We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Motel”

Red Carpet Inn On The Lake
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn On The Lake
Ranked #5 of 6 Oneonta B&B and Inns
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Budget Motel”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed one night and were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was an efficiency at their lakeside facility and was VERY clean and well maintained. Breakfast was adequate, no bells and whistles but enough to keep you going to lunch. Staff were welcoming and answered our questions. A decent overnight and we would stay again if we find ourselves in the area.

Room Tip: Bathroom size was minimal, adequate and clean, reminded us of some ensuites from hotel stays in Euro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dblmahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
33
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Red Carpet Inn for 1 night as it was very beautiful view through the lake. The owner was friendly when I arrived & made a point of chatting to me in the bar, when i returned at night. The room was clean but with not a lot of natural light and not a big issue as i was out all day anyway. All the usual amenities provided & an en suite shower and free wi-fi. The heat sometimes doesn’t work, it need to be repaired.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drdeath88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

After having tried to get a good deal on a decent hotel for a fair price, I had almost given up. The Red Carpet Inn has restored my faith that this is possible!!! The accommodations are very comfortable, very clean and very affordable. And the staff is absolutely wonderful!!! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank djc621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryk48, Manager at Red Carpet Inn On The Lake, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Thank you for the nice review on Trip Advisor for Red Carpet Inn On The Lake. We really do appreciate your business and hope when you return to the area you choose Red Carpet Inn On The Lake to stay in.
Thanks again,
Mary Knapp, Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finger lakes, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This place was clean, affordable ($100 a night, two double beds) with a great lake view. Very close to Oneonta & the highway, close to Cooperstown & all the attractions. Breakfast was light, mostly just cereal, juice & coffee.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmechalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Red Carpet Inn On the Lake for five nights while our son played in the Cooperstown Baseball World Tournament. Our room was on the lake side of the hotel so we had a beautiful view and a nice place to sit outside in the evenings. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Their is a picnic pavilion on the lake that hotel guests can use. We used it for a pizza party for my son's baseball team. The hotel is conveniently located between Oneonta and Cooperstown and there are lots of restaurants and convenience stores close by.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ledge3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My family love the cabin only feet away form Goodyear Lake. It had 2 double beds that were fine. Free wi-fi helped a lot. Tv was too small for the room. Kitchen was adequate.Heat was good and bathroom was clean. Generally a pleasant two days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spencerportrangers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This was our first trip to Cooperstown and we were on a budget. We got a superb price thru hotels.com, but at that price, my wife wanted to see the room first. We were VERY surprised! The room was VERY nice, and the view overlooking the lake was beautiful. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking. I don't know how anyone could give a poor rating to this estabishment; I hope to visit Cooperstown again, and there is no question that I'll book with the Red Carpet Inn on the Lake once again. They helped make our stay in Cooperstown unforgettable .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfoklnd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
263 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
890 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn On The Lake

Property: Red Carpet Inn On The Lake
Address: 2306 State Highway 28, Goodyear Lake, Oneonta, NY 13820-3129
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn On The Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Carpet Inn On The Lake (formerly known as Knott's Motel),was totally renovated in 2009, and is located on beautiful Goodyear Lake between Cooperstown and Oneonta. Just minutes away from Baseball Hall Of Fame, Cooperstown Dream Park, Baseball World, All Star Village and Soccer Hall of Fame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Red Carpet Inn On The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn On The Lake Hotel Oneonta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing