We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place for Garlic Knots” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sal's Pizzeria & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sal's Pizzeria & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 117 Restaurants in Oneonta
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Otego, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favorite place for Garlic Knots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

... Unfortunately, they only make them on certain days of the week! Everything I've ever tried from Sal's is good and it's consistant. I love that they always seem to have some odd flavor of pizza by the slice. (Once it was Rueben style!) Needs some updating to the decor and could use some more comfortable seating. It's a classic to downtown Oneonta though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank curlygirlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“new york city pizza in the burbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sal,... an old time nyc pizza maker from a long line of pizza makers from nyc italians moves to the woods to retire and finds himself swamped by pizza lovers. GOD LOVE HIM HE"S GREAT !!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank transue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sals pizza is a little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I grew up near oneona so sals has always been a staple in my life. Whether it was after a heavy night of drinking or for Sunday football, the pizza is fantastic. I travel frequently and sals is one of the few things that I actively crave and miss when I'm away. Ive only ever gotten flat pizza there so I can't speak for anything else, but the secret is in the sauce...it's the perfect balance between sweet and salty. My personal favorite is the honey BBQ chicken pizza...it'll make you believe in god. Don't let the looks of the place scare you away..it's a plain Jane style pizzeria but I'd eat pizza this good out of a dumpster.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theaxelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
1 review
“horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Ordered a Dozen wings with blue cheese and of course i didn't get the blue cheese. Wings weren't bad but delivery was horrible. Waiting an hour for a dozen wings is pathetic in my opinion. Last time I order out from this place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
573 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great roni roll!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Their pizza and salad is good, too, but not long ago, I tried their pepperoni roll and was very surprised at the price, size and great taste! Now, I am in the mood to go to town today for lunch there!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank JuneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Pizzeria & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Pizzeria & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing