We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pleasant place. No fuss, just good service & rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Oneonta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The kids were thrilled to stay in a place with a backyard, a rabbit hutch, and frog pond. I was delighted to be able to tell the kids to go outside and play. Chris is an excellent host: friendly, informative, and helpful, but happy to let you have the place to yourself. Jerry made a great breakfast. Kathy was SO NICE to the kids, setting them up with a movie and popcorn.

I've been to other B&Bs where I was terrified that the kids would touch something or offend the hosts. This was the opposite of that -- the house was nice, easy to be in, and friendly. Great place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris22vw, Owner at Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words! We very much enjoyed having your family. Your review helps us spread the word that a B&B can be fun and kid friendly for sure. We LOVE wowing our guests with a truly unique experience. We hope to see you again for sure - Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We made a last minute booking at this place, and the owner Chris was very accommodating; he even took my details while he sat in a restaurant. We just needed a place to stay in the area. When we turned up, it was better than we had expected. The b&b is about a mile away from the center of Oneonta, within walking distance to downtown. Chris gave us really good restaurant recommendations, and good directions on how to get there (we walked!). The b&b is on a road that was busy, but it feels very quiet. In the huge back garden, they are lots of animals. They have pet bunny rabbits as well as a pretty funny cat, and the wildlife is really entertaining: frogs, deer, chipmunks galore. The breakfast is really good, and made completely to your convenience. Chris went out of his way to give us some recommendations on places to visit in other parts of the state (we were on a wedding venue quest,) and a few days later, he sent us a belt that we had left behind. It's a lovely bed and breakfast, with a very nice and funny proprietor with a beautiful home. I'd recommend this to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pocket_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B that my wife and I recently stayed in. The owner is great, and the staff are very friendly. They made us feel right at home. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the grounds are lovely. It was especially nice to hear the sound of the brook as we watched chipmonks scamper about. We would definitely stay again and would recommend anyone else to, as well. It is a Gem!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had an enjoyable, relaxing stay at Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast. The house is a bit old and tired, but very clean and neatly kept. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast, made to your specifications, will tempt you to eat a bit more than you might otherwise. I enthusiastically recommend this very comfortable B&B.

Room Tip: The large downstairs bedroom has its own bath.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZigZagGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Charming but old and in need of updating. We stayed in the room on the main floor behind the kitchen next to the dinning room. The room was big but had road noise on one side and kitchen/dinning room noise on the other. So if you're a late sleeper take one of the rooms upstairs. The owners are extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was made to order for each person and yummy. There is internet access and a parlor to play games or watch TV.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gallefrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I were going to Cooperstown for a quick trip. We needed one night's lodging and tried to book a hotel or B&B a month before our trip. No such luck. It was our great fortune, however, to find a room available at Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast in nearby Oneonta. Great hosts and great B&B. Chris met us Saturday night and gave us a run down of the bed and breakfast as well as a little history of how he acquired it. Very interesting. We stayed in the Charles Suite with its own restroom facilities. Although the room faced the road, we never heard any traffic. For that matter, we never heard any noise our sounds from anywhere in the house. It was a very comfortable and relaxing stay.
And the breakfast was awesome. I had the apple stuffed pancakes while my wife had an omlette. Both were scrumptious.
We definitely would stay there again. Great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phinatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were on our way to Florida when our car had a suspension problem and our car was disabled We called Kountry Living B&B. Chris answered and said he has a room for one night and he even picked us up luggage et. al. and brought us to his beautiful B&B! Loved how clean this historical home was and also well kept. Chris & David were so accommodating. The breakfast menu was extensive from stuffed french toast (delicious), pan cakes to various egg dishes! David did an outstanding job preparing all of them. The grounds are beautiful and historical home was delightful to stay in. We walked downtown Oneonta and had dinner and visited the shops which we found everyone friendly. Chris and Davis made us feel at home! We tried to post this message on the road with our iphone but can't find a record of it being received by Trip advisor and because they were so nice to stranded travelers we wanted to make sure it did get posted.
Steve & JoAnne

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
917 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
206 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast

Address: 576 New York 28, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneonta
Price Range: $154 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Walk to the city and stay in the Kountry", Our location cannot be matched. We offer amazing custom Breakfasts that you create during your stay and feature local award winning ingredients, We serve it how and when you want it. Service is guaranteed to exceed expectations for every guest; every day. Outside Dining also available in our outdoor living room. Kountry Living is not a place to stay , it's a place to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing