We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best chicken ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks' House of BBQ

Brooks' House of BBQ
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Oneonta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best chicken ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Brooks is famous for good reason. The chicken is just so good! There are other choices including ribs, and they have a good salad bar. Indoor and outdoor seating available, or takeout. They have a good sized private banquet building, and there's also an ice cream parlor and gift shop out back. If you're in Oneonta, Brooks is a must.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcl0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    165
    73
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
corning
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant has great food at reasonable prices, the wait staff are very friendly, easy access location and parking, very clean facility. We had the pulled pork and the flavor was so good we bought a bottle of bbq sauce on the way out the door.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always our favorite spot to dine when in Oneonta. Right off I-88. Very friendly staff and great home cooking meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a favorite stopover. Friendly staff and great food. Great values. BBQ smells outside. Right off I-88. Truly a BBQ house.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Large, tourist destination with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the place most people go for barbecue near Oneonta. We were surprised to find that it did not serve liquor--thus no beer;however, we still enjoyed our meal of pulled pork with baked potato and unlimited trips to the basic salad bar. I found the coleslaw to be particularly good. Service was kind, but a bit slow. The barbecue sauce is one size fits all but can be kicked up iwth the hot sauce on the table. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LCP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
574 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Still my favorite place to eat in Oneonta BUT................”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

today I went for lunch solo since I was SO hungry after working all morning and had a bunch of errands to run in Oneonta. I ordered the SENIORS chicken dinner since it is less expensive and after all, it was ONLY lunch, not supper.

Today, and the past few times I went to Brooks, I noticed that the chicken is not as moist as it used to be. Its still good, and the bbq sauce saves it, but its really NOT as good as it used to be......it used to be more tender and moister. I may have to switch to ribs or pork or chicken and biscuits when they offer it.

The salad bar was just as great as it always is, and the fries were perfect, and the price for this meal was just right for lunch: a mere seven dollars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooks' House of BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing