We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Second visit at Hampton Inn to visit our daughter at school. Very clean and neat hotel. Comfy bed but horrible pillows!!! Mushy, mushy, mushy! It is also extremely loud. You can hear everything from the privacy of your bedroom.

Room Tip: Just be prepared for noise and maybe asked for other pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Steph444,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and use your feedback to improve our guest experience. I understand that noise was an issue during your time with us and I apologize for this inconvenience. We know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and will look into solutions to better soundproof our rooms. I do hope the next time you return to area to visit your daughter you will consider staying with us again.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 939 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here when I went back to visit my former college, SUNY Delhi. The Hampton Inn was adequate. Room was clean, with an up to date, clean bathroom (most important in my book.) When we first got into the room the heat was not working properly (blowing cold air, or no air at all.) Called the front desk and they came up to the room in a timely manner to check it out (although the problem resolved itself by the time they arrived.)

The walls were very thin, especially in the bathroom, where we could clearly hear our neighbors and their children talking.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

All in all, a good place to lay your head if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDV1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear JDV1927,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad the HVAC unit issue was able to be resolved. I do apologize that you felt the walls were thin. However, we are glad you were happy with the clean rooms. If you have any other concerns or comments, please feel free to contact me directly at 607-433-9000 ext 542 or by emailing me at ashley.camarata@hilton.com.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is awful!! Motel conditions. Creepy rooms. Weird smell. Very Unpleasant staff. Spent one night here and was so uncomfortable I couldn't sleep. The dark decor of the room made it very uninviting and the hotel itself has bad energy. The Breakfast was gross. I would never go back to this hotel. I'll be more comfortable sleeping in a car.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank ACTravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hello ACTravels7,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay with us. We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed in your experience and we want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken seriously. Your suggestions will be shared with our housekeeping and front desk teams in order to help us improve the experience for our current and future guests. If you have any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share, please feel free to contact me directly at 607-433-9000 ext 542 or by emailing me at ashley.camarata@hilton.com.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was in Oneonta NY which is about 20 miles West of Cooperstown. The staff was friendly and helpful in recommending us to a great local restaurant for dinner. The town is a college town but peaceful and very scenic. We loved the area and am glad to have the opportunity to stay there. The hotel was clean and the linens very nice.

Room Tip: We selected this hotel as we know they have a great reputation. However after visiting Cooperstown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Hello Leona R,

I'm Ashley Camarata the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thanks for your feedback- I will share it with my staff! I am glad you found our hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. At the Hampton Inn Oneonta, guest satisfaction is our number one goal! We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We like the Hampton Inn chain because they are typically well managed, have nice rooms and offer a great breakfast with fruit and real cooked oatmeal (not individual packets). We had another great stay with a nice room. What made this Hampton Inn stand out to me was the breakfast staff. They are normally efficient and friendly, but the two women working the morning we were there were exceptional. They not only kept the area well stocked, but as soon as I stood met me to take my trash. They took the extra step to make your day a little better. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello Vince B,

I'm Ashley Camarata the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your room, the breakfast and friendly breakfast bar service. We are glad you were 100% satisfied; as our goal is always guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Cooperstown and its Hilton affiliation. We were not disappointed. The room was very clean and comfortable. It looked pretty new. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and tasty. Quite a few choices. I would not hesitate to stay there again. It is located near a dead end street so the local traffic is minimal. It was a short one mile walk to a very nice restaurant. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MePepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear MePepere,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our close proximity to Cooperstown and our Hilton affiliation. Our complimentary amenities such as the indoor heated pool and On-The-House Breakfast make a stay that much more enjoyable. We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I chose the Hampton Inn because of its Hilton affiliation. We were not disappointed. The Cloud 9 bedding and clean accommodations were exceptionally nice. The complimentary breakfast was tasty. We visited this area because of its proximity to Cooperstown so we could visit the Baseball Hall of Fame. It was about a half hour trip from the hotel. We past many farms. It was a very nice drive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear dmcartier,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you were satisfied with the Cloud 9 bedding and complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Oneonta

Address: 225 River St, Oneonta, NY 13820-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range: $91 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Oneonta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the award winning Hampton Inn Oneonta, we are passionate about guest satisfaction. Our Hampton Inn Oneonta hotel is located one mile from the historic district of downtown in the "City of the Hills." Full of small galleries, boutique shopping, performing arts venues and dining options- Main Street Oneonta meets the needs of any traveler, whether visiting on business or pleasure. Oneonta is also know as a "college town"- home to SUNY Oneonta and Hartwick College, a private liberal art school. Just a short drive to Cooperstown to explore the heart of baseball- America's favorite pastime at the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Take a stroll by the lake or explore the Fenimore Art Musuem- there is something for everyone of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing