We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpine Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alpine Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Olmstedville B&B and Inns
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alpine Heaven”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our visit to the Schroon Lake area was anchored by staying in this lovely B&B. The owners, Peg and Barry, have turned a large, old home into heavenly comfort with many amenities. They offered suggestions to area events, and we learned some new recipes to try at home, as well. We recommmend this place because of its roomy layout and beautiful furnishings. It is well-stocked with culinary and serving items that the hosts really do use to tend their guests. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: The Irishtown Suite has a side window that looks out into the mountains - the Alpine view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Landisville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a place to visit for hiking and relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of crowded roads and busy lifestyles. The Homestead is very comfortable and inviting, Peg and Barry are so amiable and hospitable, and that porch...! That's the place to sit on rockers or wicker and read or chat. Breakfasts are superb--lots of variety, healthy, fresh ingredients, home-made baked items, and very nice presentation. This experience makes me want to fore-go motels/hotels when travelling but a very high standard has been set.

Room Tip: King-size bed was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We frequently pass the Alpine on day trips up north and were very curious, well, no longer! It is a gorgeous home, warm and cozy, a very enjoyable overnight. The breakfast was excellent and relaxing, we very much enjoyed the history/ pictures of the property. We are looking forward to a summer evening on the front porch with a bottle of wine and the tranquility. PS Jamison and Bailey were comforting, putting the finishing touches on the old homestead.

Joe and Abby

Room Tip: Loved our room, did not see one that we would not have enjoyed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Peggy and Barry took wonderful care of us for an extended ski weekend in March of 2013. This was our 2nd time staying with them. We had such a good time in the winter of 2011, we had to return! We were welcomed with fresh baked cookies and hot tea. Breakfasts were 3-courses affairs with a different selection each day. The house is absolutely charming and we relished relaxing on the couch by the fire. The icing on the cake was that when we returned home and opened a bag of food we had stored in her freezer, Peggy had added a package of her baked oatmeal. We had commented how good it was at breakfast and she snuck it into our bag as a surprise!

I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay with Innkeepers who truly set themselves apart from the rest. We stayed here for three nights while attending a ski race at Gore Mountain. Peggy and Barry made our stay exceptional with breakfasts early before each day of racing and Hot Chocolate and warm brownies upon our return from the mountain. A great place to stay with exceptional Innkeepers, we have stayed in many places and this B&B is the BEST!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this cozy B&B, with warm, generous hosts and delicious (and thoughtfully prepared) food. Rooms are carefully decorated and comfortable, and the downstairs common areas are wonderful to sit in and read. The B&B is near Gore, and good dinners are available in North Creek. We loved our (too short) stay, and plan to be back in summertime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LML L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We like to ski at Gore Mountain and found the perfect accommodations nearby at this B & B. Friendly, caring hosts, charming home and clean, comfortable rooms, with a healthy and delicious breakfast. Fabulous baked goods and a warm wood stove to relax by in the evening...WiFi and TV ( in the common area) if and when needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calycanthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olmstedville
5.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
10.4 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tumble Inn
Tumble Inn
#4 of 7 in Schroon Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Homestead

Property: The Alpine Homestead
Address: 1314 County Route 29, Olmstedville, NY 12857-1819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olmstedville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Olmstedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Homestead Bed & Breakfast sits in the quaint little Irish village of Olmstedville, in the town of Minerva, New York. Our location in the Adirondack Park is ideal for Fall and Winter sports and activities as well as Spring and Summer outdoor fun. Hiking, skiing, boating, fishing can all happen just minutes from our back door. Looking for relaxation and peacefulness, we will be able to direct you to many areas that will offer you just that.Our 1850's home was renovated by us in 2006. Antique furnishings are throughout our home, yet it is warm and welcoming and very relaxing. All our four guest rooms have private baths that are located off the upstairs hallway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Alpine Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing