We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's worth the trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Undercover Eggplant Company

Undercover Eggplant Company
Ranked #4 of 117 Restaurants in Oneonta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I swear I'd drive all night, (ok, three hours), for a Mrs. Eggplant sandwich. The flavors blend perfectly and are like magic to your tastebuds. Undercover Eggplant Co is not your average local hero place; it is a gourmet sandwich shop with a unique menu. The "City of Hills" is one lucky town to have this gem of a restaurant. Wish we had one here in Jersey!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still the best food around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been back many times since my first review, and Undercover Eggplant has only gotten better. After having to shut down for a time because of a fire, everything has been remodeled and updated. My 3 year old daughter always wants to eat here too, and knows exactly what she likes. Creamy garlic eggplant pizza and potato salad. She's gonna sample anything else we get too.

I can honestly say every single sandwich I've ever eaten here has been more than great. They are more of a culinary experience than a meal. Unique flavors, smells, and textures just come together perfectly. Don't worry about trying what you'll like best, you'll love whatever you get, and just wish you weren't too full to try something else.

There's no substitute for passion when it comes to great food, whether it's a four star feast, or a humble sandwich. Fred has that passion in spades. I've recommended Undercover Eggplant to many people, most of whom make it a point to let me know how much they loved their meals. I've also been blamed for creating addicts. If you haven't tried it, you really are missing out on something special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FATMAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow Super Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is superb, what a great selection of sandwiches, they are all made fresh and in no time at all! The Elmur Fudd was what i had.. Excellent. Would come back here in a heartbeat. Good job guys, heard you were out of business for a while. What a comeback then. Prices are not cheap but you definitely get your monies worth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was heaven sent after having limited options for healther food selection in this town. We saw the reviews and thought we would try it. The sandwiches were great and the salads were superb (I had the steak and blue cheese, my 7 year old daughter tried it and I had to give her half because she loved it!) Wish we had decided to go earlier in the visit, but what we had we loved. Will recommend to all our baseball families visiting Oneonta!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bballmom1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good, but kind of underwhelming...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went out on a limb and tried the eggplant sandwich. It was good, but the pesto was pretty bland and the eggplant was goopy. Unique eat, but wouldn't get it again...
On the other hand, one of the coolest places to eat in this small town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Undercover Eggplant Company also viewed

 

Been to Undercover Eggplant Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing