We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever.....”

The Owl at Twilight
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Reopened in Dec 2009
LG, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than ever.....”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Always liked the Owl but this years menu and preparation were " over the top". We took best friends and they " flipped out" over this little house in the middle of nowhere. Don't miss an opportunity to trek into the Adirondacks and enjoy a superb meal. They have a four person bar for a romantic visit but don't count on nearby accommodations. Bolton Landing is the nearest housing half an hour away.

Helpful?
Thank DJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyringham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food within 200 miles”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We discovered The Owl at Twilight years ago shortly after Rich and Joanne Dwyer opened their doors over a decade ago. Without reservation, it is our favorite restaurant anywhere, and being in our 60's and well-traveled New Englanders, we have been to a lot of restaurants over the years, in and out of the country. Excellent food, something for everyone and absolute consistency, Rich's menu has a Spanish flair to it, all complemented by a yummy array of homemade desserts that Joanne makes from scratch.
I am partial to the duck escabeche, the beef churrasco, or rack of lamb entrees, but I have had all items on the menu and I have loved them all. My wife is partial to the seafood or vegan items on the menu. The appetizers can be a whole meal in themselves, but I love the mussels and my wife loves the wild mushroom and local goat cheese. My favorite dessert over the years has been the empanada topped with a chili ice cream. Joanne's flowerless chocolate cake is to die for.
A wide wine selection from all over the world and at fair prices. You can also get wine by the glass. Cocktails are served in generous amounts.
The wait staff has been there for years, are well trained and service is exceptional. All a bit out of the way in tiny Olmstedville, but well worth the hour long drive for us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADKiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Dining Oasis”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thankfully we found this gem on our last day in Schroon Lake. Although a 20 minute ride it was well worth it since there are virtually no other dining choices in this area of any merit. The service and food were exceptional. Joanne the owner is very friendly and accommodating.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Quest2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A wonderful place. The nicest people serving fantastic food and drink in lovely surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adirondackdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shh! It's a secret...”
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We left the hustle and bustle of suburbia for a week of r&r in the Adirondacks. Fishing, hiking, canoeing, and a visit to the best gourmet restaurant tucked away in Olmstedville! Who knew?! We stumbled on this little bit of serendipity on our way to the local convenience store (14 miles away from our b&b) just after arriving. The outside appearance was inviting, but gave no clue to what we were in for. Amazing! As good as any restaurant in Center City Philadelphia with a lovely rustic touch. Great food, great wine list, and that flourless chocolate Kaluha chili cake will keep me coming back every visit! Leave the kids home and enjoy a grown-up dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Owl at Twilight also viewed

 

Been to The Owl at Twilight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing