-The-House breakfast offers a large array of food to start your day off right. We take pride in having a friendly and helpful staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the Cooperstown All Star Village!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is about a 25 minute drive from DreamsPark and about 40 minutes to downtown Cooperstown. I did not have any problems with traffic or delays getting back and forth at any time. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with every request. Their complimentary breakfast was very good every morning and provided enough options to satisfy every taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 601tammyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear 601tammyl,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad you enjoyed our clean and comfortable hotel. We take pride in having a friendly and helpful staff. As you mentioned, our hotel has a convenient location to both Cooperstown Dreams Park and Cooperstown. We hope you will stay with us again if in the area.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
19.9 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Oneonta

Property: Hampton Inn Oneonta
Address: 225 River Street, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Oneonta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the award winning Hampton Inn Oneonta, we are passionate about guest satisfaction. Our Hampton Inn Oneonta hotel is located one mile from the historic district of downtown in the "City of the Hills." Full of small galleries, boutique shopping, performing arts venues and dining options- Main Street Oneonta meets the needs of any traveler, whether visiting on business or pleasure. Oneonta is also know as a "college town"- home to SUNY Oneonta and Hartwick College, a private liberal art school. Just a short drive to Cooperstown to explore the heart of baseball- America's favorite pastime at the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Take a stroll by the lake or explore the Fenimore Art Musuem- there is something for everyone of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing