We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alpine Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Olmstedville B&B and Inns
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We like to ski at Gore Mountain and found the perfect accommodations nearby at this B & B. Friendly, caring hosts, charming home and clean, comfortable rooms, with a healthy and delicious breakfast. Fabulous baked goods and a warm wood stove to relax by in the evening...WiFi and TV ( in the common area) if and when needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calycanthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sewell
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had two rooms at this wonderful inn. We can't say enough positive things about the hospitality, warmth and feeling of this inn. The hosts, the food the accomodations all exceeded our expectations. You will be so pleased with this wonderful welcoming environment....so much to do in the area and to have such a nice place to return to, it was very nice. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last August, and came back in January for a weekend ski trip to nearby Gore Mountain. Nothing has changed. The hosts are still gracious, the house is still warm and comfortable, the breakfast is still amazing. The B&B was full one night during our stay, but it did not feel crowded.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottnKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Peggy and Barry are very hospitable & gracious hosts, and make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door of the Alpine Homestead. The house itself is perfect after a day of skiing - warm, clean and inviting, and the guest rooms and beds are cozy and comfortable.
We stayed in the Irish Suite which had a queen sized bed and a side room with a single bed perfect for children. The bathroom was off suite, but not an inconvenience at all - we felt like we had a wing of the B&B to ourselves. But, the breakfasts alone are one of the best reasons visit. Peggy & Barry's food was delicious and perfect before heading out to the slopes. I can't forget to mention the Alpine Homestead's two dogs - Jameson and Bailey. They only added to the atmosphere...both were gentle and loving, and had no problem cuddling up to our 3 year old son.
Overall, Peggy and Barry do a wonderful job of making you feel at home when visiting the area. We have stayed with them twice, and will definitely come back the next time we head to Gore Mountain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwmcavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend while my wife ran the Adirondack Marathon in Schroon Lake. Our room was very lovely and the king bed was very comfortable. The private bathrooms are not en-suite though so you had to walk down the hall. Not an issue for me personally but some might not like that. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. They are a bit small, but this is normal for a B&B and to be expected. If you want a big room, stay at a big chain hotel. If you want a great room with character and a homely feel, stay at the Alpine Homestead.

The house was extremely clean and properly kept. There are plenty of chairs inside and outside on the porch to sit and read or just enjoy the country air. The inn keepers are very friendly and attentive to their guests. They love their home and it shows. Breakfast is fresh, delicious and hearty. They were very accommodating for the marathon runners who required some special foods for the race and even had some bananas and home made granola bars for the runners to take with them for the race.

The B&B is about 30 minutes from Schroon Lake and 15 minutes from Gore Mountain so it is a drive to food and entertainment, but worth every minute. We would go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each room has a specific purpose, call the inn keepers and tell them what you are looking for and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamtigger1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I almost don't want to gush too much about the great time I had at The Alpine Homestead because you need to have this experience for yourself. I can tell you that you will sleep soundly, eat extremely well and feel profoundly content.
Peggy and Barry are attentive and caring hosts who will make you feel special...as if they were waiting just for YOU to come to their home. That type of natural hospitality is rare and memorable.
Enjoy a pre-breakfast cup of coffee on the wrap-around front porch and watch the hummingbirds, breathe in the fresh mountain air and delight in the beautiful flowers in the surrounding garden. In the evenings get settled in the Great Room for an evening of television or reading....the leather couch was my favorite comfy place!
I also booked a half day kayak trip with the Adirondack Mountain and Stream Guide Service that Peggy and Barry suggest and had a wonderful experience.
As a solo traveler, I couldn't have asked for a more satisfying 3 day stay. I only wish my time at The Alpine Homestead didn't have to end. Thankfully, the memories will carry me through until my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Peggy and Barry were incredibly nice hosts, greeting us, making recommendations, offering tea or coffee or drinks. The Bed and Breakfast itself is filled with antiques which Peggy graciously showed us, explaining the history of several of the pieces. Breakfasts were both healthy and filing (granola and yogurt and eggs and muffins and fruit!). The rooms were comfortable, beds supportive and every detail attended to (robes and soap etc.). We were picking up our daughter at a camp about 45 minutes away and our hosts left the light on for our very late return. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this was definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed!! Peggy and Barry could not have been more gracious hosts and the prices are very reasonable. Stay here! You won't regret it!!

Room Tip: The king size room was very spacious and comfortable. Full size room a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jck67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olmstedville
6.8 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
114 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
132 reviews
10.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
57 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,594 reviews
17.6 mi away
Alynn's Butterfly Inn B&B
Alynn's Butterfly Inn B&B
#5 of 7 in Warrensburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Homestead

Property: The Alpine Homestead
Address: 1314 County Route 29, Olmstedville, NY 12857-1819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olmstedville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Olmstedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Homestead sits in the quaint little Irish village of Olmstedville, in the town of Minerva, New York. Our location in the Adirondack Park is ideal for Fall and Winter sports and activities as well as Spring and Summer outdoor fun. Hiking, rafting, skiing, boating, and fishing can all happen just minutes from our back door. Looking for relaxation and peacefulness, you will find it with us. Our 1850's home was renovated by us in 2006. Antique furnishings are throughout our home, yet it is warm and welcoming and very relaxing. All our four guest rooms have private baths for you convenience. Come, stay and enjoy as much of the Adirondack Park system as you want! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Alpine Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing