We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some changes have been made, bit its all good......”

Brooks' House of BBQ
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Oneonta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Level Contributor
626 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Some changes have been made, bit its all good......”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I visited Brooks for lunch today, for the first time since their renovations.

Personally, I think the high seat backs on the booth are bit TOO high. The new, longer salad bar is great, though!

And its still good food, at good prices with great service!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    171
    76
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Average BBQ”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went to Brooks' BBQ at a recommendation of our hotel in the area. I am not sure why they recommended it as it was just an average meal. Hint: There is at least one much better BBQ joint in the area...We found this out after the fact.

We tried the pulled pork, the chicken, and the St. Louis ribs. The chicken was pretty tasty, the pulled pork was decent, but the ribs were dry and not especially flavorful.

This place seems to focus on the bbq sauce (they sell it) rather than the bbq meat. That isn't an especially good sign.

Meals come with salad bar (a plus), but it just covers the basics. The coleslaw that you can get there is bland and uninteresting. I have read people raving about the bread, but it was soft and not very tasty - just bread.

The restaurant itself is rather stale inside and dated, but well maintained. The staff are helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had Better”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were very excited about finally dining at Brook's Everyone had told how good it was and the smell of the barbeque really wetted our palates. We were quickly seated and given menus. My wife ordered the BBQ 1/2-chicken dinner and I the 1/2 rack of St. Louis style pork spareribs. The salad bar and one side dish came with the dinners. We were also given a small loaf of fresh baked white bread and butter. The self-serve salad bar was disappointing. The choices were iceberg lettuce and assorted dressings, pasta salad or cole slaw. Then came the dinners. My wife's chicken was overcooked to point of being blackened and dried out. My ribs were swimming in BBQ sauce and were extremely tough and chewy. I had to add their Oneonta Hot Sauce to give the sweet BBQ sauce any flavor. No dessert-we were just glad to get out there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbeth597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmondville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the wait is worth it”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

(Be warned that Brooks is always closed the month of January) Brooks is a one of a kind. Family owned and amazing. You can't find this chicken anywhere else. Well unless you run into the catering truck someplace. Get the chicken or the ribs, no REALLY get the chicken. The fresh baked loaf of bread that comes to the table is awesome and the fries are good too. This place is pretty much always packed with good reason. The best time to get in is after lunch and before dinner. It's always clean and the staff is friendly and efficient. The salad bar (comes with a dinner) is a pretty average salad bar but clean and kept fresh, the coleslaw is good.
This place is pretty much a local landmark and has been featured on the food network a couple of times. We always wonder why they never made it a chain.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank None Ya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great chicken”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Large place that can accommodate large groups. The hostess and waiter were super friendly. A few of us ordered the sampler plate and all agreed that the chicken is the way to go!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooks' House of BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing